We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
430
58
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
58
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our room was spacious parking place family atmosphere balcony etna yard
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at La Giara at the end of May '13. On arrival. after a stressful drive from Enna I noticed that one of my car tyres was virtually flat. Our host, Patricia, was in a hurry to go somewhere however she took the time to get a friend to change my tyre and drive me to a mechanic who repaired the leak.
After settling in we found our accommodation to be very clean, comfortable and, most importantly for me, quite.
Breakfast was superior to what we find in most hotels. Patricia provided variety including 4 different cereals and we could have our eggs cooked any way we wanted. That morning I was lucky to have scored an amazing pistachio croissant. Not sure if this is available every day though. There was off street parking for a couple of cars but entry is very difficult. Fortunately a helper of Patricia's who was doing some maintenance on the property saw I was having difficulty and offered to drive our car through the gates which he did.
Before we set out to visit/walk Mt Etna, Patricia sat down with us and went over the maps and options we had with her recommendation.
Also, when we told Patricia we were headed for Modica the next day she was able to recommend a restaurant for us there too - which proved to be an excellent choice.
We very much enjoyed our stay at La Giara and feel the level of service and the experience would be hard to beat thereafter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yani51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We are a mid. aged couple and stayed in this flawless B&B for a few days. at end of May.
Our room had a big terrace with a nice view to this pretty little town, Nicolosi and the sea at the horizon. The room was spotless clean, big enough and comfortable. The location is excellent, close to the center and in the evenings we had very pleasant walks around, there are some very good restaurants a few minutes away.
The breakfasts were very reach and varied and full of surprises, for example the chocolate and wine cake that Patrizia, the owner, made herself for us. Don't miss the pistachio filled croissants! Aunt Liliana is just nearby ready to pamper with any you can want.
Every morning Patrizia,a very energetic and helpful, open person, was ready to help us with explanations, maps, tips. Etna is very close and Patrizia gave us discount coupons for cable car and 4X4 vehicles.
In the last day we had the flight early in the morning from Catania and aunt Liliana wake up very early only to have time to prepare the breakfast for us.
I cannot thing at something that was not perfect, it was beyond the expectation.
Thank You, Patrizia and Liliana. Definitely, our next time in Sicily we will be at your B&B!

Room Tip: The Blue room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius_Givatayim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I stayed 5 days at La Giara and it was like by my friends! Good sleep in a nice, clean and lightly room, excellent et great breakfast with new fruit salad everyday, pastelli and other surprises.. Patrizia helps you to find everything you need, restaurant, expedition to Etna,etc.. my best adress in Sicilia !! Thank you Patrizia and Liliana !!
François / Marseille

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Located within easy walk to the center of this tidy little resort, and some best restaurants. "La Giara" and it's hosts are all about how to make you feel welcome and at home. Our room was spacious, spotless and very quiet. It had a lovely balcony where it was a bliss to relax with the view of the town and the distant sea. We were greeted on arrival by Patrizia, who also arranged the taxi to collect, from Catania airport, our friends arriving from Venice. Comprehensive information given by Patricia helped us to spend a fantastic day in Taormina and a visit to Castelmona with it's breath taking views. Breakfasts could not get any better. Home made cakes, fresh orange juice and the selection of delicious Sicilian pastries. It also included freshly made type of individual pettit omlets made with eggs, ricotta and parmesan cheese. Patrizia also organized for four of us a day trip to Etna. It became a highlight of our trip. Both Patrizia and Liliana did everything and more to make our stay memorable. Her feedback on the local restaurants made a gastronomic experiance for us too. We were able to taste the Sicilian cusine at it's best. Unfortunatly we were not able to see or taste everything during this trip, so we will definitely be back. Just hope, soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiGi230842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was our last stop and we stayed for 2 nights. The room was clean and perfectly fitted our standards. Patrizia and her mother really enjoy hosting guests and provided a lot of good flavor and information.

Thanks a lot guys.

We would definitely come again.

Christian & Leonie

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews