We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location & excellent value for money”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb location & excellent value for money”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one day & had real relaxation amidst fun city. Hotel has bus services to Genting every hour so very convinient. The hotel in itself has vast golf course & picuresque view.
Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Look for golf view on tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    298
    222
    84
    72
See reviews for
381
213
17
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked a last minute stay at Awana. We have stayed here countless times and it remains the most pleasant place to stay in Genting Highlands, away from all the hustle & bustle up at the top of the hill.

Check in was swift and the front desk staff was rather friendly & helpful. She managed to get us a room despite the fact that we were attempting to check in at 11am. The room was on the 27th floor and facing the golf course & offers a splendid view from the balcony. Other than that, the room is the same as all the other rooms we stayed in. Generally, the room is comfortable but some minor wear & tear here & there which is no biggie.

The hotel was running at full capacity that night and getting a parking was a little bit more difficult than usual. The food at Flavours Cafe is still not up to par eversince they revamped the menu. The lounge still lacks the ambience we seek & breakfast at Rajawali Coffee House was less than desirable. They offer you quantity rather than quality.

Overall our stay was good with no major hiccups. Awana is undergoing refurbishment stage by stage and that is a good call by the management. I would however, recommend they speed up the works since the hotel is really quite aged & and at the rates they charge, many would expect more than what they can presently offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Jekyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and 4 days and was nicely surprised. Set away from the Resort World complex, it was nice and quiet. The room was very spacious and we were given a room 25 floors high. We overlooked the golf course and the mountain side.
The front desk staff are great and the concierge staff even better. There is no free internet at the resort, but we were given a free day use ticket from the front reception.

Breakfast was a large selection of meats, curries, salads, soups, eggs etc. If you're looking for a western style bacon and eggs you may be a little disappointed. However, the fresh fruit is delicious and there is a chef to cook your eggs just how you like them. I don't know what is streaky beef bacon, but it tasted pretty ok.

We used the complimentary shuttle bus service that connects us to First World Hotel where all the entertainment is. The shuttle service runs often but always handy to have a copy of the times. (as in the room, there is little or no information about facilities or services available at the resort. you'd need to ask the front reception each time).

I like that they had a little Korean shop (that sold beer and liquor by the bottles and flasks, which were cheaper than purchasing from the resort bar) and there was also a little convenient store both on site at the resort.

Pool was great and a fun slide for kiddies. The pool/towel guys are great and do a good job making sure that kids are behaving themselves. No pool drinks/food service but bar is nearby.

I found it a bit strange that the TV service for any station doesn't seem to switch on till 10am plus.

Room Tip: make sure to let them know it's your birthday, honeymoon etc prior to booking as you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lingading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want to travel back in time this is the place for you... The Hotel probably built in the eighties and probably never undergone a renovation.. The Staff there are courteous but just lack energy... The rooms are spacious but very very dated.. It was overall clean but the age of the carpet and the bathtub etc.. does not give you the impression


One thing great though is the rooms have great views of the greenery around..

Its location is great, as its away from the Hustle Bustle and ongoing construction of the Theme Park up in the casino area... It has hourly shuttles if you want to go up to the casino or the Indoor Theme Park or the skyway...

Room Tip: Get rooms on the Higher Floors they have fantastic views of the Golf course and the mountain range
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Me and My HUbby werr there from 5th till 8th May....
We had a great stay... at first we felt afraif thinking will the room be good and clean. The moment we walked in we felt comfortable and we loved our room with 2 big beds and the balcony view. Our electric kettle had some issues but was fixed right away. The breakfast didnt have too much varieties but we still liked it. We gotta make sure that we close the balcony sliding door or else bugs and insect comes in. Over all we had a awesome time. We liked the shuttle service. We roamed around and had a good time. :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TRi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The resort is massive and our 25th-floor room had a nice view of the mountains and the morning mist. Breakfast was filling but average. The deluxe room is very spacious compared to most hotels but it was very dated - the carpet looked musty and the entire room smelled dusty when I checked in. There were dust bunnies in several areas of the room, too. Bathroom tiles were old and stained and the shower curtain was yellowed with age. It's an ok place for a quick getaway if you're into theme parks since Genting and the soon-to-be-opened 20th Century Fox are just shuttle buses away, but wouldn't stay here again. The staff were polite and eager to please though.

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor, corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGA_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarlac, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The climate in Genting Highlands is comparable to Baguio City (Philippines). The view from our room is not that spectacular. The amenities are old and not updated. If you are a golfer and do not mind that you are far from tourist attractions, then i recommend you to stay here. But if you are a first-timer in MAlaysia, i suggest to book a hotel in KL.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Genting Highlands hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 11 in Genting Highlands
2,831 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 11 in Genting Highlands
219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#2 of 11 in Genting Highlands
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 11 in Genting Highlands
107 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
7.6 mi away
Suria Hot Spring Bentong Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing