We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, awful....awful”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Staff very unfriendly, rooms very dirty, cockroaches in rooms, wifi as claimed almost non existent in rooms and chargeable at a premium. Food outlets....awful. No room service. This hotel needs a very serious renovation and management change. They charge full amount upfront on booking and it is non-refundable. We stayed one night and checked out immediately the next day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Radomir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Best hotel with golf play area .The climate,the room view and surrouding made you think you are in heaven.They are proving shuttle bus connceting themepark,Casino areas with hotel.The rooms are spacious and beautifull.

Room Tip: Rooms near to lobby area to be avoided
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOPI2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

It's a lovely place, with breath taking view and nice weather. Love the big rooms. My kids enjoyed the warm swimming pool. It's quite a distance to go up to genting highland anyway. Breakfast is just ok. But the ambiance is lovely. Open air concept is perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I've stayed at Awana hotel a couple of times, and my last visit was about 10 years back. Coming back here to stay was like a trip down memory lane. Not much has changed though contrary to some reviews, this hotel is actually quite well maintained. Just take a walk at the park with the bird sanctuary just across the hotel and you would know what I mean.

For those who prefer a quieter environment compared to staying at the top of Genting itself, Awana is a pretty good place. Choose a room at the higher floors (level 20 and above) and enjoy the good view. I stayed in a twin-sharing room and the single beds are queen sized and comfortable. The room itself is spacious, and the number of channels you can get on the plasma TV is adequate to keep you entertained. Bathroom comes with a bathtub. There is a free shuttle bus either to the cable car station or directly up to first world hotel and it comes rather punctually about once every 30 mins and operates until midnight.

As for amenities, there is the Rajawali restaurant below that serves decent food. There is also a lounge with live music should you want to chill out in the evenings. For those who drive like we did, it's better to stay at Awana. Parking lots are far more than adequate and it's safer to travel to the peak by cable car (RM$6 per trip) and less taxing on the drivers.

The staff are also courteous and accommodating. We arrived a little earlier before the 3pm check-in time and on request, we got a high floor room. However, as the room was not cleaned by 3pm, they staff quickly gave us another room that was ready instead of making us wait. All in all, the experience that I had at Awana was and is still wonderful.

Room Tip: Request for a higher floor. Be careful when you open the sliding doors at night. Insects tend to fly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JY2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We liked the hotel very much, its pretty close to happening theme park and the first world hotel. the good thing is the proximity to genting highlands while giving you a serene feeling of being away from the din and crowd. The rooms are spacious, the staff is courteous, food options are decent, the only thing i did not like was the Indian food. It was served cold and did not taste indian at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SVE029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

My family frequent this hotel the years. We like the cool air, large rooms with twin double beds plus nice Zhi char (though overpriced) nearby.

Few things were missing this round, namely free cable car rides up and down Genting, wifi and arcade machines were removed. Somehow we couldn't help feeling that this was just to reduce cost.

The games center was run by a bunch of youth .. We were a little late and the staff made sure we knew we were holding them back from lunch .. Not great service

Stayed: March 2014
Thank ChuneKeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights, this is an old hotel, but pretty well maintained.
It's never be easy to maintain the hotel at this peak location where the temperature is low and mist is almost the whole day all year long probably.
The room has 2 queen size bed that is adequate for up to 4 person.
Breakfast was good, quite many options to choose.
Note: Awana skyway that is connected to the main Genting Highland is not going directly to the hotel. Have to walk about 20 mins from that station, is not advisable. Better take the shuttle from First World Bus terminal that runs every 30min-1hour interval. Ask the hotel staff for timetable.
Overall: Happy with the stay, out of super crowded First World.

Room Tip: It is advised to go for the tower than the villa, it is newer I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trisno W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.5 mi away
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,973 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 11 in Genting Highlands
119 reviews
4 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: £53 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Awana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing