We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A disappointing stay.. The owners have put a considerable effort into the park.. They are letting themselves down by chasing every euro available.. Less is more , but they are far too obvious in packing the site and overcharging for average extras... Packing people in and overcharging for extras will not help in the long term .. I won't go back and was looking forward to my stay..why put all the effort into creating a good site and then pay no attention to the small details that will ensure repeat business...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Dartsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    71
    36
    35
    25
See reviews for
224
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed in one of the microlodges over the August weekend. There were six of us - two adults and four children. The microlodges were cosy and you still feel that you are camping (just without the tent!!!)The place was very well run and absolutely dedicated to families. There is a very strict curfew of 11pm but to be honest you have such a full day that come 11pm we were happy to call it a day!! The kayaking was brilliant and was very good value!! Kids loved the river to swin in but if you can, bring wetsuits!!! Also, the cafe was good and wasn't too pricey!!! Staff were lovely and all in all a lovely stay!! It did rain a lot at night but that's not their fault!!! Only negative is that the campsite could be lit up a bit better!! Bring torches with you!!! Will be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilM372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We camped over the bridge in the camping field for three nights, arriving on a Thursday. Campsite facilities were very good, clean, pleasant and well thought out. Showers always hot (though they could do with a second clean later in the day, especially when its very busy). Staff are friendly and helpful. Campsite is clean and well run, with plenty for the kids. There was an enforced curfew for under 16s, which was very welcome. Food quality from the takeaway is not good, stick with the bacon rolls, the burgers and sausages are terrible, but the staff are lovely. Messing about in the river was great fun, as was the campfire and marshmallows. Unfortunately we picked a manic weekend with barely room to spare on the camping field, I agree with others, its very like a festival, everyone packed in everywhere. With all of the BBQs and candles being lit, it was a fire risk. We didn't get to sleep until around 2am each night, when the chatting and merriment died down, all great if you were part of it, but not if you wanted to sleep. We woke one morning with a tent full of fumes & smoke, our very close neighbour had lit their BBQ to cook breakfast. I would recommend booking in advance for the other side of the bridge where pitches are clearly marked out and have electric hook up, worth it just to get some sleep. Or avoid the weekends on the field, because by Sunday afternoon it was empty. We will go again because the kids loved it, but we will be upgrading to the quiet side of the bridge.

Room Tip: Book in advance in the marked pitches with electric hook up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovejellybabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Cant fault the amenities and place is clean (we were there on a very busy and hot weekend) - Lots and Lots to do so the kids are always happy. Staff - Friendly and helpful. Camp-site. As mentioned previously it can be carnage if its busy - difficult to get a decent spot if you get there in the afternoon - quite like a festival with tents everywhere and no bathroom facilities on the tent side of the bridge. Saying that when the kids go to bed its a great atmosphere :) Kids already bugging me for a return visit so we booked a week :)

Room Tip: If you are tenting it on a weekend get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I was soo happy to leave hidden valley. I stayed in the so called luxury cabins last Easter with my family and some friends. On arrival it had been snowing. Not only had the staff not even thought of trying to heat the cabin but I had to start cleaning certain areas( especially the bathroom). The entire cabin had only two very small electric heaters which never heated one room never mind the cabin. I stayed for 2 night cutting short my holiday as I just couldn't bear another night in the accommodation . Not much to do in rathdrum and travelled into Wicklow town on both days. Not luxury, not worth the money and would not recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ronald124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked in mid July for 2 nights but left by 5pm on day 1. The site was packed and looked like a festival without the music. In particular all tents were in a field with no structure or boundaries. You had to walk around a find a spot which took about an hour. Very stressful... like getting on to a Ryanair flight. We got to pitch, but the tents just kept coming surrounding us and boxing us in like sardines. It became impossible to haul the gear from the carpark 200m away, up and down 10 times and each time you arrived backed other tents were blocking your access to your tent. Had we stayed the night we were only inches from other tents. People had no respect for space but maybe they were stressed to pitch before there was no space at all. Management didn't bother patrolling to stop overcrowding. I feel profit was put before safety and comfort. Facilities were good and plenty of amenities, but it was very commercial rather than rural and raw. My complaint was received well and dealt with satisfactorily. For €40 per night and we had two families it was overpriced. Insist, if you are going to have a site off the field.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamoylanlynam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Just returned from 5 nights in a camper van. Can not fault anything about this campsite. Great location with lots to do for kids just a short drive away. Facilities are excellent. Staff very friendly and good with kids. Curfew is enforced which is great when you are away with small kids. A big thank you to management and all staff. We will definitely be back next year

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank niamhclaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
6.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
7.4 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
12.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Lettermore Country Home
Lettermore Country Home
#5 of 7 in Rathdrum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stirabout Lane
Stirabout Lane
#1 of 7 in Rathdrum
5.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rathdrum
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hidden Valley Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Ireland/Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing