We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mehhhh ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Mehhhh ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I first reviewed this hotel when it was part of the Iberostar family, and if memory serves, it was pretty positive. It´s now an Asur hotel and some of its standards have slipped. The positives: the reception staff was very friendly, it has a great location, the room fine (the back Gib-facing rooms are superior to the front ones), and the bathroom good with a hot shower. The negatives: the breakfast was absolute dreck (the o.j. and cava days of the Iberostar clearly gone) and, apart from the bread/pastries, pretty much inedible. Coffee was dreadful. The rooms need a bit of a facelift as our bathroom still sported an Iberostar shower curtain. I would have preferred it if the balcony´s patio furniture had not been brought inside the room and left in the room next to the bed. We moved it all back outside :)

With its location so close to Gib and La Linea´s downtown, it´s a shame that this hotel´s standards have slipped.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    357
    322
    123
    84
See reviews for
207
469
60
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Asur Hotel Campo de Gibraltar complex is clearly unfinished with most of the ground floor area that presumably will be shops simply bricked up. Inside the hotel, although apparently newer, is already looking tired. Possibly aiming for Scandinavian minimalist the interior decorators have arrived at something approximating a student dormitory furnished on a really tight budget. The 1970’s called and they want their televisions back. It has been a very long time since I saw cheap, Grundig tube televisions in a 4 star hotel! It’s not that they are very useful anyway. They function intermittently and seem best suited to show interference patterns. They are however a perfect accompaniment to the cheap furniture. The best way that I can describe our suite is “stark”. Nothing on the expanse of walls, little if any decoration and an overall feeling of something done as cheaply as possible. The inexpensive French formula hotels are a definite step up at a better price. The restaurant was on par with the general theme of the hotel. The buffet was plentiful but the hot items were warm-to-cool at best. The espresso tasted like the machine was dispensing instant, and not much of it.

On the positive side the staff were pleasant and helpful, the parking was excellent as is the proximity to the border with Gibraltar. The views from our room were stunning. The latter two are probably why the owners feel they can justify the prices they charge. They are wrong.

Room Tip: I would consider another hotel, even if further from the border and take a taxi. If you must book th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChosenFrozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Linea de la Concepcion hotels

Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

First, the good points:
Beautiful view (for which we paid extra)
Loads of hot water
Very convenient location
Secure, underground parking was handy

Sadly, that's the whole 'good' list.

To those who gave this hotel 3 or more stars, you need to get out more. This place was pretty dreadful with the worst part being the horrible sewer smell that permeated the hallways. We paid quite a bit for a 'junior suite' thinking we would get a touch of luxury. Wrong. The rooms were basic, soulless, and without any redeeming charm.

When we checked in, we were given a dirty room. We stored our bags in the second suite we'd booked and it was cleaned by the time we got back from Gib. Furniture was worn, IKEA-style and consisted of a large daybed that was ill-suited as a sofa, a chair, a desk/table with two chairs and a couple of small tables. Our room had a tiny, prehistoric TV which mostly showed snow. The tv in the second room didn't work at all. The 'decoration' in our room consisted of some white sticks stuck in a bowl of white sand and some rocks on a tray. There was little color or warmth of any kind. The towels were thin, but did the job. There were no extras, as others have noted...no coffee/tea service or even local tourist info.

While our room was clean, it did have a heavy, powdery carpet-cleaner like smell, though all the floors were tiled. Perhaps this was done to combat the cesspool smell in the hallway. The thermostat seemed to be there mostly for decorative purposes--our room was roasting and there was no way to cool it other than to open the windows and enjoy the honking horns outside.

The location was great and we had no complaints about the staff, but we'd certainly never stay there again if we returned to the area.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel. Not even the proximity to the border is worth spending quite a bit of money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jMacL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

All the corridors where very dirty, Dinner and breakfast where very poor, low quality products..
Excelent view over "the rock" of Gibraltar and the Marina.
The varanda doors couldn't stop the wind at night.

Room Tip: Very small pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AACSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel has received quite a lot of negative comments, so I was a bit nervous about booking. I decided to play it safe and book just 2 nights instead of the 4 I had planned in December 2013 for a visit to Gibraltar. I figured if the hotel was really bad, I could pack up, walk across the border and get a room at the Bristol Hotel in Gibraltar.

However, from the minute I entered the hotel and saw the room, I had a good vibe about the place. Later the same day, I asked to change my booking to 4 nights. As luck would have it, I got the same room and ended up staying 5 nights.

First I'll deal with the negative reviews I've read about this hotel. Mostly, these concern the area and La Linea, specifically the housing estate and neighbourhood surrounding the hotel. OK it's fairly poor as a town in parts and yes there are beggers who hang around the border, but you get that anywhere, it's nothing to do with the hotel. At no time did I feel unsafe walking around during the day or night alone. And there were absolutely no problems at all crossing the border, no queues, no waiting, nothing. I never once even had to open my passport to the Spanish border police. The hotel is situated as close as you can get to the Gibraltar border, with stunning views of the sea, the Bay of Gibraltar, and the Rock of Gibraltar all clearly visible from the balcony.

The hotel staff were polite, friendly and attentive from the moment of check-in, to the room cleaners and waitresses. You get as little or as much service as you want. You can even tell them when to clean your room and what parts. The whole hotel has a modern spacious feel to it, with a clearly Spanish decor rather than the English style in Gibraltar. For me, that adds to the appeal, but if you want a hotel geared towards English people, maybe you should be looking at Gibraltar. The room size is fairly generous with a huge full-wall-sized wardrobe with plenty of hangers and draws for your clothing. There's a safe in the room (costs extra) should you need it, three conveniently located mains sockets (two on desk and one by bed) and a telephone at the bedside with free incoming calls. Each room comes with a double bed as standard, sliding glass doors to a balcony complete with outside table and chairs for sunbathing or taking breakfast/lunch in your room, should you wish to.

There's no flat screen TV (but who cares) you don't go on holiday to watch TV do you?! There is an analogue tube screen colour TV which has only a couple of English speaking channels (CNN, France24) the rest are all Spanish. BBC24 is on it but the reception is poor and its unwatchable. I watched the morning news on France24 which covered the UK, and that was fine for me. WiFi is available in the rooms and all over the hotel for free. OK so it's not great signal strength or bandwidth for streaming video, but it worked fine for Skype, Web browsing and e-mail in my room and in the lounge/bar.

There's a generous sized desk complete with lamp, complete with a place to iron clothes should you need to. The room has been cleverly designed for maximum water and heating efficiency with timers and sensors, and I think that's partly how the hotel manages to offer such good value and low rates. The bathroom was modern, spacious and clean, complete with a bathtub which is unusual in hotels. Normally its just a shower or wetroom. Their bathrooms a huge full wall mirror, a smaller mirror for makeup and hair styling, a modern toilet and a bidet. There's even a hair dryer in the bathroom which cleverly fixes to the wall.

Asur have thought of everything. Customer convenience and comfort is their aim, with extra blankets and towels, free soap/shampoo provided daily (or with each room clean), clean bed linen and towels as often as you need them etc. They also supplied FIVE drinking glasses (real glasses not plastic) and these like the other stuff, were replaced daily (or on request) with clean ones.

The only thing missing was a kettle. I had to buy one as I didn't think to take one, but a cheap travel kettle can be had locally and saves a lot on buying drinks (not that the hotel caters for us English tea drinkers, it's all coffee machines!). You'll also need to take a cup or mug or buy one locally, as there's none provided in the rooms.

There's a small fridge in the room which was incredibly handy to have. It's not very big but is ok for storing about 2 or 3 days worth of drinks and food. The rooms have excellent lighting, air conditioning and heating you can control yourself from a panel. There's a laundry service should you need it (it's a bit pricey) but I just hand-washed the few things I needed cleaned and bought a cheap iron.

It's quite a big hotel with over 200 rooms, but in late December when I visited it was fairly empty with very few guests there. Outside the hotel are pleasantly landscaped garden features, a patio area with tables and chairs for dining out, sun loungers and a swimming pool.

It is near a busy road and also a Friday/Saturday all-night disco plays loud music until 3-4am so there is some noise at night. That might be a problem if you're a light sleep so you might ask for a room on the other side (but then you would lose the view of the Rock).. but you would probably get noise too in Gibraltar and really it didn't bother me too much.

La Linea is worth exploring itself, if you want to experience a bit of Spain as well as Gibraltar. It has a vibrant town centre and the Spanish people are all very friendly towards English tourists everywhere I went. There's no shortage of places to eat out or go for a drink or even pamper yourself with a haircut, makeover and massage. It's a LOT cheaper than Gibraltar. There's a Carrefour within walking distance of the hotel for food and water supplies..and also a Spanish/Waitrose supermarket just across the border in Gibraltar that is cheap too and sells everything you could possibly need and is just 15 mins walk from the hotel.

When you book you can choose breakfast-only, half-board (breakfast and dinner) or full-board with free drinks. The meals are supposed to be buffet-style, with a selection of foods on offer. That certainly was the case for breakfast. It was excellent, with just about everything on offer to suit all tastes, from a full English, to a continental, to Spanish style. Loads of sweet pastries and fresh fruit, different cereals, biscuits etc. Dinner was a different story. Out of season they don't offer buffet dinners and do fixed menus which change every day, but there wasn't much variation or imagination in the menus. Also they don't cater for vegetarians at all so that really limited what I could eat. On the plus side, a convenient thing about the meal times is they have a fairly generous 2 hour window both for breakfast and dinner, so you don't have to worry about rushing down and can eat at your own leisure.The waitresses speak very little English, so it can be tricky getting them to understand things.

A top-tip here for anyone who doesn't speak Spanish, is to install an English-Spanish language app on your smart phone. I couldn't have managed without that, and it made communicating with Spanish people a breeze.. I could speak into it, press a button and it spoke Spanish aloud which they understood just fine. They also could speak Spanish into my phone which the app turned into English for me. Pretty soon I was learning Spanish words and phrases from the app from hearing them!

If you're going half-board, watch out for the cost of drinks which can mount up if you drink a lot of coffee, water and drinks at the bar. Buying a kettle and taking your own tea or coffee is a must. And buying fresh fruit juice and big bottles of water from the supermarket is a wise move and just topping up a small bottle. Do not even think about drinking the tap water in La Linea. Boiled is fine for tea or coffee of course.

There's a decent sized lounge area complete with sofa's and pool table, electric massage chairs and a bar. Everything looks clean and tidy, the hotel was spotless.

It's rated a 4-star hotel and I know some people have left negative comments about this. However you can't compare this hotel and the 4-star system to the UK 4-star hotels. This is a Spanish hotel and their idea of 4-stars is different to ours. This is not an English 4-star hotel, it would be a 3-star hotel due to the few niggles with noise, lack of tea/coffee facilities in the room, no free laundry/ironing facilities etc. However, all this is reflected in the price and huge savings you can make compared to Gibraltar's 4-star hotel.

I thoroughly enjoyed my 5 nights stay and the novelty of being in a Spanish hotel rather than an Engish speaking one, added to the experience for me. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a visit to Gibraltar for pleasure or business. You can save an absolute bundle compared to staying anywhere in Gibraltar (and there isn't much choice for hotels). OK you may have a few language problems and need to buy a kettle, but it's a small price to pay for the savings.. Asur hotel cost me just 53 euros a day half-board, even when I booked at very short notice and then asked for 2 extra nights. They also seem to have rooms available all the time and their prices don't change, due to the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are end rooms with staff storage/sleep rooms nextdoor, you may want to try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The location is as good as it gets to be in Gibraltar and still sleep on the Spanish side as the border crossing is only a 10 minute walk away. Even though it's next to a busy coastal road most windows overlook other directions so street noise is not a problem, especially on higher floors. And the centre of Linea is also close by.

Hotel itself is a standard economy class hotel. No idea who gave it officially 4 stars, it really is an average 3-star hotel, comparable in class to the Ibis chain from Accor hotels. But at the rate of €55 per night including breakfast (which is what I paid) it's good value for money, certainly compared to hotels on the other side of the border. Rooms are sizeable and clean, although a bit old-fashioned (incl. an old style TV) and I'm not a fan of tiles on the floor, somehow always prefer carpet or wood. And every room seems to have own little terrace. Beds are ok although a double bed is just two singles put together. Bedding is limited to one pillow and a thin blanket, none of the "choose your pillow" option that many other hotels offer. Wifi is good but patchy, speed goes up and down, so not advised for video streaming. Bathroom is ok, towels and hair dryer are provided but the shower gel/shampoo dispenser in my bathroom seems broken and does not dispense anything, luckily I brought my own with me. Cleanliness is ok although curtains have a dusty look & feel to them. Breakfast is fine; I've read a lot of reviewers complaining about bad breakfast here but I have not noticed anything unusual, it's a reasonably good selection of warm & cold dishes. There seems to be a bar as well and a buffet restaurant but just with a fixed price buffet, no option to order anything. There are banners for a new Italian restaurant in the lobby but I have not seen it open yet.

Overall given the location it is by far the best choice for Gibraltar trips. As long you realise that this is a no-frills economy hotel, you should be pleased with your stay. And given that the hotel is huge (more than 200 rooms), you should be able to get a room at good price here even without booking well in advance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Williamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The Asur hotel is a perfect location for visiting Gibraltar, just a ten minute walk to the border.
Check in was very efficient and our room was extremely comfortable and clean with a magnificent view of the Rock. We had booked a high floor for the view as recommended by previous tripadvisor visitors and it's definately worth it. The hotel car parking also very efficient and reasonably priced at 7euros per day in a secure area.
Breakfasts were fine, lots of choice and more than adequate. We ate out during the evenings trying out a few of the numerous great tapas bars.
I would certainly recommend this hotel for Gibraltar, rather than queueing up by car to drive across the border.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra for a room on a higher floor with a view of the Rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindyjones19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Linea de la Concepcion
1.0 mi away
AC Hotel La Linea
AC Hotel La Linea
#1 of 5 in La Linea de la Concepcion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Caleta Hotel
Caleta Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Eliott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sunborn Gibraltar
Sunborn Gibraltar
#1 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
Rock Hotel Gibraltar
#2 of 6 in Gibraltar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gibraltar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar

Property: Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar
Address: Avenida Principe de Asturias s/n | La Linea de la Concepción, 11300 La Linea de la Concepcion, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > La Linea de la Concepcion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in La Linea de la Concepcion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is an urban 4-star hotel that is located on the seafront, with a current architecture and an elegant and functional design offers you a great stay and a memorable stay in Gibraltar. Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar is located in central La Linea de la Concepcion, just 500 meters from the border with Gibraltar, with new Alcaidesa Marina berths 800 and very close to the best golf courses in Andalucia Sotogrande Valderrama and Alcaidesa. We have 225 rooms, bright and perfectly prepared for your enjoyment and relaxation. You can enjoy from the terrace of the magnificent views from our Hotel the Rock of Gibraltar and the Bay of Algeciras. Enjoy the sun and the good weather in your area and outdoor terrace and savor a delicious meal in the restaurants and cafe. We have a special Exhibition and Conference Centre La Linea over 5,000 m2 distributed in different spaces, ready for any event, celebration or important meeting. Our hotel is perfect for leisure or business, we adapt to our customers to provide perfect service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Hotelopia so you can book your Ohtels Campo de Gibraltar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar La Linea
La Linea Iberostar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing