We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time and it won't be the last ...”
Review of B&B La Giara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B La Giara
Ranked #4 of 38 Nicolosi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my husband stayed at this B&B two years ago and decided to stay here again this time too because the place is clean, quite and most of all Patrizia and Liliana are two excellent hostesses. We feel welcome and at home when we stay with them. The rooms are bright and clean. Breakfast is excellent especially the cornetti al pistacchio :-) We definately recommend La Giara for a perfect stay to relax and enjoy the beauty of the Etna and the Sicily surroundings.

Ruth & Mario
Malta

Room Tip: Each room has warm colours so it doesn't matter really which room you will get cos they are all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthSpiteri_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Patricia who owns the B and B is fantastic! She gives you all the information you need about the area, options for visiting Etna and will help out as much as she can with any other questions about onward travel. She is friendly and welcoming. I was reading in the public area on the day arrived and she bought me tea and biscuits. She really does everything she can to make your stay enjoyable.

The rooms and bathroom are great, comfortable and clean.

We visited Etna with public transport - the bus stop is less than 5 minutes from this B and B. It is well located to supermarket, a great pizza place opposite which Patricia will point out and another great restaurant Osteria 1887.

Breakfast is great - an amazing selection.

Just one thing to note if you book with Expedia which we did. We booked a non-refundable room and the note from Expedia says that there is nothing to pay to the host. We assumed it had already been taken from our credit card. There was a bit of confusion when we left as Patricia asked us to pay and we thought we had! Patricia explained that a non refundable room on Expedia means she takes the money from us and not Expedia. Very strange but absolutely correct as no money had been taken from our credit card!

Overall a great place to stay, highly recommend. Thank you Patricia and her aunt who was also very lovely!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Thanks to Patricia,
She is a great host, very warm and charming. She explained everything you want to know about the Etna region and excursions you can start from Nicolosi!
The rooms are tastefully furnished and quiet. The breakfast was outstanding fresh orangejuice eggs , coldcuts like salami and different cheeses stoof on the table.
I was amazed!
Thanks and I will come back soon
Michael
Hamburg/ Germany

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank agilumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here in September. Lilly cooking breakfast was so cute and funny. Breakfast of course was great. The proprietress went above and beyond for us. Our baggage got lost on our flight in, and she relentlessly called the airport for us, and got us a window of time to get our bags. And on my last day, I got very bad allergic reaction from the dust of Etna, and she drove down to the pharmacy with us to help me get the correct meds. Would recommend everyone stay here; and if we go back to Etna, we'll stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

if it was we would return frequently just to spend time with Patrizia and have Liliana delight us in the kitchen. Spent two nights at La Giara in a modest, yet spacious and comfortable room. Even though it was chilly and rainy we sat on our porch undercover and enjoyed a jug of wine we purchased at a Nicolosi grocery. Patrizia very patiently advised us about our visit to Mt. Etna via email as we planned our trip and in person when we arrived. She recommended a local restaurant for dinner, that was so good we returned the second night. As we checked out she asked about our itinerary stop by stop and offered tips on sites, her recommended length of stay, and dishes to order based on where we would be. She is absolutely one of the best hosts we've encountered on our travels throughout Italy. Liliana made sure we had enough to eat, served homemade breads and pastries, quickly refilled our coffee cups, and offered us heated cheese with honey on our final morning. An added bonus is we had the opportunity to meet Patrizia's friends (former B&B guests) from Australia who returned to Sicily just so they could spend time with Patrizia.

Room Tip: loved the blue room, quiet, facing the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lallan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This pensione is more than B & B! We had the lovely "orange room" with a great view over Nicolosi and la Signora was so helpfull and charming with us that we never forget our stay here.
For breakfest you get typical sicilian food and also the story around the dishes :)

Thank you very much!
Pablo and Katharina

Room Tip: every room is very individual - choose the colour you like: blue, orange or green..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stadtmobil_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The reviews in Tripadvisor tend to overrate this place but it does have a lot going for it.
The rooms are mundane at best but clean and comfortable, and breakfast was great with a huge variety of freshly baked goods. The location is easy to find and right near the road up to Mt. Etna.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nicolosi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alle Pendici Dell'Etna
1.5 mi away
Parco delle Tre Fontane
Parco delle Tre Fontane
#27 of 38 in Nicolosi
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Porta dell'Etna
La Porta dell'Etna
#5 of 38 in Nicolosi
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Etna Akme'
Etna Akme'
#26 of 38 in Nicolosi
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Rena Rossa B&B
La Rena Rossa B&B
#7 of 38 in Nicolosi
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
B&B Sotto il Vulcano
#1 of 38 in Nicolosi
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Giara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Giara

Address: Viale della Regione 12/a | angolo Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 95030 Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Nicolosi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Nicolosi
Price Range: £36 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B La Giara 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Giara is a bed and breakfast situated at Nicolosi which is a small town in the heart of Etna natural park. One of the main features of the resort is the greenery all around, and many avenues with sourrended pine trees.Not very far, tourist can enjoy the ice-skating ring, and they can reach easily by foot , car or cycling, the center and the typical restaurants, shops, bank, post office, bus stop and museum.La Giara is a comfortable and friendly Bed and Breakfast, run by people very professional, who can also organize for you tailor made program of excursions and guided visit to discover places as Taormina, and Alcantara, Catania, Siracusa, personal gourmet tour to make wine and typical sicilian products tasting, tours around mount Etna accompanied by vulcanologic and naturalistic guides.Patrizia e Francesco during your stay will be happy to help their guest with a wide variety of leaflet and brochures about the Sicilian island and their B&B friends.They can suggest and advice you about alternative places to visit in order to discover and explore the cultural and artistic wonders of this beautiful island. Every bedroom is been in a different wall colours, and vary furniture styles; rooms are very confortable, bright spacious and some of them with a sea view; all rooms has air conditioning, private bathroom with shower, cable tv, central heating, safe and mini bar fridge.From the living room balcony you can admire the view of mount Etna and Monti Rossi natural Reserve.A continental buffet breakfast is offered every day, and you can choose from a variety selection of cereals, seasonal fruits, juice, fresh yogurt, cheese, organic jam, marmalade, home’s cake, pistacchio's cornetti, thè, milk, coffè or Italian cappuccino, and hot English breakfast is available, but on request only.Private parking area and wi fi internet connection are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your B&B La Giara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Giara Nicolosi, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing