We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid during festival session”
Review of Awana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Awana Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Avoid during festival session”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Cost me ringgit 504 with an average hotel facilities during our last min booking at this hotel. Room was clean & comfortable with great mountain view facing the Genting Highland hotel. Minus point was I need to fork out extra charges if I'm gonna to access to internet. There wasn't any free wi-fi even at the hotel lobby. They should provide at least provide a free internet access for the hotel guest at the lobby area.

There will be a free 24hr bus service to the Casino hotel and the journey will took you 15-20 min to reach the mountain top. The amusement park is still under revamp and it will be re-open in 2016.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyeheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    292
    218
    81
    72
See reviews for
375
209
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Awana is my favourite hotel of the many in Genting to choose from. The location is great, the views spectacular, and also has a golf course there, which is great so you don't have to travel too far if for tee off. The hotel is now a little bit old and could do with some refurbishment though. Service is great, and everyone is pretty friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLD8383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Would suggest this hotel if you are looking for good view with fun activities & decent connectivity to top of Genting highlands. Was surprised with the heated swimming pool, it was really unexpected. Service was also pretty good.
Has tennis courts, 9 hole golf course and a bus every hour to take you to Cable car.

Room Tip: Any room should give a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankit1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Good view from the condos facing golf ground. I am staying with my two kids and wife. My daughter is only 2 yrs. The hotel claims to be a 5 star!!!!!!! As per the service concern.....they are very very average. No room service, even they denied to provide us dinner plates in room. To much business minded. You can't expect a homely environment. They seem to give their life for the people from middle east (in search of petro $ may be). Don't know why. But room is good. A little old though. And they have nice shuttle service to first world hotel and genting skyway. The behave of the staff (not all but maximum) is like just an average motel, not even a hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rupokrahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

So i've only ever been to Genting's 3 times, stayed once at the First World hotel, 2nd time at one of those creepy run down apartments and this time at Awana.
Firstly, the room rates are great as you pay the price of a double room with breakfast, and get a room with 2 queen sized beds. No doubt the hotel is old, but it was clean enough for a weekend stay. The breakfast spread has a good variety of local cuisine not so much international/western food. The pool was supposedly heated but it isnt really that heated, just not as cold as normal pools. They also provide a shuttle to and fro (check their schedule) right up to Gentings or to the cable car (Skyway). Also very close proximity (around 5 minutes) drive to Gohtong Jaya for food, their in house cafe next to the pool was not bad either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becksangel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The resort is excellent, i got it booked from RCI for 4 nights.. Room was excellent ,had a partial kitchen. Staff is generous . Room needs a bit of renovation but still satisfactory. There is small grocery store at entry and it has got all the essential stuffand overall i would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aakarshan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed three nights mid-week during Ramadan.

The room was generous in space with a nice garden view outside. Unfortunately it really was in need of a makeover. Nothing was terrible but the wooden furniture was quite badly scratched and would have been replaced some time ago in a Hotel of a Western standard. Bathroom was also quite tired.

We were there off season so the hotel was quiet. The grounds are very relaxing and one can do a range of walks. There were also a few monkeys, birds and squirrels around the grounds which were entertaining. The pool is nice and there is a good bar/cafe area nearby which was a godsend. During Ramadan the main restaurant (Rajawala) only served a Ramadan banquet from 6 to 9:30pm so the Flavours cafe was the only other option. However the cafe served a good range of food including a nice range of quality Western food, cake and coffee at very reasonable prices eg top of the range was 400 MYR ($12) for a quality imported steak.

Breakfast was relatively lacking in choice for a Westerner. The breads were generally quite hard - not sure if that is style or staleness and the tea and coffee were instant. Not quite the grade for a 4/5 star hotel. What we did is get the free bus up to the top of the Genting Highlands (cable car was being serviced) which had a huge range of quality food.

Some of the service wasn't as good as it could be including the laundry where we had to chase up whether our clothes were ready more than 24 hours after we put them in.

Still overall we would have gladly stayed another day to further enjoy the environment and wide range of activities that were available. The weather also is a welcome respite being a bit cooler than KL but not in the clouds as the top of Genting was most of the time we were there.

Room Tip: The condos are downstairs rather than in the tower itself. Plenty of space and v reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jastogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
2.1 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,782 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
189 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.9 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#2 of 10 in Genting Highlands
183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awana Hotel

Property: Awana Hotel
Address: Km 13, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Awana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in five-star luxury while taking in breathtaking views of a majestic mountain range landscape within the comforts of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Awana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Genting Highlands Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Hotel Genting Highlands
Awana Resort Genting Highlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing