We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Porto Marina Golf Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This location has a lot of potential, but it's not quite lived up to it yet. The magnificent beaches accessible off of the peninsula across from Porto Marina are enough to make the location worth a return trip - but if you come in the off-season you need to navigate the windy roads within the housing development adjacent to the resort in order to find your way out there. The 'beach' offered by the resort is a crummy little shoulder-to-shoulder patch of sand that isn't worth the time it will take to kick the sand off of your feet as you leave it.
Again, timing is probably everything, because we arrived in the off-season and the only options available to us cuisine-wise were Chilis and one other restaurant. Considering life in Egypt, it was worth it to be there in the relative silence of the off-season, but if you are looking to be entertained or if you have children with you who want to utilize some of the nice-looking-but-out-of-operation amenities available on-site, choose to come during the high season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Porto Marina Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I went there for one week in the first half of June it was so so quite.
No shops were opened, no Resturents, no Aqua, no super markets, no beach and no one to advise it was like soft opening.
When I ask for anything they said after mid June.
Staff not professional at all or dealing with guests as customers.
Specially reception head, the manager was the only one able to help.
Apartment was dirty and missing microwave and washing machine and many basic items ( was told that apartment equipped with)
Toilets around the pool was not working which was hard for the kids. Even showers sometimes was not working. When you complain each one point to anther entity and no one takes ownership to solve the problem.
But if staff were better this place will be great. They should consider make it live before mid of June I wonder if I was owner there how would I feel that my investment is working from mid June to end September only!!!

Stayed: June 2013
Thank EgyptBestplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed in the hotel served apartments for a week, 2 bedroom, kitchenette, 2 toilets and a reception with dining table and cabled TV
Housekeeping cleaned it 3 times
Pools are average and not that clean
Mini Aqua is for kids only and not clean because of the sand
Porto marina private beach is too small but fine
Hammock beach is very nice
i had a problem with sleeping as the DJ never stops until its very late

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago with my friends. it is far away from the sea with no access to any beach so we had to pay money to go to any other private beach near by. It was clean but there were a problem in the smell of the furniture.The worst thing was the attitude of the staff was horrible. They are not professional at all and treating guests in a a very bad way. When leaving they checked the apartment and accused us of taking a bathmat while the apartment didn't include a bathmat from the beginning and they were very rude in handling the issue and assumed that we took it without even a proper investigation for their staff and housekeeping. We asked for the manager, he came and was so rude and treated us as if he is sure we are thieves while the value of this shower mat is very low compared to the amount of money we paid for our stay so it is really hard to believe that we will take such a small thing. I will never stay in this place anymore and will spread the word between friends about how awful and rude, unprofessional they are

Room Tip: not recommended to go there
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nashwa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

i had gone to porto marina last summer , where me and my family enjoyed it as well, actually i wish all foriegners to come to Porto marina and take the advanture :) i think that it deserves the trial.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mostafa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I spent 7 days in a family vacation there thou the place is OK but it was dirty rooms; the glass you can hardly see throw , the worth thing was that we lost an expensive camera and some other things, the administration did not give a dam interest and the police failed to catch any body thou it was clear that the only access to the room was available for the house keeping.

Room Tip: No good room they are all bad cleaned no house keeping wily managment.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank AAHASSAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I went for a short vacation this August during Ramadan, was a good offer for a furnished apartment. Pool was great, clean, and free ... Aqua is bad, not enough water games, didn't feel it's clean.. Staff is very friendly but the quality of cleaning apartment is not up to the standard. Quite, Green space if you need to relax. Supermarket open 24/7 with almost all needed F&B ...

Room Tip: It's better to book at fifth floor minimum, DJ at night is not that great if you are not into ho...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YoussefMedhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Alamein
4.7 mi away
Porto Marina Resort & Spa
23.8 mi away
Rixos Alamein
Rixos Alamein
#2 of 9 in El Alamein
236 reviews
18.1 mi away
Aida Beach Hotel
Aida Beach Hotel
#7 of 9 in El Alamein
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Al-Alamein Hotel
Al-Alamein Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sidi Abdel Rahman
70 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mirage Hotel Sidi Abd El Rahman
3.6 mi away
Tivoli Dome- Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Marina Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Marina Golf Resort

Address: Km 110 Alexandria/Mars Matrouh Road, El Alamein 5615, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > El Alamein
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Price Range: £524 - £713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Marina Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Marina Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Marina Golf Hotel El Alamein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing