We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Awana Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$26
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Resort World Genting(Genting Highlands)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Grand Ion Delemen Hotel(Genting Highlands)
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Theme Park Hotel(Genting Highlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maxims(Genting Highlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Genting View Resort(Genting Highlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DZH Health Resort Club(Genting Highlands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
157
309
233
92
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
309
233
92
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursecable carswimming poolfirst worldtower hoteltheme parkgohtong jayaevery hourshuttle servicegenting skywaycool breezebreakfast spreadrock climbingqueen sizespacious roomfresh airearly check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were glad that we chose to stay at Awana Hotel. It was a blessing to be attended by Rose, a very attentive and friendly reception staff at Awana. We arrived in the early morning at about 9am, we were told that they had a 100% occupancy rate the night before hence we are unable to check-in early. Instead she gave us free breakfast vouches and tended to our needs and queries. Once there was an available room, we sort us out and told us they she was able to check us in at 10am and gave us a free room upgrade! It was a real blessing to be able to rest and freshen up after the overnight bus trip up to Genting. It was a great start to our holidays.

On the whole, we enjoyed our stay there. Although the hotel is old and some of the furnishings in the room are peeling away, it was clean, comfortable and with complete amenities. The friendly staffs (esp Rose) we met at the reception really made the difference. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wish to have a relaxing and quiet trip up in Genting Highlands away from the main crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

First thing which no one mentions is that this hotel is at least 20 minutes away from the main theme park / resort. So that's a 40 MYR if you take a taxi between this hotel and the theme park. Thankfully however you can get a bus from the stand in front of One World Hotel or from the SkyWay (cable car) to get to the hotel for FREE and the buses run from 11 am - 6.30 am.

Now onto the review:

I booked this resort thanks to trip advisor's community. Genting Grand was booked and this was second best.

Possibly the best decision i could have have taken for Genting especially since i was travelling with my very mature folks.

Other reviewers are right that the hotel looks old. It's made of wood from a time long ago and that age is showing. However it's very well maintained and the facilities are decent.

We were checked in by Rose who gave us (what i think) were some of the best rooms in the house on the 555XX levels. The views from the rooms were fantastic and the sleep was one of the best i've had given how calm it was.The room itself was not 5-star level but given you're paying 3 star rates (i paid about 90 USD), that was expected and for the value for money it was more than a great value.

Food here was mixed. The variety at breakfast e.g. is huge but not all the dishes are amazing. You really have to pick your way through the maze. However Flavors (the cafe) has amazing fish and chips and fantastic burgers. There's also a bar where all i saw were FIFA fans thronging the place. At intervals you have statues, fountains, even a small pond dotting the place.

Swimming pool here has a Jacuzzi for kids and a water slide.

The resort itself is huge. The hiking alone will leave you breathless from the distance and you have facilities from Abseiling to Horses being available here. Buggy rides around the resort are fantastic. There's also a mini-mart here open till 1 am which stocks all basic necessities.

Golf course here is fantastic.

Best of all you're a stone's throw away from Strawberry Park and other attractions in Genting.

Overall, a fantastic value for money and defintely very highly recommended for those people who wish to escape the noise and hustle bustle of the theme park.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. My friend and I were there for six nights and from day one it was terrible. Older rooms furnished with old fittings and furniture - the shower was a danger. The food was atrocious - no Western menu in the dining room whatsoever. Was told by staff the hotel catered for cheap package holidays from Asia hence the poor quality of food with no choice whatsoever. Asked daily to speak to Guest Relations Manager - Heads of Departments. Finally saw General Manager one hour before leaving and was promised a complete refund and given a letter to claim from Asia Rooms (who I booked with). After ten days of trying to follow this up and obtain the refund a now told this will not be given. Don't stay at this Hotel you will certainly be disappointed.

Room Tip: A very very disappointing holiday staying at this old terrible hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my family and I think this is big and great hotel even bit old. All smooth from check in until check out. We arrived to this hotel by shuttle bus from skyway station and its free. And also there's free shuttle bus to first world hotel/theme Parks and casino every hour. Staff are nice, rooms are clean with comfotable queen beds. We got 25th floor rooms and view was so amazing.
Kettle for boiling water, coffee, tea, soap, etc ate available just like other hotels. Breakfast was good with many variants menu but unfortunately breads and small short cakes were disappointing me.Gym and swimming pools looks nice. Theres small gift shop and mini mart with hot water which was very helpful. Can buy cup noodle or snack if bored with restaurant in hotel because can't found other place to eat around this hotel.
This hotel doesn't have room service so I have had to go downstairs to restaurant for order food. I saw that restaurant have many staff but none cant help bring food to room. Very disappointed.

Have fun ♥

Room Tip: I prefer to have room with mountain view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had small kids and we have reached Genting @10AM. The hotel staff was great and they obliged us with an early check-in. Our room was on the 23rd floor and had a great view of the golf course. I would highly recommend this hotel to all in case you are looking for some peace and serenity....little away from the hustle bustle of Genting. The good part is that you get a free shuttle ride every hour to go to the indoor theme parks and amusement places...so no worry on the commutation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Namita270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews