We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Calma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Calma
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ribadesella
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“There is room for improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The owner was very polite and helpful, the hotel was small, quiet and beautifull but there is certainly room for improvement. For example if you have such a nice plase close to the nature (as this hotel is) you should be enriching the breakfast with fresh products (e.g. fresh juise to start with!). In general the breakfast needs to be imroved.The room was a little bit cold and I did not like that the coffee and the tea were under charge.

Besides that, the hotel is decent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleni_gak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
100
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I began our trip to Spain at the quaint town of Ribadesella and stayed three nights at La Calma for some rest and relaxation in the country. La Calma was a wonderful place to unwind after all of our traveling and the town provided great insight for Asturian life on the coast. The rooms were very clean and the fixtures were updated. Morelia has a warmth about her which really makes you feel at home. Breakfast was plentiful and a tasty way to start the day of exploring all the small towns in the area and the coastline's picturesque beaches. Both she and Teresa gave us great restaurant recommendations and day trip ideas. Morelia suggested having lunch at the Mirador's San Roque restaurant in the town of Lastres. It provides a stunning view of the Bay of Biscay while dining on the freshest seafood and wine. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Ribadesella thanks to the tranquil atmosphere of La Calma and its surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iucoltskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed one night at La Calma and it was a fantastic experience - only wished we could have stayed longer. The massage and the gourmet dinner at a local restaurant (all part of the package) was wonderful! The rooms are beautifully furnished and the coffee machine in the room was a real bonus. This is a place to go to get away from it all and unwind. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2011

Moreilla and Andrew, you certaintly deserver to win with your tiny piece of luxury in that wonderful part of Spain. We really loved the place, loved the hotel and highly recommend it. Anyone visiting Spain we really recommend Asturias and La Calma and its hosts!

If you come and visit Spain and dont speak the language, here is your solution, www.touringspain.es.

Andrew Rosemeyer

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arosemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

The first thing you will notice about La Calma is the warm welcome. The owner, Morelia, goes out of her way to make sure you get the most from this lovely Spanish region with maps, guide books and a great knowledge of local restaurants. She definitely offers a personal service.
it's a shame, therefore, that the rest of La Calma doesn't quite live up to the reviews posted here. The aim is to feel completely relaxed in the rooms but we found there weren't enough creature comforts to make it truly cosy. When we visited in March it was quite cold and, despite the heating supposedly coming on, we were chilly, even at night. There were also no robes so we were left "relaxing" watching DVDs in our jeans and jumpers. The lighting is also poor - the rooms need a couple of decent lamps as the overhead light makes watching DVDs difficult because you are peering into a bright light. And there was only one tiny towel each in the bathroom which is not ideal if you have long hair to wash. These sound like superficial things but if you're planning on spending a lot of time relaxing in the rooms, they do make a difference...and would be so simple to fix.
Otherwise, the region is lovely. Don't miss the tiny town of Villaviciosa and the beaches along the coastline. We also liked Colunga for a quick tapas stop.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

Being London types we were looking for some real R&R and what a find La Calma was. In case you don't know...La Calma means "the calm" so it was just the ticket. The place itself is perfectly located in a beautiful setting with great views...we were only woken by the birds each morning...no traffic jams or noisy roads here! The town is only a short drive away (about 5 mins) and is a typical charming Spanish seaside town with some really great tapas and friendly people. La Calma was really great..Morelia and Andrew provided us loads of information of the area and even planned our routes for us..on their iPad and printed them off for us to take..very impressive!! The rooms are really nicely decorated and have everything you need..the shower is powerful and hot water plentiful. I REALLY recommend Morelia's massages....they were the icing on the cake for us. Candles...soothing music...nice and relaxing and all in a beautiful warm stone room. This is something special and you have to try it. All in all just what the doctor ordered...we will be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lister212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

We spent a magical 6 nights at the La Calma Hotel in Ribadesella in September. The rooms were spacious, well furnished, very clean and had obviously been carefully thought out even down to having a coffee machine and a well stocked mini bar. The breakfasts were fresh, local and constantly replenished. A great delight was the attention of the owners who make you feel like you are their only guests. Thay cannot help you enough in planning your stay and proved to be such a great help enabling us to get the most out of our short stay and reccomended the most fantastic local restaurants. The walking trip into the mountains with the 4x4 excursion was just magnificent. Ribadesella is a lovely town with great eateries and shopping and beaches - everything you could want from an unspoilt part of Spain. We will most definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleinkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ribadesella hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosario
Hotel Villa Rosario
#1 of 17 in Ribadesella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
Hotel Mirador Del Sella
#2 of 17 in Ribadesella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Hotel del Sella
Gran Hotel del Sella
#9 of 17 in Ribadesella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
Hotel Ribadesella Playa
#4 of 17 in Ribadesella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Casa de Aldea el Frade
Casa de Aldea el Frade
#3 of 17 in Ribadesella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Paraje del Asturcon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Calma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Calma

Property: La Calma
Address: El Escayon 8 Lugar Junco, 33569, Ribadesella, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Asturias > Ribadesella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Ribadesella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Calma 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Calma is a rural boutique bed and breakfast located in Ribadesella, the heart of beautiful Asturias.La Calma is a traditional Asturian country house made of stone, reclaimed wood and granite. It is located in a small countryside village located within Ribadesella at less than 3 km from the main sandy beach (Santa Marina) and Ribadesella centre.We offer 5 stylish double rooms with private bathrooms and stunning coutryside views. You will also find our purpose built Wellness Centre where you will be able to receive massages and take part in a range of courses designed to promote relaxation including reiki and meditation.Press and TV:La Calma has been featured on several TV programmes and press articles. We were on C4's A PLACE IN THE SUN with Amanda and last year on a National Spanish TV programme called ¨Hoteles con Encanto¨ (meaning charming hotels!) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Calma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing