We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Porto Marina Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

The resort is a very nice place to go in summer with family. They have a small beach; however, you need to go to the beach on the other side by ferry. It is wider and nicer beach. The only problem is that the first ferry leaves by noon. They are saying that beach and pools are open from 9 am till sun set. The truth is that you will not find anything ready before 10.30 or 11 am and they close them by 6 pm. The pools and beaches are well maintained and served.
There are plenty of restaurants and activities there with wide selection of cuisine from grilled to Italian and seafood. They do not have a place to sit and watch the sea or sun set. You will need to sit at any of the cafeterias to watch it.
The hotel rooms offered for the vacation club are very small with bad lights. The bathroom is small too and needs renovating the fixture. The room service was very nice and considerate for our requests.
All in all, I loved it there. Hopefully by my next stay, they will fix these problems

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Amany R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    127
    76
    43
    58
See reviews for
678
60
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

i like the view ,rate,prices and service ..
i think i will come next year in summer really its amazing starting from location service, food and activity love it and i ll come back again
note some people were talking about the beach area are so small .there are another beach for porto but u have to take shutter boat to it. its like tour to go there and the boat every 30min move
why some people had a bad experience??
also the breskfast is very good and had good variety and every day we had lunch on beach from the bar fatteer are the best

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mm E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

it was my first stay,the rooms are nice well furnished big with nice view,the restaurant and the food is average waiters needs more training.beach is small and you need to take shuttle boat to go a bigger one.this place is not for older it needs younger people who will stay all night with the load music and cafes and have fun.there is a lot of shops but it is expensive as all the water sports prices,it needs more control over its prices.the swimming pool is not big,water sports was not working.my impression that this place can be better than this.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This Hotel is a Disaster. Although the scenery is Beautiful, The staff & maintenance are horrible.
Imaging having a workshop that works on a weekend from 8 AM to almost midnight .. The noise is unbearable & if you are trying to relax that's impossible ..

Try complaining to the front desk about it & you will be faced with the most unprofessional, aggressive & rude staff ever .. how these people got employed in the hospitality business baffles me.

Meals and activities are over priced, not expensive but value for money is horrible .. Food in Gondola Restaurant is Mediocre at best .. I spent about 10 minutes trying to get a cup of coffee..When i tried to get a glass of water at lunch i found out that the dispenser is empty & no one bothered to refill it..Generally the attitude you would expect in a middle class high school cafeteria not a luxury resort restaurant..

The strip of sand designated as a private beach was microscopic & horribly over-crowded & still the noise of workers banging on metal & hammering wood follows you even on the beach .. All attempts to Relax and Have fun failed miserably .. Avoid this Hell Hole at all costs ... Not even worth the stay if it's Free

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HarouniEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Al Iskandariyah, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

very bad hosting & room service , received dirty uncleaned room with no shampoo or soap & no towels, dust was everywhere even in the bathroom , very bad overall service,treat & maintainance , hate the people who were serving there , they were very unpolite. considered expensive for the bad service

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misseery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

it was 9th time we stayed at the hotel , as a family we're used to go there once or twice each summer . last weekend was terrible experience, we arrived at 2pm ,check-in was fast ,we entered the room which was UNCLEANED YET , front office man apologized and said (it was a housekeeping error) and switched us to another dusty room! so i decided to go home , they apologized once more and showed me a 3rd room and it looked ok -later we discovered tv not working , water leak in bathroom ( to enjoy in-door lakes !?) a man took 3 hours to fix ! , anyway , the junior staff were hostile and untrained , many negative points to say but, that's enough......!

Room Tip: sea view rooms are the best ,but be ware of....................!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaaelsawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The concept is great, the location is wonderful and the amenities are decent BUT....

1. All the shops were closed. We went on a family vacation over Easter break, right before the high season so supposedly that's why the shops were mostly closed. However the resort was fully booked and I have a sneaking suspicion they knew it would be, why not open a week earlier? It seems if you are managing a facility of this size you have some control over your tenant contracts and can require stores to be open by a certain date, and require some to be open all year. McDonald's seemed to be doing a huge business so it seems odd that other placed would not. Nevertheless, this really wasn't a deal breaker and just saved me money really.

2. Apartments weren't well equipped. We rented an apartment and were all pretty disappointed. One bedroom was really an extension of the living room with sliding doors that did not lock. Not too great for families with toddlers who love to open doors. The kitchen amenities were lacking, and a hot plate doesn't equal stove so saying there's a kitchen is stretching it a bit... cooking wasn't really an option without pots and utensils. The beds and the furniture was decent however, and the balcony's were nice.

3. It was dirty. The cleanliness was about what I would expect from a one star hotel at best and actually was almost too much for me. The mop water was filthy dirty, not being changed between rooms and a streaky film was left on the floor. Allowing my one year old on the floor was almost unbearable. Sadly we chose this option to avoid risking it all on a villa rental but found this to be a poor substitute. It was gross.

4. The service was also lacking, which is too bad because it could have sugar coated the issues a little making it more bearable. From the minute we hit the gate we were made to feel like we were always trying to sneak in to the resort, not like guests. There was one exception, the girls in the kids area were so kind and sweet with the kids.

5. The hotel breakfast buffet was poorly managed and total chaos, and I am saying that from the perspective of someone who has been to their fair share of Egyptian buffets which resemble Cairo traffic most of the time. I won't complain about the prices because resort prices are always higher so I am not sure what people were expecting there.

6. The beach was nice, but a little dirty. The pools were great. We never could figure out when the activities were being held so didn't see much of the animation team.

I wouldn't go back, and next time will risk the villa rental instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Alamein hotels
28.4 mi away
Rixos Alamein
Rixos Alamein
#2 of 9 in El Alamein
223 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aida Beach Hotel
Aida Beach Hotel
#7 of 9 in El Alamein
106 reviews
4.7 mi away
Porto Marina Golf Resort
Porto Marina Golf Resort
#3 of 9 in El Alamein
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Mirage Hotel Sidi Abd El Rahman
0.0 mi away
Ocean Blue Marina Hotel & Resort
3.0 mi away
No photo provided
Marseilia Beach 2
#1 of 13 in El Alamein
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Marina Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Marina Resort & Spa

Property: Porto Marina Resort & Spa
Address: Km 105 Alexandria/Marsa Matrouh Road, El Alamein 5615, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Matrouh Governorate > El Alamein
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in El Alamein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Marina Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Service apartments are managed by Porto world Hotels & Resorts. Any other apartments rented through 3rd parties are not under the hotel liability and responsibility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Marina Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Marina Resort And Spa
Porto Marina Hotel El Alamein

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing