We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We travelled here with 5 other families and had a brilliant weekend. The kids had loads to do. We brought a paddling pool for the smaller ones but the bigger kids could swim in the lake/river. Kids movie at 7pm every evening kept the kids entertained and pleanty of activites throughout the day. playgrounds and slides, zorbing and water sports. security walking around in the night keeping noise to a minimum... Perfect family camp site.

Room Tip: Bring citronella candles for the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank glynnshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just back from the Hidden Valley. 1st the positive side: its a fantatsic location with the river running through the park and the staff are friendly. The kids had a ball in the River and really enjoyed the camp fires on the river bank in the late evening toasting marshmallows.The curfew is strictly enforced which is a blessing. However the negatives outweight the positives. The camping field was like a refugee camp. There is no delination of sites which results in a confused and extremely cramped site. A group set up right next to us on our second day, they were joined on the third day by another of their group who pitched their tent so close to us that there guy lines were intertwined with ours! As it was the 1st week in August then it was extremely buzy but we didnt expect to see peroixide pony tailed, onesy wearing foul mouthed females guzzling long necked bottles of beer at 3 in the afternoon while their off springs (invariably called Britney, Chesney, Bella, Damo etc) constanty ran into the guy lines holding up our tents. Admittingly we had a bad experience when three of my kids vomited consectutively into various containers during the night, induced it appears by their swallowing of the river water (see other reviews) but that did not unduly colour my opinion. The camp field has no lighting and therefore the long walk to the only toliets (which are very clean and well maintained) is a hazzardous journey in the dark. If we were to return it would be earlier in the summer and I would insist on having one of the delineated powered sites near the toliets/showers etc. A second toliet block is needed in the camp field.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This park has it all - very friendly staff, incredibly clean facilities, lots of outdoor activities, inexpensive food, great location. I especially love the sound of the river in the evenings while sitting around our campfire roasting marshmallows. I love the fact that there is a curfew, so everyone seems to settle down and you can get to sleep. Can't wait to visit this park again. I would book early, cause they fill up fast. We already booked back in again for the October Bank Holiday weekend for the Monster Mash - haven't been during this time, but we've heard it's a blast. Great family destination. Well done Hidden Valley!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A disappointing stay.. The owners have put a considerable effort into the park.. They are letting themselves down by chasing every euro available.. Less is more , but they are far too obvious in packing the site and overcharging for average extras... Packing people in and overcharging for extras will not help in the long term .. I won't go back and was looking forward to my stay..why put all the effort into creating a good site and then pay no attention to the small details that will ensure repeat business...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Dartsmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed in one of the microlodges over the August weekend. There were six of us - two adults and four children. The microlodges were cosy and you still feel that you are camping (just without the tent!!!)The place was very well run and absolutely dedicated to families. There is a very strict curfew of 11pm but to be honest you have such a full day that come 11pm we were happy to call it a day!! The kayaking was brilliant and was very good value!! Kids loved the river to swin in but if you can, bring wetsuits!!! Also, the cafe was good and wasn't too pricey!!! Staff were lovely and all in all a lovely stay!! It did rain a lot at night but that's not their fault!!! Only negative is that the campsite could be lit up a bit better!! Bring torches with you!!! Will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LilM372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We camped over the bridge in the camping field for three nights, arriving on a Thursday. Campsite facilities were very good, clean, pleasant and well thought out. Showers always hot (though they could do with a second clean later in the day, especially when its very busy). Staff are friendly and helpful. Campsite is clean and well run, with plenty for the kids. There was an enforced curfew for under 16s, which was very welcome. Food quality from the takeaway is not good, stick with the bacon rolls, the burgers and sausages are terrible, but the staff are lovely. Messing about in the river was great fun, as was the campfire and marshmallows. Unfortunately we picked a manic weekend with barely room to spare on the camping field, I agree with others, its very like a festival, everyone packed in everywhere. With all of the BBQs and candles being lit, it was a fire risk. We didn't get to sleep until around 2am each night, when the chatting and merriment died down, all great if you were part of it, but not if you wanted to sleep. We woke one morning with a tent full of fumes & smoke, our very close neighbour had lit their BBQ to cook breakfast. I would recommend booking in advance for the other side of the bridge where pitches are clearly marked out and have electric hook up, worth it just to get some sleep. Or avoid the weekends on the field, because by Sunday afternoon it was empty. We will go again because the kids loved it, but we will be upgrading to the quiet side of the bridge.

Room Tip: Book in advance in the marked pitches with electric hook up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovejellybabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Cant fault the amenities and place is clean (we were there on a very busy and hot weekend) - Lots and Lots to do so the kids are always happy. Staff - Friendly and helpful. Camp-site. As mentioned previously it can be carnage if its busy - difficult to get a decent spot if you get there in the afternoon - quite like a festival with tents everywhere and no bathroom facilities on the tent side of the bridge. Saying that when the kids go to bed its a great atmosphere :) Kids already bugging me for a return visit so we booked a week :)

Room Tip: If you are tenting it on a weekend get there early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niallster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
12.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,089 reviews
14.7 mi away
Glenview Hotel
Glenview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glen Of The Downs
1,056 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Glendalough Hotel
Glendalough Hotel
#1 of 1 in Glendalough Village
547 reviews
6.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,037 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rathdrum
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Ireland/Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing