We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$155
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miami(Civitella del Tronto)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breaking Business Hotel(Mosciano Sant'Angelo)
US$103
US$95
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Malo Suites(Sant'Egidio alla Vibrata)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel & Ristorante Zunica 1880(Civitella del Tronto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pina(Isola del Gran Sasso d'Italia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
208
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bevery morningthe main housemade us feeltop notchat homela grandecooking classgreat grandparentshome madegracious hostsold friendswe've stayedhighlight of our tripnatural beautyincredible experiencebeautiful setting
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Sergio and Russ are perfect hosts - warm, friendly, helpful with local sites and restaurants, as well as researching our Abruzzo family roots. The house is charming, clean, and comfortable, the area quaint. The daily rate was so reasonable, we were able to give our two teenagers rooms of their own. The food is delicious, although a little heavy on carbs. We would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaWM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here with us and we are really pleased that you all enjoyed your short time in Abruzzo. It really is a wonderful region and hopefully on your next visit you will have more time to explore.

We do try and balance our breakfast offering with fresh fruit salad, seasonal fruit, low fat yoghurts and cereals, but the high carb pastries and cakes are a bit of a temptation, as is the nutella for some!

Thanks once again and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Best regards,

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My mother and I stayed two nights in La Bella Vista Suite, which was a lovely, spacious, and private “cottage” separate from the main house. Our accommodations were perfect, the grounds were lovely, and La Grande Quercia is perfectly located to explore the Abruzzo region. However, what makes La Grande Quercia so special is the incredible hospitality of Russ and Sergio, who made us feel like family from the moment we arrived. This mother and daughter trip was a search for our ancestral roots in the small village of Fano Adriano where my great-grandparents came from before immigrating to the US. Before our arrival, they had researched our genealogy, made the 45 minute trip to Fano Adriano several times, and obtained copies of official birth, marriage, and death certificates. They even put together a family tree with the information they gathered. But, the incredible thing was they were able to track down a relative who was still living in the house where my great-grandfather grew up! When we arrived, they drove us into the mountains to Fano Adriano introducing us to people and interpreting for us. They came with us to visit our relative and shared this incredible experience with us. They gave us a special gift, and made this the trip of a lifetime for my mother and I. Two days were not enough to truly explore this beautiful region, and I will be back to Teramo and La Grande Quercia post haste!

Room Tip: Loved the Bella Vista Suite!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreakeene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you so much for such a great review you have written about your stay here. As you could probably tell, we get a huge amount of pleasure from helping our guests with their ancestry research and the results we had with your family were amazing. The day we took you to Fano Adriano was very special for us too and we are so glad to have been able to help and share your discovery and happiness.

Next time, please stay in Abruzzo for longer. It is such a fantastic region, with so many places to discover and enjoy.

Ci vediamo presto!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfastwith from the lovely hosts Russ and Sergio. It is situated very nice! When we arrived Russ was gardening in their great garden with olive trees. We put our luggage in the nice little stand alone "villa" and got to Teramo for lunch. Russ and Sergio are excelent hosts and know some good tipically Italian places to eat and drink. I took my bike with me and got informed where to ride etc. etc. We enjoyed the sun at the beautiful swimming pool. The best way to end this week was a dinner prepared by ourselves and a little :) help from Russ and Sergio... Mille mille grazie amici!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pietjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

We really appreciate the time taken to write this review of your stay and thank you for your kind words. It was such a pity the weather was not kind to you when you were here, especially the day you cycled to Campo Imperatore. A day none of us will forget in a hurry!

We really hope to see you again, when hopefully the sun will be shining.

Wishing you both all the very best.

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

This was our third stay at La Grande Quercia and we will continue to go back. Russ and Sergio are exceptional hosts and will make you immediately feel like friends. On this trip we took my fiancé's mother and sister to celebrate his Mom's 90th birthday. On one of our nights there, they had a birthday dinner that seemed made for a queen. It was truly a memorable evening and we can't thank them enough for making us all feel special, especially Betty, who thouroughly enjoyed her birthday festivities. So much so, she wants to go back when she turns 100! In addition, they gave my fiancé and I an extremely thoughtful gift for our upcoming wedding. They go above and beyond in everything they do.

Beyond the phenomenal service, the B&B is clean, well appointed, and a welcome oasis at the end of a day of touring stunning Abruzzo. We have stayed in B&B's around the world and this particular one is tops in our book.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julieferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

What can we say, other than a huge thank you for your review!

Coming to stay here with us prior to your wedding and also bringing your marvellous Mom for her 90th birthday celebrations, was something very, very special for us. We will re tell the stories of her escapades over and over again and every time we do, we will smile and think of the happy memories she left with us.

Once again, thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you all again soon. We'd like to think that we don't have to wait for Betty's 100th birthday before we see her again!

With our fondest regards,

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

This was a perfect location the hosts are the best. Even before we arrived they informed you about the trip to get there and what time we would arrived. I felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was the best ever. Big, clean, beautiful bathroom, nice bed, a little fridge and a bottle of nice wine with some nuts to say ' hi'.
We ate that night in a pizza place ' Poemie' in Vila Vomano. Please go there. But the best place to eat, if you like good Italian food, is 'Momenti di Gusto' a where you have a great meal.
But the day when I helped Sergio to make a ' Timballo Abruzzese' and then eat it with a couple of other (fantastic) guest, I will never forget.
The hosts are really kind and help you with whatever you want. For a nice place to visit, a restaurant, shops or anything else.
Those 9 day where fantastic and we will be back. Soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutchiegre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandeQuerciaAbruzzo, Owner at La Grande Quercia Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

It was such a pleasure for us to have you stay here at La Grande Quercia and whilst it is normally our guests who are sad that their holiday has come to an end, we possibly felt even sadder when the two of you left to return home. You are 2 of the kindest and most thoughtful people we have ever met. I don't think there are many B&B owners who can boast about their guests willingly wanting to help out by mowing 2 very large lawns....not just once but twice!

Thank you again for choosing to stay here and we hope to see you again soon.

Russ & Sergio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews