We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay in Abruzzo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 14 Teramo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Incredible breakfasts, immaculate and beautifully decorated rooms, gorgeous grounds and landscape filled with olive and fig trees, beautiful pool area. Russ and Sergio are the ultimate B&B hosts - they can't do enough for their guests. They helped us plan our time in the region according to our needs and all of their suggestions were great. I took a pasta making lesson and had excellent instruction in their exquisite and well-equipped kitchen. One night we decided to have our own picnic dinner on the grounds and without us asking,they put out plates, utensils, etc for us with beverages - just an example of their hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Had a lovely stay at La Grande Quercia. Ross and Sergio made us very welcome and looked after us really well - suggestions for walks, restaurants etc. Lovely Reception rooms; clean, comfortable, nicely furnished bedroom. Weather not great, which limited our plans for walks, and no chance to use the pool, sadly - sunflowers in surrounding fields flattened by recent storm. With only a few bedrooms, all guests friendly and mixed well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room on side overlooks farm next door- so risk of being woken by cockerels at 4 am (though we got us...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_M_Ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Excellent service; most comfortable; could have done with a fridge in the room; pool first class (cooled!!); take a sat nav that works or a vg map of Teramo - it's a nightmare town; Sergio and Russ are extremely attentive and helpful. Good base from which to explore Abruzzo. Recommended.

Room Tip: Get away from the farm side if you can - hotter but quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

We very much appreciate you writing a review for us and are pleased that overall the experience was good for you both. We appreciate your feedback and in response to a few points you made and for the benefit of other potential guests, we would like to clarify a couple of points.

Whilst our Classic Rooms do not have refrigerators, due to the noise and heat they create, we do as you know keep a plentiful supply of bottled water in the fridge in the downstairs kitchen, which is available to all guests free of charge.

We look to maintain the temperature of our pool at between 28c and 30c and indeed cool it down if it exceeds 30c.

With the exceptionally hot weather we have been experiencing this summer, we are seriously considering installing air-conditioning in all rooms (La Bella Vista Suite has it already). This will hopefully make for a more comfortable stay when it is very hot and also eliminate any external sounds from early morning roosters!

Thanks once again for your feedback and choosing La Grande Quercia for your stay here in Abruzzo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a marvellous time in Abruzzo - second time to the area, first time to La Grande Quercia, due in no small part to Russ and Sergio's B&B and hospitality. They were a mine of information about the area/trips/restaurants etc and incredibly welcoming. The B&B is set near sunflower fields, and is finished/furnished to a high standard, with a lovely pool to splash in (was very hot when we were there!), fruit laden trees and lush planting, comfortable beds and a gorgeous bathroom. They even personally took us to the town centre of Teramo to watch the England/Italy game, which although was fun and featured arrosticini, was well above the call of duty and much appreciated! Remembering it now in the grey drizzle of Britain is making me wish I was back there!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizardlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

La Grande Quercia is a beautifully situated guesthouse in a little explored area and you couldn't find a lovelier or more welcoming guesthouse. Russ and Sergio organised cookery classes and wine tastings for us which gave us a real flavour of what Abruzzo has to offer.
The rooms were comfortable and the pool is a relaxing retreat.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebum53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Our stay at Russ and Sergio's wonderful home was beyond reproach. They're warm, welcoming, fantastic hosts, and the accommodations leave absolutely nothing to be desired. We will definitely stay again on future trips. Book with them and rest easy, it's as simple as that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miccos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We have travelled through Italy many times, but this was our first trip to Abruzzo and we wanted to select a place to stay that would accommodate our frequent day trips, but still be comfortable and quiet when we returned home each evening. La Grande Quercia turned out to be the best choice because it is quiet, private, beautifully situated on a hilltop amidst sunflower fields, but also close to Teramo and major highways.

We stayed in the Bella Vista suite, which is a self-contained building beside the main house, with modern, comfortable design and conveniences (including air conditioning, which turned out to be a godsend during an unusually scorching week). The property itself is immaculate, including a pool and comfy deck chairs by which to unwind each evening.

Despite the beautiful setting, the real reason to stay at La Grande Quercia - as you may have read in other reviews - is the excellent, genuine care of your hosts Russ and Sergio. It is clear, from the moment that you inquire about availability to the moment you depart, that these two love Abruzzo and love to help people experience the unique beauty of the region. My fiance and I must have emailed a dozen questions about dinners and day trips before arriving and each time we received a prompt reply, loaded with suggestions. At breakfast each morning, both Russ and Sergio were around for a chat and to offer maps, water bottles in a cooler, and advice on our plans for the day. By the end of the week, my fiance and I honestly felt as though we had made some friends in Abruzzo!

That said, i have to admit that Russ and Sergio are very sensitive to the needs and preferences of their guests, so if you are looking for privacy and seclusion, you can certainly achieve that at La Grande Quercia as well.

I cannot imagine a better spot from which to explore the beautiful mountains, beaches and FOOD of Abruzzo. As soon as we left (we were headed to the Amalfi Coast for a week), we started missing our home away from home. Honestly, we spent the rest of the trip planning our return.

Russ and Sergio - we can't thank you enough for your graciousness, enthusiasm, and kindness. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mocieeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teramo
2.6 mi away
Hotel Gran Sasso
Hotel Gran Sasso
#1 of 5 in Teramo
179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 5 in Teramo
168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#4 of 5 in Teramo
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Breaking Business Hotel
Breaking Business Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mosciano Sant'Angelo
438 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lago Verde Hotel Restaurant & Park
0.0 mi away
B&B Le Sorelle Gemelle
B&B Le Sorelle Gemelle
#1 of 1 in Sant'atto
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Contrada Fontanella, 64100, Teramo, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Teramo > Teramo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Teramo
Price Range: £62 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a place to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, this boutique bed and breakfast is the perfect place for you. Peace, tranquility and appreciation of this wonderful region of Italy is our aim. Nestling in the heart of the beautiful countryside of Abruzzo, the mountains of the Gran Sasso are within a short distance from La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing