We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wish this B&B was closer to home...”
Review of B&B La Giara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B La Giara
Ranked #4 of 35 Nicolosi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wish this B&B was closer to home...”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

if it was we would return frequently just to spend time with Patrizia and have Liliana delight us in the kitchen. Spent two nights at La Giara in a modest, yet spacious and comfortable room. Even though it was chilly and rainy we sat on our porch undercover and enjoyed a jug of wine we purchased at a Nicolosi grocery. Patrizia very patiently advised us about our visit to Mt. Etna via email as we planned our trip and in person when we arrived. She recommended a local restaurant for dinner, that was so good we returned the second night. As we checked out she asked about our itinerary stop by stop and offered tips on sites, her recommended length of stay, and dishes to order based on where we would be. She is absolutely one of the best hosts we've encountered on our travels throughout Italy. Liliana made sure we had enough to eat, served homemade breads and pastries, quickly refilled our coffee cups, and offered us heated cheese with honey on our final morning. An added bonus is we had the opportunity to meet Patrizia's friends (former B&B guests) from Australia who returned to Sicily just so they could spend time with Patrizia.

Room Tip: loved the blue room, quiet, facing the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lallan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    56
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
91
234
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This pensione is more than B & B! We had the lovely "orange room" with a great view over Nicolosi and la Signora was so helpfull and charming with us that we never forget our stay here.
For breakfest you get typical sicilian food and also the story around the dishes :)

Thank you very much!
Pablo and Katharina

Room Tip: every room is very individual - choose the colour you like: blue, orange or green..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadtmobil_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motza Ilit
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The reviews in Tripadvisor tend to overrate this place but it does have a lot going for it.
The rooms are mundane at best but clean and comfortable, and breakfast was great with a huge variety of freshly baked goods. The location is easy to find and right near the road up to Mt. Etna.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hüttenberg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

we stayed at Patricias for a week and she was so helpful with organizing our trips and giving us information about the best locations on the island. Rooms were clean and very nice and the Breakfast was delightful. Fresly baked bread and other tasty things prepared with love. Just amazing. So we can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at La Giara in September with my friend. Patricia and Liliana went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Anything we needed help with, they were able to provide, including advice on the best way to tour Mount Etna (tough it out and walk - it's glorious!), where to eat and even where to stay in the next town we visited. I will never forget their kindness and hospitality! Thank you Patricia and Liliana! From Ellen and Cristiane x

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elly_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Patricia and Liliana took such good care of us as we recovered from jet-lag and dealt with missing luggage.
We were so warmly welcomed to Patricia's neat, cheerful, homey B&B, part of their lovely home on a quiet street just around the corner from town center.
Lili prepared us cafe and breakfast each morning along with a bit of Italian practice.
Patricia dogged after our luggage and directed us to various approaches and options for experiencing Mt. Etna

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetsfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The stay in "La giara" was perfect.The hostle stuff is very friendly and helpful. You get lots of informations and helpful tips to save money. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathroom was small,but clean and tidy. The breakfast is amazing and huge. We did absolutly get enough. We would stay again. The way to the Etna is easy and not far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anke939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicolosi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
5.9 mi away
Hotel Corsaro
Hotel Corsaro
#1 of 4 in Nicolosi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The House of the Poet Etna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
#1 of 35 in Nicolosi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Porta dell'Etna
La Porta dell'Etna
#5 of 35 in Nicolosi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
6.0 mi away
Rifugio Sapienza
Rifugio Sapienza
#1 of 7 in Nicolosi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Giara

Property: B&B La Giara
Address: Viale della Regione 12/a | angolo Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Nicolosi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Giara 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Giara is a bed and breakfast situated at Nicolosi which is a small town in the heart of Etna natural park. One of the main features of the resort is the greenery all around, and many avenues with sourrended pine trees.Not very far, tourist can enjoy the ice-skating ring, and they can reach easily by foot , car or cycling, the center and the typical restaurants, shops, bank, post office, bus stop and museum.La Giara is a comfortable and friendly Bed and Breakfast, run by people very professional, who can also organize for you tailor made program of excursions and guided visit to discover places as Taormina, and Alcantara, Catania, Siracusa, personal gourmet tour to make wine and typical sicilian products tasting, tours around mount Etna accompanied by vulcanologic and naturalistic guides.Patrizia e Francesco during your stay will be happy to help their guest with a wide variety of leaflet and brochures about the Sicilian island and their B&B friends.They can suggest and advice you about alternative places to visit in order to discover and explore the cultural and artistic wonders of this beautiful island. Every bedroom is been in a different wall colours, and vary furniture styles; rooms are very confortable, bright spacious and some of them with a sea view; all rooms has air conditioning, private bathroom with shower, cable tv, central heating, safe and mini bar fridge.From the living room balcony you can admire the view of mount Etna and Monti Rossi natural Reserve.A continental buffet breakfast is offered every day, and you can choose from a variety selection of cereals, seasonal fruits, juice, fresh yogurt, cheese, organic jam, marmalade, home’s cake, pistacchio's cornetti, thè, milk, coffè or Italian cappuccino, and hot English breakfast is available, but on request only.Private parking area and wi fi internet connection are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B La Giara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Giara Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing