We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of LA CHIMENEA

LA CHIMENEA
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$43
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

what a lovely find. I had eaten at quite a few tapas places in la linea a lot of which are overpriced and seem to serve up the same Argentinian tapas which seem to consist of a plate of fatty meat!
5 stars to la chimenea...could not fault it, great fresh food, friendly service, lovely atmosphere and extremely reasonable prices. if you are in la linea do not miss this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bennettkatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    147
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
209 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Wonderful Selection of Tapas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a fabulous meal at this restaurant - there were 8 of us and we all chose a few tapas each and share a bit of everything - must say it was excellent - the service was top class

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tayloryellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What else should I said?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Well I have known la chimenea for so many years that I feel miserable for not posting a review before because they deserve it! They are so professional, efficient and quick Food is tasteful, the atmosphere is unique! I definitely recommend it to anyone in search of real true Spanish food and atmosphere!

Helpful?
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wont be going back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We tried this place because everyone was raving about but we were disappointed. There are hardly any tables and we had to hovver over people who were eating waiting to jump the minute they left, then people did the same to us, it was all very uncomfortable and very rushed, that and the fact that it was so noisy we had to shout at each other to have a conversation! Most of the food seems to be served on bread, way too much bread!
The Tapas were OK but nothing to rave about, I've had better elsewhere in La Linea in more comfortable, leisurely and quieter surroundings so definitely won't be going back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“no ordinary tapas bar. 5 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

All tapas cooked and prepared to order.No mundane tapas here.Run by 4 hard working girls.When we arrived we were greeted with a friendly Hola.The bar is small and very clean as are the toilets.
There is a tapas menu in English.Good food and wine and not expensive.Check opening times.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LA CHIMENEA also viewed

La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
 
La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
 
La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
La Linea de la Concepcion, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to LA CHIMENEA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing