We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First-rate Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Rathdrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“First-rate Service”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My family stayed at this B&B for a couple of nights last summer. Helen allowed me to have a travel crib shipped to her from Amazon for our one-year-old. (Jacob's Well does offer nice cribs for infants. We wanted to have our own because we planned to travel around Ireland for a month. We figured that it would be a little easier on our baby if she at least had the same crib every night.) At any rate, she had the box ready for us in our room when we arrived. We thought it was extremely kind of her to do this for us.

In total, we were a family of five. She gave us a nice sized family room in the back of the building. It was relatively spacious and very clean. The breakfast was good. Eggs and sausage as well as the regular buffet items. The pub food was delicious and they were very accommodating with some special dietary needs.

Helen always had time for a chat with us and everyone in the place was extraordinarily friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    21
    9
    2
    7
See reviews for
30
45
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Me and my friends have the pleasure at staying at this b&b. We had a very warm welcome, we were shown to our rooms which were spotless and very spacious! We were brought to the sitting room where we were made tea/coffee and home made cakes. Later that night we ate in the adjoining bar, and the food was absolutely Devine. Not to mention our beautiful breakfast, we were full for the day. I would like to thank Helen for her hospitality we enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orlaith_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Full disclosure, we did not actually stay at Jacob's Well, but we would have gladly chosen to if our plans kept us in the Rathdrum area. As it was, we landed in Dublin at 5:30am and immediately rented a car to drive through the Wicklow Mountains on our way to points farther south (I highly recommend this; the scenery was otherworldly and stunning, especially at sunrise and in early February).

But back to Jacob's Well. We came out of the mountains, tired and hungry, and passed through Rathdrum around 9:30am on our way to the highway. There were cars, and people, and restaurants, but nothing was open except for the little Centra market (great scones there). We walked up and down the street before deciding to knock at Jacob's Well and ask if the lady of the house would make breakfast even though we weren't guests. She considered for a moment and let us in.

"Full Irish breakfast then?" Oh yes, I'd heard so much about it. "Coffee or tea?" We'd been up forever, asked for coffee, and were promptly brought a pot of tea. Other than that, the food was wonderful, hearty and satisfying. We used the restroom in a vacant room on our way out, and the accommodations seemed very nice. Maybe next time we'll stay a night, but as it was, Jacob's Well was a great spot for an unexpected breakfast.

Room Tip: Didn't stay; dined only
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just back from a very special place! Better than most 4 star hotels that we have stayed in and Helen was so welcoming and added a real personal touch. The bedrooms were spotless and so cosy and the shower was powerful enough to knock the heat back into me after a long day walking :) There was a lovely wood burning stove in the sitting area which was a real treat for us to relax in. From a food point of view we were in heaven! The adjoining pub served the tenderest steak I've had in ages while my husband enjoyed the fresh fish - and the obligatory pint of Guinness!! The next morning we had a superb breakfast with lots of choices to send us on our way - needless to say we'll be back. Thanks to everyone :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

First class! We wished we had a longer stay and we will certainly return again. We were made to feel so welcome and Helen couldnt do enough for us.
Beautiful spacious bedroom and large ensuite. Sumptuous breakfast.
We had our evening meal in the bar and that was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doranb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WIMBORNE
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just returned from a lovely trip to Co Wicklow. We stayed in the Jacob's Well B&B. This is a lovely traditional B&B run by Helen and her team. Everyone was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are amazing. Next door is the pub, plus 4 or 5 other pubs in the village. The food in the pub is proper pub nosh. My favorite was the venison sausages.
We will return!
Thanks Helen!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here in mid-July 2013. We had a wonderful time at this B&B. Very nice corner room with a great view. The pub atmosphere was inviting, and full of energy. Helen, our hostess, was fantastic and a pleasure to talk to about local activities. She makes it a point to ensure all is well and that you're having a great visit. This was a wonderful resting place to return to after seeing the sites. I strongly recommend this B&B and we plan on going back some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 08Bullitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathdrum
12.7 mi away
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
Druids Glen Hotel & Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Newtown Mount Kennedy
2,044 reviews
7.0 mi away
Woodenbridge Hotel & Lodge
8.1 mi away
Tinakilly Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Meetings
The Meetings
#2 of 7 in Arklow
70 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lettermore Country Home
Lettermore Country Home
#4 of 7 in Rathdrum
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#2 of 6 in Avoca
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast

Property: Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast
Address: 41 Main Street, Rathdrum, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Rathdrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Rathdrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacob's Well Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Rathdrum, County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing