We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Border Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel La Linea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Hotel La Linea
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
405 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,155 helpful votes
“Excellent Border Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

I stayed here for three nights as I wanted to dive in Gibraltar and southern Spain and needed a convenient base between the two.

This hotel is sleek and modern with friendly staff. The rooms have balconies overlooking the sea and mine had a great view of Gibraltar. The hotel is in a quiet area. The rooms have dark wood floors with god lighting. Plus nifty modern bathrooms. I wasn't troubled by the shower/bath door like some other guests. Free soft drinks and beer in the mini bar was a nice touch. Internet access costs about 12 Euro for 24 hours--buy a card at reception. Laundry service efficient. The one thing I didn't like was that although my room was non smoking it seemed someone had smoked in it recently. Elevator is standard European issue (ie. small ). But I managed to get my huge dive bag in with al my hand luggage so it's not as bad as some other reviews make out.

The hotel's restaurant has a limited menu because it is designed for hotel guests with no better options. There's a McDonalds on the next street but other than that it's a 25 minute walk to the city center and the choices there are pretty poor unless you like junk food, ice cream and cakes. Gibraltar is the same and also very expensive. In that context, the food price is fair for what you get. The food is okay--at least you will get salads, soups and fish and meat mains. Slim pickings for veggies though--even the "veggie sandwich" advertised on the room service menu inlcudes ham!

There's a smal pool and a fitness room in the hotel.

Note that if you have a lot of luggage, Gibraltar is a bad airport to fly into. (Malaga Airport is better and may be cheaper because more flight competition, but it's 2 hours away.) Only Gib taxis are allowed to take passengers around GIb. and they can't drive over to Spain. So you will need to walk about 5 minutes to the border and take a taxi on the Spanish side. No trolleys are permitted outside the airport. Carting 30 kilos of dive gear around in this maner was a sight to behold!

Taxis on the Spanish side will not use their meters when they see you arrive off the plane with luggage, but the fare to the hotel is only 5 Eur including luggage charges. If they use their meter it's only Eur. 3.50. Crossing to/from Gibraltar by car is very quick. When coming from Gib. they will search for cigarettes as you are only allowed 200 ciggies duty free and they are much cheaper in Gib.

I didn't like either Gib. or this part of Spain and don't intend to be back, but my stay in this hotel has encouraged me to stay at other AC Hotels as it's a winner.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    321
    125
    36
    11
See reviews for
72
322
35
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2008

I used AC La Linea because of it proximity to Gibraltar. The hotel was very clean and was fairly cheap.

I had three issues with the hotel itself. First, if you want to park in a private area (under the hotel), it costs an extra €9 / day. Second, the shower leaked under the shower glass. This caused water to get all over the floor. Third, the restaurant is limited in food and extremely expensive. If you use the room service while the kitchen is closed, then you are limited to 3 meal selections.

The area of La Linea was fairly run down. It seemed like it have been nice at one time, but has lacked any attention to keep the area clean. Basically the area is just a run down neighborhood leading to nice beaches and Gibraltar.

AC La Linea is close to Gibraltar, but it is roughly a 25 minute walk. We did not take a taxi to Gibraltar, so I can not advise on prices. Unless you want to sit on a very long line to enter and exit Gibraltar, I would not highly suggest trying to drive into Gibraltar.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aries_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2008

Nice - clean, modern design. Underground parking, important in a slightly dodgy, unattractive area like this - lots of drug-dealing due to proximity to Africa and Gibraltar (which was reason for our stay - Gibraltar, not drug-dealing). Nowhere to eat or even get a coffee nearby.

Very small lift, OK for our small pushchair, but bigger one wouldn´t have fit. Very helpful, friendly receptionist. Room had two small balconies looking onto the sea and perfect views over the Straits to the Atlas Mountains, probably the best thing about it; also free minibar (soft drinks and beer) and very comfortable bed. Bathroom had super-modern glass sink and strange shower door that opens halfway, hitting glass sink - design flaw. Sliding-door cupboard lit up from inside, which delighted child, who kept opening it, getting inside, banging the door shut and shouting with delight, thereby annoying neighbour.

Restaurant: food was mediocre and overpriced, with a soulless eating area with no natural light - felt like an airport canteen, and you can hear the TV from the lounge-bar next door. So on the basis of this experience, we missed breakfast, which was 8 euros. Overall, a good experience.

  • Liked — Views to Africa
  • Disliked — Small lift, dodgy area
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fififlores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

We wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel to stay whilst visiting Gibraltar to sort out our wedding in the summer. After reading several reviews for the AC we booked it as all the hotels in Gib were twice the price. We flew into Gib and walked just over the border and got a taxi. It dropped us off at the front door of the hotel and cost 5 euros including tip. We were welcomed by very polite and friendly staff. We asked for a room with a sea view and were actually upgraded to a superior room. The room was very modern, clean and spacious with a balcony. The bathroom was also very modern with a glass basin. There was a free mini-bar which had the basics of soft drinks, water and a couple of beers, not bad for free! Bed a touch soft but still comfortable. We went out for a stroll in the evening and to find dinner. It was a 15min walk to the centre of town and although La Linea is definitely a bit tatty we did not feel at all uneasy. The centre is obviously being improved and there were some nice bars and shops. After dinner we strolled back to the hotel at about 10pm and again felt quite safe. Breakfast cost 8 euros each and was a buffet with both hot and cold food and was good value for the money. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a nice, clean hotel in a good location.

  • Liked — Clean, modern, comfortable room and good value
  • Disliked — No bad points
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

Absolutely great experience. Used as a basis for a day trip to Gibraltar. Modern and comfortable. Chic and clean.

The (limited) minibar is free! which is a nice perk after a long ferry from Morocco.

It's a fifteen minute, unpleasant walk to the border with Gibraltar. There are other hotels closer (on in Gibraltar), but they are either terrible or very expensive.

It's a 30E cab ride from Algeciras.

The gym is an absolute joke, which was not a surprise.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank solanaceae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2007

I stayed at the hotel for just six hours and frankly, that was not enough!

A beautiful hotel - and well-located. The surrounding area was pretty nice too, if a little boring - just a nice little suburb town. It's a good 15-minute walk to Gibraltar, and about 15-minute or so from Alegrecias by taxi (around €25) or half-an-hour by bus.

The hotel itself is very well-equipped, and the bedroom I stayed in was very nice, modern and clean. I was most impressed by the range of toileteries provided in the bathroom - toothpaste, sponge, soaps which were prefect for us travellers on planes. Interestingly, the mini-bar was free though there wasn't much in it.

Internet cost extra.

  • Liked — Toileteries and modern features
  • Disliked — Internet/wi-fi surcharges
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sachahuista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south shields
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed at this hotel as a base for a trip to gibraltar to make some plans for our wedding. We stayed for four nights but did not go for the bed and breakfast option because we were busy with appointments etc.

The hotel is easy to find, being just one street behind the main promenade, and is about one to one and a hlaf hour drive from malaga airport, if you fly into gib then it is only 20 minutes to half an hour walk or 4 euros in a taxi from la linea border. It is in a residential area so expect not to find restaurants too close, we always ate in gibrlatar anyway cos we were through there a lot.

Check in was effecient with no problems. there is parking spaces outside the hotel, although sometimes we pushed to get a space!

The rooms were clean, bathrooms very modern and spacious. Plenty of towels (room cleaned daily and towels changed daily). We had a room overlooking the pool, they do get very warm but our air conditioning cooled us down! No safety deposit boxes in rooms although i think you could get them from reception. mini bars in rooms stocked with juices and lagers which is a nice touch.

pool was warm on an afternoon, which is when it gets the sun.

the staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel itself very quiet.

All in all really good value for money and would definetely stay again.

  • Liked — location, only short walk to gibraltar etc.
  • Disliked — parking a bit close sometimes!!
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank pauleeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
0.7 mi away
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
#2 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
2.2 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
1.9 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Campo de Gibraltar - Barrios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel La Linea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel La Linea

Property: AC Hotel La Linea
Address: Calle Caireles 2, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel La Linea 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your AC Hotel La Linea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels La Linea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing