We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best lions ever !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parc Zoologique et Chateau de Thoiry

Parc Zoologique et Chateau de Thoiry
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Thoiry
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Thoiry is a rare example of esoteric Renaissance architecture where the sun rises or sets in the central arch following the solstices. Home since 1559 of the Counts of La Panouse, the drawing rooms offer visitors fine family portraits, furniture and tapestries presented by costumed guides. The 300 acre gardens: Rhododendron woods, Maze, Autumn, Rose, and Perfume Gardens, perennial borders give year round pleasure. Thoiry's world famous 350 acre animal reserve is open year round.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best lions ever !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I love the idea that the Lion and Tiger enclosures are designed so that they come and look at you if they want to, and not the other way around :-) Lovely wildlife park, especially for kids

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Alistewart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    314
    183
    100
    46
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
84 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great outing with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

the safari is the best part for small kids. you get to see some animals from very close, as in they walk to your car window: zebras and ostriches, for example.
the pedestrian park is a nice walk and some lovely spots for picnics (just avoid the tables right at the entrance, it's always very busy and so many nicer places in the park to sit in the grass).
we went on a sunny day, so it was rather busy and hard to see the feeding of the lions, because everybody tends to gather around, but aside from that it's great to walk in glass tunnels and see the lions from so close!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lestephaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogya
Level Contributor
505 reviews
361 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Average Zoo but great for kids”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

For myself, there is nothing really interesting in this zoo.
It is just normal zoo with one separated safari taste on it.
The safari is very quick but for kids it is quite an experience though.
My daughter like this place.
The number of animal in the zoo itself are quite a lot, and it will take 2-3 hrs easily just to hang around and enjoy all the view.
I suggest to know the feeding schedule for the animals and enjoy the feeding time event with your kids.... I guarantee they will be amazed on it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LinoYogya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very expensive. animals must have all escaped!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

all looks good and sounds good on the internet until you get there!!! entrance fee has gone up!! was 24 euros 2 years ago. now its 29 euros adult and a whooping 23euros for a child!!!

so what do you get for this money?......... its call go seek the animals...... because either Thoiry has sold on alot of animals or they have escaped or died!!!! there was a lack of animals which was sad. the big cat enclosures were in terrible condition with a dried up water hole with half filled green smelly slime at one end!! another had a pond in its cage that was black!!!! the tigers looked under fed and their coats were lacking a healthy shine!!! the two wolves they have are in a terrible enclosure thats so small they felt they had to put up a fence with peep holes so the public didn' t scare them. It makes me want to cry seeing them pacing up n down.
the new arc thing is a waste of money as it looks great until you go inside to find insects that you cant see because the glass cases they are in are under lit and so much vegetation you cant even see who lives there..... i noticed bored kids everywhere!!
the safari park is very very sad. you may aswell go for a drive in a country woods in your own village..... as the amount of animals you see is pathetic!! the lion enclosure is closed now. seems like they have sold alot of the zebras. there were 3 elephants now 2..... same for the giraffes only 2 left????? not the african safari experience you paid for!!!!
there is a lack of signs to show where the animals are....... no staff on hand anywhere. all in all I think if you have been to windsor safari park or colchester zoo which are alot cheaper. thoiry will let you down!!!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth a visit out of high season but be prepared”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited Thoiry on a very sunny Sunday in early March.

We arrived just before 11 and the queue to get in the drive-through safari section was about 30 minutes at this time. The visit itself took about 30 minutes and the traffic when we were there was not too bad. More animals wouldn't go amiss in the open 'savannah' section but it was still nice to see zebras and ostriches roaming around. Most of the other animals (elephants, giraffes, rhinos, hippos etc) were in enclosures but the views into them were pretty open. The section of woods with free-roaming bears was disappointing since all the bears were sleeping as far away as possible from the roads but maybe at other times they are more active.

The walking section of the zoo is pretty large (and often very rough for push chairs). At the entrance there's a self-service restaurant which was heaving when we passed by. We foolishly thought that there would be other food options further into the zoo but we were wrong.

There are plenty of animals to see in the walking part - meerkats, leopards, cheetahs, lions and tigers, monkeys etc plus plenty of creepy crawlies in an indoor section. Not a huge selection of animals but it's not as bad as some reviews seem to make out.

The walk-through glass tunnels in the lion and tiger sections were not bad, although of course what you see depends on how active the animals are at the time which is not something a zoo can control. I wouldn't want to be in those tunnels in the middle of summer though...

Near the center of the walk-through area is a nice children's play area which kept our kids happy for a long while.

My main complaint about the place was that once you're really inside the zoo the food options are very limited. The ice creams marked on the map turned out to be just a machine and the change machine next to it was empty. There were a few other drinks and snack machines scattered around but no kiosks or stands manned by human beings (in fact we didn't see a single person working for the zoo once we'd passed the entrance).

We spent around 3 hours in the walking section and could have spent more time there but the lack of food options in the heart of the zoo was a real pain and we certainly weren't the only people in the same situation. It's not often you find yourself in a tourist attraction with pockets full of money and no way of spending it.

If they'd had a small restaurant, snack bar, or even just a kiosk selling ice creams, open next to the children's play area the park would have been raking in money. We did see a little shuttered kiosk there so maybe in the summer the situation is different.

On the way out we thought about eating in the self-service restaurant at the entrance but it was still extremely busy with long queues even at 3:15 so we gave up and headed home.

So all in all it's a nice enough zoo to visit out of season but be sure to either take a picnic (which a lot of people did) or lots of coins.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisfromParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parc Zoologique et Chateau de Thoiry also viewed

 

Been to Parc Zoologique et Chateau de Thoiry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing