We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (494)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
431
58
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
58
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our room was spacious great breakfast parking place cable car town square family atmosphere balcony etna base yard
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Patricia who owns the B and B is fantastic! She gives you all the information you need about the area, options for visiting Etna and will help out as much as she can with any other questions about onward travel. She is friendly and welcoming. I was reading in the public area on the day arrived and she bought me tea and biscuits. She really does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable.

The rooms and bathroom are great, comfortable and clean.

We visited Etna with public transport - the bus stop is less than 5 minutes from this B and B. It is well located to supermarket, a great pizza place opposite which Patricia will point out and another great restaurant Osteria 1887.

Breakfast is great - an amazing selection.

Just one thing to note if you book with Expedia which we did. We booked a non-refundable room and the note from Expedia says that there is nothing to pay to the host. We assumed it had already been taken from our credit card. There was a bit of confusion when we left as Patricia asked us to pay and we thought we had! Patricia explained that a non refundable room on Expedia means she takes the money from us and not Expedia. Very strange but absolutely correct as no money had been taken from our credit card!

Overall a great place to stay, highly recommend. Thank you Patricia and her aunt who was also very lovely!

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Patricia,
She is a great host, very warm and charming. She explained everything you want to know about the Etna region and excursions you can start from Nicolosi!
The rooms are tastefully furnished and quiet. The breakfast was outstanding fresh orangejuice eggs , coldcuts like salami and different cheeses stoof on the table.
I was amazed!
Thanks and I will come back soon
Michael
Hamburg/ Germany

Date of stay: April 2014
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank agilumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September. Lilly cooking breakfast was so cute and funny. Breakfast of course was great. The proprietress went above and beyond for us. Our baggage got lost on our flight in, and she relentlessly called the airport for us, and got us a window of time to get our bags. And on my last day, I got very bad allergic reaction from the dust of Etna, and she drove down to the pharmacy with us to help me get the correct meds. Would recommend everyone stay here; and if we go back to Etna, we'll stay there!

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

if it was we would return frequently just to spend time with Patrizia and have Liliana delight us in the kitchen. Spent two nights at La Giara in a modest, yet spacious and comfortable room. Even though it was chilly and rainy we sat on our porch undercover and enjoyed a jug of wine we purchased at a Nicolosi grocery. Patrizia very patiently advised us about our visit to Mt. Etna via email as we planned our trip and in person when we arrived. She recommended a local restaurant for dinner, that was so good we returned the second night. As we checked out she asked about our itinerary stop by stop and offered tips on sites, her recommended length of stay, and dishes to order based on where we would be. She is absolutely one of the best hosts we've encountered on our travels throughout Italy. Liliana made sure we had enough to eat, served homemade breads and pastries, quickly refilled our coffee cups, and offered us heated cheese with honey on our final morning. An added bonus is we had the opportunity to meet Patrizia's friends (former B&B guests) from Australia who returned to Sicily just so they could spend time with Patrizia.

Room tip: loved the blue room, quiet, facing the back of the property
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lallan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This pensione is more than B & B! We had the lovely "orange room" with a great view over Nicolosi and la Signora was so helpfull and charming with us that we never forget our stay here.
For breakfest you get typical sicilian food and also the story around the dishes :)

Thank you very much!
Pablo and Katharina

Room tip: every room is very individual - choose the colour you like: blue, orange or green..
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stadtmobil_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews