We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience with the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Genting View Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel management should improve on lots of things. The room was spacious but musty. Apart from that the staff was really rude and lacked of courtesy at all. I called for room service but was informed kitchen was closed for dinner eventhough the room service pamphlets the room clearly stated that the service was from 7.30am until 10.00 pm. The staff manning the phone was really rude. I highly suggest the hotel management to give the staff more training on hospitality. I give the hotel 2 stars only and that they did not even deserve that two star.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AinR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

Most of the reviews for this hotel are for the Genting Highlands resort, which is 10km away (and there is no shuttle to there from Genting View Resort). The GVR is near the entrance of the Genting Resort corridor and is a very confusing maze of apartments and buildings. The resort itself is just one building, but they time share/lease many apartments that are very close by. I knew most of this going in, but it was part of our time share and we were only going to be there for 2 days so it was ok. The main building is old and not well maintained (as with many buildings in extremely humid areas). They do have free wifi in the lobby so that was a plus. The check in was fine. We had to take a shuttle over to our room as it was in an apartment that was not far away by distance, but difficult to get to due to narrow and hilly roads and almost zero lighting at night. The apartment on the surface wasn't too bad. Nice tile floors, 3 bedroom with dining table and sitting area. A strange thing (that is somewhat common in these areas I was told) was that in the hallway bathroom, the toilet is INSIDE of the shower.
I'm not gonna use a toilet that is water from me just showering all over it. The "kitchen" we had had one burner and a fridge that was about 4 feet tall. We did get daily free coffee (instant) as well. There is no entertainment to speak of in the room. No internet access, and while we had a TV, it didn't have cable so we only got 4 channels (badly) and none of them were in a language we could understand (and one channel seemed to be devoted to showing ceremonial meetings with the King of Thailand). There aren't enough facilities inside of the apartment to prepare a meal (unless you brought all your own cooking utensils) and there is no grocery nearby. To get back to the main building to have dinner, we had to call the shuttle again. They don't get a lot of guests up here during the week (it's a weekend getaway area) so the restaurant wasn't fully stocked (we had to change our order 2 times as they didn't have ingredients for things we had ordered).

There are other buildings in the area that might be nicer, but since I didn't visit all of them I'm not sure. There is also a clubhouse where there might be more amenities but we didn't go (you have to take the shuttle there too)

My parent's timeshare refunded part of their payment before we even went, a telling sign even they knew it wasn't that great a place.

We only stayed 2 days as we went to Singapore afterwards. We did go back to Malaysia again (we had flown into Malaysia) but we opted not to come back here both due to the fact there is nothing to do (unless you take a cab up to the Genting Highlands which will cost about 30 ringgits) and the fact it is completely in the opposite direction of the airport (which in itself is about 50 km from KL as it is.

The service was good as the employees did try hard, but overall I would not come back to this place. The owners really need to modernize or upgrade some of the facilities before I would come back. For people wanting to stay in this area, if you wanted complete isolation in the middle of a busy area, this is the place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ninja421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

checked into kl airport and went straight to this hotel in genting as i didnt get any bookings for a hotel right inside the theme park. the hotel is good if you are a regular visitor to genting and want to get away from the theme park crowd. its right in the forest and has an amazing view. i got a river side apartment and something i had not bargained for as it turned out to be a mini bunglow with 4 bedrooms and for my family of my wife and two kids it was quite large. the outside look was shabby and the rooms were not too great either. the walls were damp and paint had pelled off. it has not emenities at all inside and one can get stranded here if he isnt carrying adequate things to eat and survive. the view from the room was amazing thou. we learnt the hard way that if you main reason to visit genting is the theme park then please dont stay anywhere else but in the hotels which house the theme park. it took us 2 hours every day one way during peak season time in december to get to the theme park which also includes a sky cable for 25 mins and a 15 min drive from the hotel to reach the cable car station. extremely painful to do this morning and evening. over all didnt like the hotel at all and the toilets and rooms were smelly and just didnt seem right., over all didnt try any of the facilities as i didnt see any. if u are a single family totally avoid this place. if you are quite a few families willing to cook then take one of the villas it would work out cheaper. and if you arnt getting any bookings in genting and are forced to stay here then take a room and dont try any of the villa apartments. not worth it for sure. only reason to go there is peace and its nice and quite.

Room Tip: if you are going to genting please please stay only in the hotel on top where the theme parks are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jayeshgadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

This hotel is far from the theme park. This is fine with me as I was there for a workshop. The price that they charged did not reflect the service provided. The room was smelly and stuffy! The guest house where we held the workshop was poorly maintained. Toilets were very dirty and smelly, and some were not working.. urgghhh... Food prepared for us was also tasteless. They do not even know how to make a decent coffee in the morning! It seemed that they're short of workers, but hey, you're running a resort here (even under Sime Darby name some more!). A reminder to Sime Darby - if you takeover any resort and put it under your name, please refurbish it first before opening to the public! It tarnishes your good name!!

Room Tip: Don't choose the rooms near the reception area. Maybe the apartments are better.. Maybe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsHasmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

genting highland is very good located theem park and you enjoy your vacatian there with your family .this is very nice place and good atmospher at mountain i love this genting highland park we enjoy there with friend with familyrealy apriciate ,there indian foods are orthontic indian test this is very nice place for visit and vacatioan

Room Tip: all roms are good becose ,there is room is not important ,important them park and casino so dont thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank vipuldesai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Like Heaven, so cool that its really difficult to express in words, best is to visit and experience it yourself. Actually the weather in Genting has lot of amusement games which is on till late night and its too cold. The food is also good and i would advise you visit this place with a big group.

Room Tip: Facing the valley/ mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

What my friend said when we first arrived there was
"Don't you think that we are the casts of some horror / thriller movie?"

The rooms and buildings are old. the corridors are not maintained as they are filthy with bird droppings. Bathroom is very mouldy and the building itself looks eerie. The compound is not maintained properly.

Avoid this hotel if you can... opt for other hotels in Genting

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank am1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
3.2 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,885 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
248 reviews
2.9 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
196 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
115 reviews
4.3 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Genting View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Genting View Resort

Address: 10 KM Genting Highlands | Darul, Makmur, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: £41 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Genting View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Genting View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Genting View Hotel Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing