We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Design”
Review of Maxims

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maxims
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a 3D2N stay at Maxims. The hotel on the whole looked grand with a huge Lobby. Being on a Sunday upon our checking in, the crowd was at its minimal. Our first encounter was with hotel staff, which we find to be unfriendly.

We were at the 10th floor. The room had a modern design. Small space. even with a modern design, we had a Box TV which we felt that it does not tie with the concept.

There is no aircon just a fan but the cool wind had already made the room cool. Toilet was clean and well-kept.

On the whole, its a so-so experience for us

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZnAfamillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I normally stay at the Resort Hotel or First World if the Resort is fully booked. This time I was lucky to be offered 2 free nights at the renamed Highlands.

I did not request for any special room but was given a newly refurbished room on a non-smoking floor. Sometimes when we leave it to luck it works out better than expected. As I had requested for a big double bed the only available room was far from the lift but I did not mind the walk. The room was just next door to the store room so it was easy for me to request for a packet of creamer or whatever they short-supply us. I found the room spacious yet cosy. There was a huge super king-size bed which I found very comfortable. The bedding was a perfect white and so clean. I had a most comfortable sleep. The sofa chair for watching tv has a leg rest too which I find soothing for tired legs.

They supply the rooms the daily newspapers and a large sweet orange/a large pink apple everyday. I liked the Lipton teabags but not did not like the 2 types of coffee provided.

The check-in was fast and the girl who checked me in was very pleasant,polite and helpful. There is an RM200 deposit which would be refunded upon checkout.

The location of the hotel was superb for gamblers as the casino is located just above the hotel. I would choose to stay here again if given another opportunity.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKampungOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We redeemed the room with casino points (35 points only) so didn't expect too much. However we found the room is in quite good condition and the bed is comfortable. No air conditioning but only fan. It's acceptable since the air temperature is not too high but it's a bit humid. The decoration is quite old-fashion. It will be a good choice if you are planning to spend most of your time in the casinos but not the hotel room.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Su N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Been to Genting Highlands many times but it was more than a year ago since we last stayed there. They have now changed the name to Maxims Hotel. Previously it was called Highlands hotel. Our recent trip up there was due to the water crisis that made me and my family travelled up to Genting for a one night stay. Rooms were the same except for the change of new carpet flooring outside the rooms. Upon checking in, our TV was not in working condition and the light in the toilet was fused one side. So we had to call the technician to rectify the problems we faced. They took more than an hour to turn up after complaining for the second time. The beds were very soft and comfortable compared to those last time which was stiff and hard. Overall, everything was fine in the room. Starbucks is just at the lobby area. While Baskin Robbins ice cream parlor, Famous Amos and a few other eateries are just round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jejmong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Me and family travel Malaysia trip 4 day first in malaca second KL third here when i arrive i can't believe 3.00pm but still cool and fog. I check in hight land hotel and take free shuttle bus look around genthing the facility in hotel out side good but the window in bath room stuck can't open well and hotel mostly open air no air-con because alway cool every is good i will back next holiday here again (only relax not gamble) ... Good

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Good stay at Genting Highland. Check in accurate and fast. The room every thing just fine but I feel the room still can be up grade due to all the thing look oldest. Location is good easy access to casino. In front hotel have a big car parking. Starbucks coffee just locate at lobby you can have a nice drink any time if I not mistake is opening 24hours.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CedricLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed so far. Room is spacious with free 2 bottles of water and 2 cans of soft drinks plus 2 fruits replenished everyday. Bathroom is big with a bathtub where you can open the partition and watch tv as you soak in the soothing bath. Alternatively, there is also a separate shower room and wc. Access to the casino, shops, restaurants and theme parks are just steps away. I believe it is the only hotel in Genting Highlands with excellent internet connection in the room and it's free too!

Room Tip: Ask for the 12th floor if you need internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sweetzlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,908 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
200 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#7 of 10 in Genting Highlands
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maxims? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxims

Address: | Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia (Formerly Highlands Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: £154 - £1,157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maxims 4*
Number of rooms: 745
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impeccable service, a splendid array of dining venues and lively entertainment are some of the activities that are bound to make yours a pleasurable stay and enjoyable trip up at the peak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Ctrip TA so you can book your Maxims reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing