We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic site!! dont usually review but felt I had to to balance the negative comments!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic site!! dont usually review but felt I had to to balance the negative comments!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I camped here last summer and I am heading back tomorrow for a couple of days, 2 adults and one child.....and we can't wait!! We have camped in numerous sites all over Ireland and have to say this is by far the best one we have been in! Staff are all friendly and made a point of remembering my daughters name when we stayed last year. Great variety of activities on site for kids, all very cheap. Especially when you consider other sites where there is NOTHING to do, and the expense that brings through having to go in search of off site activities which are far more expensive. The on site activities also allow a nice opportunity for kids to mingle and make friends, which I thought created a lovely family atmosphere on site.Toilet/shower blocks and campers kitchen are the best maintained and nicest ones i've seen. Always spotless, well designed and laid out. I like that the camping area is separate, and its only a short and picturesque stroll over the bridge to the toilets etc. The low lighting is also a bonus really, as it stays bright late enough, and when it does get dark the nice camp fires and marshmallow toasting would be ruined by floodlights! its also makes bedtime easier with kids with no bright lights to distract them. When I was here last year the noise curfew was enforced, I saw myself people being asked to keep it down and everyone went in to their tents. One night I had an issue with parking so I asked at reception and they were very helpful and found me a spot in the visitors car park so I just moved my car over there. Really wish if people had problems with noise/other campers that they just said it when they were there, as i'm sure it would have been swiftly addressed. No matter how nice a place is there's always a danger of being camped next to a rowdy crowd, or people drinking as others have complained about, but its unfair for this to bring down the overall impression of a lovely campsite, when its no fault of there own and there was never an opportunity for them to rectify it.
Cant wait to get there tomorrow! :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    80
    37
    36
    27
See reviews for
241
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
carrickmacross
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent the 11th to the 14th Aug there and i was not impressed. We were booked to the 15th but we had had enough. The camping grounds is a free for all. Some idiot pitched their tent right on top of ours so we could not walk up the side of ours or use the side door, considering they had plenty of room the other side of theirs. Someone was needed there to tell people where to pitch. Parking was a nightmare, if you left your space you werent getting back in and the gates were never closed so it was basically a public car park. Pin code was worthless. Activities, those that were open, were overpriced especially when you pay per tent and then per person. Kids were running around doing as they pleased while parents sat drinking. Crossing the bridge to the toilets was a death trap with countless kids on bikes, who couldnt ride them, nearly wiping you out. The river is also a death trap, the current washed one kid over the weir when i was there, again no parents watching. Some stranger jumped in to rescue them. I need a holiday to recover from this one. They say on their site its all about the kids and not the parties. I have to disagree, to me it seemed it was all about the money, cramming campers in.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Hello, we're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our camping area was purposely designed the way we have it and is why so many people love camping with us. The area is extremely safe with no cars driving around the tents and the car park is only a second walk to a 30 second walk depending on where you pitch your tent. Kids are allowed to bring their bikes to our park as we are an outdoor holiday park. As with any car park, once you leave and come back you might not get your "exact" same spot back, however you will get a spot. We do not allow partying on our site and we have not had one complaint this year in regards to noise. We are always in reception to help with any problems our customers have had you made yourself known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay camping in hidden valley. I was apprehensive going due to the previous reviews but so glad we went ahead with the break. This place is amazing. I saw no over flowing bins,the toilets and facilities were spotless,staff friendly and my kids had an absolute ball. The toilets can be a short walk away depending on where you pitch but this didn't create a problem for us. Ignore the bad reviews this place is definitely worth a visit. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank roisdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our park and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We have a cleaner scheduled around the clock on our amenity block and bin areas are tidied at least four times everyday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Spent the 8th 9th of August 2014. On paper it looks good but in reality it is like camping at a festival without the bands. Party central. Too much drinking and unsupervised children left to their own devices. Other issues are that you cant park beside were you pitch your tent, so unpacking & repacking the car takes twice as long. At times no were to park your car if you left the site & returned. Very limted electricity points for campers & in the worst area of camping field. No clear pitches so you end up very close to other tents. Activities overpriced, parents beware its a money pit. Playground closes at 7pm a huge draw back as children no were to go, so noise levels high with kids running around campsite. River presents safety issues as the current can be strong and any rain brings the water levels up. Noise levels at night are outrageous. Found it stressful. Wont be returning. I would not recommend it to those who want a relaxing time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank PCGDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. Our camping area was specifically designed the way it is to offer families more of a true camping experience and without the worry of cars driving around their tents. Anyone who camps at our site requests our camping area for this reason. If you need electric hookup and would rather park your car by your tent, then all you have to do is request this at time of booking. The cinema is on every night from 7pm. The fun park closes at 7pm, so that children can get back to their sites to have their dinner and start winding down for bed. We have a strict noise curfew at 11pm and we have not had one complaint to date this year. We do not allow partying of any kind and those who do are removed immediately from the site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Myself & my husband along with 2 friends & their 2 children under 4 have just spent the weekend August 8th - 10th camping in Hidden Valley. The location is just ideal, but I'm afraid that's the only thing going for this campsite. The field for tents is a disaster, they just seem to jam in as many tents as possible, there isn't near enough room for all the cars. The shower block & toilet block are way too far away from the site & on one of the mornings when I went to the ladies around 8.30 over half the toilets were closed due to them been blocked, when I tried to make enquiries I was told I would have to wait until gone 9 when the reception would be open. The bins when we arrived were overflowing & there were bags of garbage piled up on the ground beside them. This is one campsite we will not be returning to

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Nuala56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We have a certain amount of sites and car parking spaces on our holiday park. We stick to this number. There is a car parking spot for everyone. Our showers and toilets have not been blocked once this year (I have even double checked this with maintenance). The bins at times do have rubbish bags piled in front of the bins as parents tell their children to take the rubbish to the bins and they cannot reach to put the rubbish inside the bins so it ends up on the ground. For this very reason we ask parents to dispose of their rubbish and we have our staff tidy the bin areas at least 4 times everyday. At the end of the day we are a campsite where families need to be responsible for removing all items they brought with them. This is not always the case, so everyday we have staff picking papers around the park and tidying the bin areas, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the camp for two nights, Aug 6 to 8, in a small 3/4 family tent. Both the location and the site are great and we loved camping on a river bank and getting a fire going on the beach in the evening (you can buy wood in the camp). But we were disappointed by the rest:

When we arrived (this was mid-week, Wednesday), the tenting side of the camp felt overcrowded and tents were pitched up in no order (no respecting of distance, no paths, so expect a lot of stumbling over ropes) -- you cannot park your car near your tent, which wasn't an issue for us as we didn't have loads of stuff, but on busy days expect some jostling in the rather tight carpark for spots nearest to where the tents are.

The rubbish bins were overflowing for the two days we were there and the site was fairly littered by discarded cans, plastic bottles, we even found a glass beer bottle in the river.

Not enough showers/toilets for the numbers of people present, so expect having to queue up (you have to pay 1 euro for a seven-minute shower). On the plus side, the toilets were warm (it was quite cold on our first night in the camp) and are kept clean throughout the day.

On both nights staff made an attempt to impose the 11pm curfew (expect children running around as late as 10.30pm having fun banging on tents and shining their torches into your eyes) but there was still a lot of traffic at 11.30pm and on the second morning we were woken up at 5am by a bunch of lads shouting for a good half hour.

There is a nice playground for kids (for free) plus other activities (adventure golf 6 euros p.p., waterballs, trampoline, climbing frame, cinema 2 euros p.p.) that you have to pay for extra. These are nice enough but overpriced considering what you're getting for your money (our kids loved the waterballs; we also went to see a film on our second evening, which was a disaster: a lot of kids weren't old or interested enough to sit and watch the film quietly -- so expect a lot of late arrivals, filing in and out, crying over spilled drinks etc. and only feeble attempts by staff to impose a semblance of order; all this made the movie close to unwatchable).

On the plus side: We loved the site itself, the facilities were ok (there is a kitchenette where you can cook and wash up, the only issue is that the hot water dribbles rather than flows from the tap). The kids had great time floating their inflatable ring down the river (note, however, there is no fencing, lifeguards or signs to tell you how deep the river is, so you need to watch it with very young children -- most places were quite shallow and safe when we were there, but there are some spots around the weir and further down the river where the current is stronger and a child can't reach the bottom).

On the whole, however, we thought the site should be better managed and we wouldn't go back because of the overcrowding in the tent section, as well as the littering and the noise at night that went with it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank a d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review. Unfortunately Greenstar will only service our park once a week, so when the bins are full we do our very best at keeping them as tidy as possible until they are emptied. We will ring Greenstar again to address this issue. The cinema should be quiet while the movie is on and we have actually changed staff for the cinema to ensure this. We are a campsite and we cannot force people to not walk around with flash flights or tell ghost stories, etc as this is what camping is all about. All we can do is enforce our 11pm noise curfew, which we are very strict on. Of course the odd time you might have a group wake up early, or a child wake in the night upset, so sometimes there will be unwanted noise, however we do stay on top of this. Our lake is fenced in, life guarded etc. however the river cannot be. It is a natural course and parents must mind their children at all times if they go near the river.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This place is in a beautiful setting but that's were it ends. We camped in a tent for three nights from 5th august to 7th August. The site was jammed with tents. You cannot park your car near to the tent area and so have to to and fro all your gear a fair distance to set up. The toilets and shower block are a long trek away. There were approximately eight showers for hundreds of campers costing a euro each for a 6 min shower token. Long queues each morning and evening adding to the feeling we were in some kind of concentration camp and not on holiday at all. The fact you had to pay for a shower on top of the 43euro a night price just capped it all off. Add to that the bins overflowing from the day we arrived until we left and nothing done about them. Granted there were activities on site for children but again these were overpriced. Verdict you'd be better off in a campsite with less of the extra activities and more of the basic facilities needed for day to day living. We won't be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharonmanning43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveltheworld81, Owner at Hidden Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for reviewing. Our camping area was designed the way it is to allow for a real camping experience with no cars driving around the tents making it extremely safe for the kids. Everyone requests this area. If you prefer to have your tent next to your car, then it's no problem to book one of those sites. The toilet block is right in the middle of the park and even at the furthest pitch on both sides it's less than a 2 minute walk. If you look in the Ireland Camping books then you'll see our rates are comparable to all sites offering our activities, however we also have free activities - two playgrounds, giant space net, lazy river, football, embankment slides, fishing and wi-fi. Other activities range between €2 and €6 as they are staffed activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
6.0 mi away
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
BrookLodge & Macreddin Village
#1 of 1 in Macreddin Village
1,019 reviews
12.2 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,043 reviews
10.0 mi away
Arklow Bay Hotel
Arklow Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Arklow
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
11.9 mi away
Ballinahoun House
Ballinahoun House
#3 of 14 in Gorey
25 reviews
17.1 mi away
Powerscourt Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Valley Holiday Park

Property: Hidden Valley Holiday Park
Address: Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rathdrum
Also Known As:
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Hotel Rathdrum
Hidden Valley Holiday Park Ireland/Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing