We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing much to say good other than Golfing”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing much to say good other than Golfing”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Something good that i can think about is the GOLFING facilities but in terms of service... POOR! None of the staff willing to approach n help to carry golf bags from a young lady (my sister-in-law).. We had 4 golf bags.. The staff jus watched on u..
HOTEL ROOM.. OK with an ancient style TV and luckily there are selected ASTRO channels n etc. Toilet leaking n we reported to the counter staff, they claimed that we must stay in the room so that the technician can come over... Armmmm.. Mayb she is right, just to avoid any "problem" but we come for vacation, do u AWANA expect me to watch ur technician to do works? Or we just accept the "unlucky & unforeseen" problem happened in our room! One solution is, please hav routine check-up or maintenance... Thanks god we check out after the golfing session...
PARKING.. The management blocks all the front parking just for their committee members. I understand this is for their convenient & benefits.. But pls at least provide valet or jockey service, right? Appreciate the valued customers or clients, please. Unless Awana intended to put the resort FOR MEMBERS & COMMITEE ONLY...
Although im not a regular to Awana Genting.. Mayb twice a year, but i do wish if Awana shows their appreciation to everyone including non-members in terms of better smile on staff & security faces, n be more helpful of course, up to standard room facilities, better food quality and so on...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acmayi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    292
    218
    81
    72
See reviews for
375
209
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip; first thing that I noticed was how green the environment is; even walking towards the lobby, you can see beautiful landscapes and trees everywhere. I've not been to Genting in a long time so it's nice to have a refreshing, cool air for a change. The hotel looks old but the nature makes this place stand out. The room is huge and comfy and we had this amazing view overlooking the golf course. One thing though; the shower curtain could use a change; it looks like it's not cleaned/changed for a long time. I don't have complaints on the breakfast though because to me it's good enough already. I would recommend this place as a short overnight getaway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emme257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have booked a night's stay via expedia.com.my just a week in advance and paid RM267.00. The hotel room was clean and fine - it accommodated 3 adults and also, it included 2 buffet breakfasts... My dad played golf and had breakfast separately, so no issues on that. The check-in staff was friendly and efficiently and was able to check in by 12ish instead of 2pm although it was a long Malaysia Day weekend. There is also a big selection of cable channels (mainly from Astro) which we enjoyed too.

There is a free hourly bus which goes up to all the way to First World Hotel for hotel guests, hence no need to drive or pay for the cable car charges... The driver practise safe driving (this was a comment from my dad) and there was pleasant in-house music the whole time.

The problem is that there is no free WiFi available - you have to pay like RM10 for 1 hour or RM25 for 24 hours which I think, it is a shame as I think most hotels (including hotels of lower grading) provides free WiFi for their guests... I think that's a big Boo boon on the hotel's part.

But generally, the hotel's pretty acceptable for a short getaway...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Reading different reviews on trip advisor, I was unsure about what to expect after making a booking with this hotel for a night's stay. However, as the saying goes, everyone is a prisoner of their own experiences and I must say, my experience with this hotel was wonderful. Upon our arrival, we were stunned by the beautiful location. At the check-in, we immediately received an upgrade from 2 basic deluxe suites to the double storyed 3 bedroom suite situated at the top-most floor of the hotel. The mountain views were breathtaking, the weather unbelievably beautful. The surroundings of this hotel were the best I've ever seen. One could go on a walk and explore the golf area for an entire day! The shuttle bus service running after a fixed interval to Genting Highlands First World Hotel area was most convenient. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Now I understand why most people dont rate it as a great hotel and they have valid reasons for that but I must say one should look at the price they charge for a basic bedroom which is very meager. Our pent-house like apartment had 3 bedrooms with attached bathrooms, a spacious lounge and a small kitchenette. Iron board and an iron were also provided in the room.
However, what I didn't like about the hotel was the breakfast buffet. Everything seemed to be so messy and not A grade quality. Also the flavours and choices were very limited. The hotel needs to pay a lot of attention to the breakfast buffet. Other than that, I loved my stay at the hotel and wished I had an extra day to spend and explore the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

It is one of pathetic hotel staff I have ever seen. The only positive that I can think of this hotel is the Hotel Location and adjoining Gold course which gives it a great view. Apart from that, The food served in the restaurants is not good and service is extremely poor.

Talking about Location- if you can get a hotel at top, nothing can beat it since you can save money that you will waste in taxi for coming to Hotel. The hotel provides you free shuttle at different intervals but they are either till cable car or till Resortsworld and the queue is very long.

I had to pay the same amount that I would have paid at resortsworld but due to Holiday season there was no availablity and has to stick to Awana. The wi-fi is chargeable and only connects when you are around reception area and the connection get losts as you reach your room.

The beakfast Menu has variety and serves various options in Indian food but the food quality and taste is not up to the mark.

The room view was the only good thing. The room was not great and the remote for TV has a tape pasted to avoid batteries from falling down(pic attached). The bath was average.

It was a total waste of money.

Room Tip: please take a room with golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Bangalore
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel building is rather imposing from the outside and the location is nice (alongside the golf course that they have). Our room virtually opened up to one of the tee boxes on the course - although we could not get to watch much due to the bad weather and thick fog which restricted play.
There is a convenient bus service to the ropeway that takes you to Genting Park.
Service overall needs a big revamp. The check in took a really long time - almost 30 minutes. At the restaurant, service staff were quite stand-offish and some of them bordered on being rude. At breakfast I asked if they would do an omelette and they just said - what you see is what you got!
The atmosphere in the restaurant was also not very nice - perhaps due to the quality of people that turn up there - regretfully (and I am ashamed to state this) the problem appeared to be the guests from India. They were extremely noisy groups. We could see lots of them pile up their plates with food and then wasting it - that was an utterly disgusting sight.
Check-out also took a really long time.
My advice would be - if you are looking for really good quality service and ambience, this is NOT the place to go to. However, if you can put up with the issues that I have mentioned above, you could stay here.

Room Tip: You could see if they will give you rooms over-looking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ram368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faridabad, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

A bit far from the main Genting highland theme park, but worth to stay der, a quite, peacful and wonderful location.
There provide the bus services from awana resort to genting highland theme park so distance is not an issue.

Highly recommended to stay in awana , we wer on a package deal, so stayed der only for 2 nights. wish could stay longer.

Theme park is awsm with indoor and outdoor games, a very very big casino, where you can loose your money bcoz i did :(. A larget maal where you can get all king of food and dining with rides. One day is not enough for the whole genting, you should stay atleast 3-4 days .

Awana you get pool with jaccuzi and ride, breakfast is good.

Room Tip: For me all rooms are good bcoz we didnt have enough time to explore all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,782 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing