We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem that should not be missed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 14 Teramo B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at La Grande Quercia and we will continue to go back. Russ and Sergio are exceptional hosts and will make you immediately feel like friends. On this trip we took my fiancé's mother and sister to celebrate his Mom's 90th birthday. On one of our nights there, they had a birthday dinner that seemed made for a queen. It was truly a memorable evening and we can't thank them enough for making us all feel special, especially Betty, who thouroughly enjoyed her birthday festivities. So much so, she wants to go back when she turns 100! In addition, they gave my fiancé and I an extremely thoughtful gift for our upcoming wedding. They go above and beyond in everything they do.

Beyond the phenomenal service, the B&B is clean, well appointed, and a welcome oasis at the end of a day of touring stunning Abruzzo. We have stayed in B&B's around the world and this particular one is tops in our book.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

What can we say, other than a huge thank you for your review!

Coming to stay here with us prior to your wedding and also bringing your marvellous Mom for her 90th birthday celebrations, was something very, very special for us. We will re tell the stories of her escapades over and over again and every time we do, we will smile and think of the happy memories she left with us.

Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. We'd like to think that we don't have to wait for Betty's 100th birthday before we see her again!

With our fondest regards,

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was a perfect location the hosts are the best. Even before we arrived they informed you about the trip to get there and what time we would arrived. I felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was the best ever. Big, clean, beautiful bathroom, nice bed, a little fridge and a bottle of nice wine with some nuts to say ' hi'.
We ate that night in a pizza place ' Poemie' in Vila Vomano. Please go there. But the best place to eat, if you like good Italian food, is 'Momenti di Gusto' a where you have a great meal.
But the day when I helped Sergio to make a ' Timballo Abruzzese' and then eat it with a couple of other (fantastic) guest, I will never forget.
The hosts are really kind and help you with whatever you want. For a nice place to visit, a restaurant, shops or anything else.
Those 9 day where fantastic and we will be back. Soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchiegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

It was such a pleasure for us to have you stay here at La Grande Quercia and whilst it is normally our guests who are sad that their holiday has come to an end, we possibly felt even sadder when the two of you left to return home. You are 2 of the kindest and most thoughtful people we have ever met. I don't think there are many B&B owners who can boast about their guests willingly wanting to help out by mowing 2 very large lawns....not just once but twice!

Thank you again for choosing to stay here and we hope to see you again soon.

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We cannot say enough about the welcome and hospitality we got at La Grande Quercia - from the beautiful and comfortable bedroom and ensuite bathroom, the attention to detail in the whole place, the cleanliness, the garden, to Gemma and Monti to the other guests we met, whom we feel are already friends to the culmination of exquisitely executed and delicious meals cooked by Sergio.
Our two days there felt like a week and we will return.
Thank you Russ and Sergio.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Castlecrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your stay here with us. It was a real pleasure to meet with you both and we very much look forward to welcoming you here again in the not too distant future. Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

I will be staying at LGQ again- actually twice in two weeks and once last June. Russ and Sergio maintain a lovely property inside and out, but more than that they are old school innkeepers whose good conversation and personal attention make for an easy (and inspiring if you take a pasta making course from Sergio) stay in the gorgeous countryside outside of Teremo. Though the B&B is in the country, you can easily drive to centro Teremo or get on a highway to the coast.
I know because I've done it many times.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2013

It was an absolute delight for us to have you stay here with us again this year.... not just once, but twice! Thank you so much for taking the time to write another great review for us and we look forward to seeing you again next year! Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

La Grande Quercia B & B:

We arrived in Teramo during a virtual downpour with the heavens wide open and a smattering of hail for good measure.The sun was out again as we pulled up and we immediately liked what we saw. The house set among olive and fruit trees, the well-kept grounds still glistening moist from the rain, but starting to steam in the late afternoon sun.
Russ and Sergio were there to receive us and make us comfortable after a long drive.

The house and the separate Bella Vista Suite, which we had booked, as well as the grounds surrounding the buildings, were immaculate. The suite is very spacious, furnished and decorated with exquisite taste. The original building of the suite is an old garage or stable – but you would never know. The attention paid to detail during the conversion was at a very high level and the result is a lovely and modern suite, just across the way from the main building.
The addition of a small bar-fridge, which we understand is now in all rooms, was another such a welcome detail and much more so since it was very well stocked, all with complimentary beverages and snacks! It also served us well while we worked through some of the regions excellent cheeses, olives and wines, acquired on our trips throughout the countryside – little repasts after a ‘’hard day exploring’’.
We spent five nights and could have easily stayed a little longer – you need a day or two just to get your bearings. The surrounding countryside offers so much within a short drive from this base and we did enjoy all – from the foot of the mountains you can see snow-capped across a few valleys (it was May and snow was still up at 1200 m and higher), right down the half hour drive to the beaches, some wineries and olive farms. Tip: don’t take the main-roads, get off and use secondary or tertiary roads, mostly not bad at all and all but one farmer’s trail we ‘’found’’, are paved.
Breakfast at the B & B is quite flexible as to times, and is served in the main house; the choices are very good for Continental Breakfast, always with fresh fruit, breads, croissants, yoghurt, cereal, juice, coffee, jams, pastry and usually a freshly baked mini quiche. There’s also tea and I’m sure if you ask, hot chocolate as well. The hosts are very accommodating and really want you to have a great stay. With us they really did succeed! They actually went way beyond, but that’s another story.

Russ and Sergio are both naturally a fountain of information and will basically plan your day for you; then you come home late afternoon and it’s time to report. If you could not do all, perhaps got lazy sitting on a beach with a glass of wine, you had to promise to catch up on the next day; no excuses allowed! - ) The pool looked lovely as well, but sorry – no time, plus it still was only May.
Their recommendations to dining were also excellent, and if you hear ‘’Pizzeria’’ don’t despair, it’s nothing like home: a full-fledged restaurant, elegant dining rooms and a chef who knows his trade. Make sure you try the fish dinner – usually Friday. And no matter what you say, you won’t get away with less than three or four courses, all quite reasonably priced. Excellent regional house wines at € 4.00 per liter were for us from North America a lovely surprise. The local beer is also quite excellent and so is naturally the Grappa.

What else can I say? Just get out there and visit the Abruzzi Region, stay at La Grande Quercia (a very old and big resident oak tree) and enjoy. Russ and Sergio will be there to help you do it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amphitryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2013

Many thanks for writing such a comprehensive review of your stay here and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Abruzzo and in our little corner of Teramo. The tips you have provided for other travellers will be really helpful too.

It would great to see you return one day, although next time would wish that the weather is more in keeping with the season!

Sincere thanks once again.

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This is our fourth trip to the Teramo area of Abruzzo and we stayed again with Russ & Sergio at this wonderful B&B. Since we first visited there are now a number of other options in the area, a new hotel, a renovated hotel, other B&Bs but nothing would take us away from the hospitality of these two.

On previous trips we've stayed in the Bella Vista suite but as this was already occupied we stayed in one of their standard rooms. Really, really pleased we did, the standard is excellent and the bathroom even better! Staying in the main house we always thought might have added noise but not so, an Italian couple staying in the room next to us came home at 2am and we didn't hear a sound!

Breakfast is always to each person's liking, they are really flexible on time, and always nice personal touches.

They have continued to invest each year, already replacing outdoor loungers to ensure the best comfort for guests.

This B&B for all types of guests, whatever your needs. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillandderek44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you both so much for another great review. When we have return guests, we always regard this as the highest compliment we can receive, so to have you stay here for the 4th time was wonderful.

We are also really pleased that you got to enjoy staying in the main house and glad that you found it to be quiet. The late returners were a bit of a worry for us, as it is unusual for guests to be out so late, but they were so considerate and we thanked them personally the following morning for creeping in like church mice.

We look forward to seeing you both again very soon!

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a very special place; outstanding in every way. A truly beautiful setting and a home away from home...and much more! Russ and Sergio are the most gracious hosts. Our goal there was to meet relatives for the first time and they made this easy. They are welcoming and warm; recommending restaurants that were terrific and guiding us through the culture and experience of Abruzzo. Members of my family met us at La Grande Quercia and Russ and Sergio helped to provide them a warm reception. Our experience staying at La Grande Quercia was truly a memorable one, and I definitely would like to go back as soon as possible. Russ and Sergio are helping to track down other relatives and I look forward to another visit to La Grande Quercia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much for writing such a great review of your stay here with us here in Teramo. It brings us a huge amount of pleasure when guests return to this area to re-connect to long lost family and the warm welcome you received from your new found family was fantastic.

As soon as we have more information on your other distant family members we will be in touch and we look forward to welcoming you back to arrange the introductions. Just remember to prepare yourselves for the onslaught of the wonderful Teramane food that is likely to be rolled out in your honour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Teramo hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Gran Sasso
Hotel Gran Sasso
#1 of 5 in Teramo
181 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 5 in Teramo
172 reviews
10.3 mi away
Lago Verde Hotel Restaurant & Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
B&B Antica Interamnia
B&B Antica Interamnia
#1 of 14 in Teramo
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Le Sorelle Gemelle
B&B Le Sorelle Gemelle
#1 of 1 in Sant'atto
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corte dei Tini
Corte dei Tini
#6 of 14 in Teramo
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast

Address: Contrada Fontanella, 64100, Teramo, Italy
Region: Italy > Abruzzo > Province of Teramo > Teramo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Teramo
Price Range: £61 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are seeking a place to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, this boutique bed and breakfast is the perfect place for you. Peace, tranquility and appreciation of this wonderful region of Italy is our aim. Nestling in the heart of the beautiful countryside of Abruzzo, the mountains of the Gran Sasso are within a short distance from La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing