We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian charm with a beautiful lake view.”
Review of Inn on the Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I recently stayed at the Inn for a business trip during the last week of March. My colleague and I were pleasantly surprised with a free upgrade which provided us with rooms with jacuzzi tubs. I was pleased with the decor and furnishings, truly a great place to stay when travelling for business.

The food quality at the restaurant was superb, simply delicious! The service was outstanding, very polite and helpful staff. The English pub had great character and had Stella Artois on tap, even better! It was lovely to wake up in the morning with a view of the lake, how serene and relaxing.

If I were return to the area, I would definitely stay again and would recommend to family or friends. A little gem in the Fall River area.

Room Tip: Eat at the restaurant, fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel_Emerald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

On March 19th, my sister, with two young children, tried to check into this establishment without a credit card, at 10:30 PM. She offered to give a cash deposit and even leave the keys to her car, but staff would not allow her to check in. No credit card, no stay. Perhaps these folks need a lesson in empathy. You can be sure I will not be staying here.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Connie_MacAskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnontheLakeOwner, Owner at Inn on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2011

Dear Ms. Mac Askill

Our staff does not recall any issues at the reservation desk on the 19th nor can we identify any problems from our video surveillance records.


There was an incident on the 18th at 10:20 PM where a lady was declined a room. That lady, I assume she was your sister, called our reservation desk earlier that evening from the Airport Holiday Inn to explain they were fully booked and she needed a room. We offered to reserve a room and asked for her credit card information. She indicated that she did not have a credit card with her. Our front desk attendant explained, on three occasions, that the Inn only rents rooms to guests that can provide credit card authorization personally or through a verified third party. The lady ignored this conversation and presented herself at our front desk demanding a room - she was politely declined.


For the record; our two front desk attendants that were on duty that evening do not recall any discussion regarding car keys or the mention of children. Our video records confirm no children were present in the common areas of the hotel.


Inn on the Lake allows a guest to pay their reservation in cash or with a debit card, however, to protect the hotel and ensure the safety and comfort of our guest we require a valid credit card number be on file.


I am sorry we could not accommodate your sister on this occasion and wish you both good luck on your future travels.


Inn Keeper
Ron Nelson
Inn on the Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

My daughter and I stayed at "Inn At The Lake" the night before and after a trip to PEI. We came from FL and Calif at very different times with easy pick up and delivery to and from the airport. Truly a boutique style hotel. It is situated on a beautiful lake with a sandy beach and comfortable lounge chairs for sunning or pulling up onto the grass under the shade trees. I watched a few boats pulling skiers before deciding to take out one of the hotel's paddle boats out for a 2 hour ride. Gorgeous surrounds on the grounds, trees, flowers, etc. Very nice looking pool, and outdoor dining area. The hotel shuttle took us to the airport the first morning where we rented a car and picked us up there 5 days later upon return, so we did not have our own transportation while at the hotel and there didn't seem to be much around, but it was the perfect prescription for relaxation pre and post travel.

Our 1st night room was nicely appointed with a lake and pool view. We arrived late on our return trip and were graciously upgraded to a very nice, large room with a jacuzzi tub, an elegant remote control fireplace, and sitting area. The 2 restaurants offered wonderful food in an a very upscale surrounding. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2010
Thank Ttime222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We love this stop. Staff are friendly and efficient. The Diing Room and the food is excellent. The rooms are very comfortable. The free shuttle to and from the airport is very convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maureen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This hotel has it all, well appointed rooms, a nice little pub, beautiful dining room with outdoor patio, pool and a small beach on the lake complete with a gazebo. The staff was very friendly, the owners were in the facility and chatted with me in the pub. The front desk staff were most helpful right down to where the best place was to park my Harley. Outside of Halifax with easy access to downtown makes the location perfect for day trips. If you are in the area this is a must stay at location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We have stopped on our way back from family in Ontario. They allow us to park on our way if we stay on our return... Great value! The hotel is well-maintained, quiet, large rooms with electric fireplace, king-sized bed, sitting area, large screen TV and adequate Bath.

The restaurant and bar provide an relaxing atmosphere with good food.
All the staff are engaging and friendly and responsive to all our requests.

My only negative is that the patio is noisy with local traffic noises.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rev_Joc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

We live in Halifax and I wanted to book a local place for a quick Valentine's get away. We booked the Valentine package which included the room and a gourmet meal. The check in and out process was quick, parking included in the room rate. Our room and any common areas we were in were immaculately clean. Our only disappointment was that we did not get to use the double jacuzzi as there was excessive demand for hotwater which could not be kept up with because of the hotel being full that night. The front desk automatically credited us with the charge for the upgraded room and charged us for a standard room only. We did not have to ask for this. If you want a room with a lake view, I would recommend requesting this when making your reservation.

We dined in the Encore Restaurant located on site. The dining room is cozy and the service was very good. The prices are comparable to any upscale restaurant and the food is amazing. We would dine there again without staying at the Inn. We did not eat at Oliver's Pub, also located on site, but I am told that it is equally good.

For out of towners and tourists, this hotel is located about mid way between the Halifax airport and down town Halifax, about 25 km in either direction. There is not very much around the hotel, so a car is necessary for any shopping, dining off the hotel, etc. The local area and lake is beautiful during the summer and autumn months.

I would definitely stay here again, and would not hesitate to recommend to anyone asking. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fall River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Bedford
#12 of 28 in Halifax
329 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#3 of 28 in Halifax
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Lake

Address: 3009 Highway 2, Fall River, Nova Scotia B2T 1J5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Region > Fall River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fall River
Price Range: £92 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shuttle Bus to/from Halifax Airport. Outdoor Parking, In-room coffee/tea, Newspaper except Sunday. Use of recreation facilities. Lounge/Bar, and Cocktail lounge. Volt 110-120AC. Restaurant, VCR-request, Limited handicap facilities. Drugstore nearby, Credit union - nearby, Hairstylist, Liquor Commission, Supermarket Services, Fax service, Maid service, Secretarial service, Luggage hold, Multilingual Staff, Room service - 7AM-10PM, Traveler's check cashing Safety, In-room sprinkler system, In-room heat/smoke detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Lake Hotel Fall River
Inn On The Lake Fall River, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing