We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
eDreams
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,403)
Filter reviews
3,403 results
Traveller rating
425
1,015
1,241
361
361
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
425
1,015
1,241
361
361
Show reviews that mention
All reviews world club room outdoor theme park water dispenser new tower cable car weather sky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,322 - 2,327 of 3,403 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Booked Superior instead of World Club this time round... Room was at Tower 2, a bit far from lobby, i prefer Tower 1.... Room was ok, very basic..... Flat pillows...... And bed wise, you can feel the spring/coil when you flip... LOL.... You need to call the reception if you need a hair dryer...... With the price difference of only SGD30 per night, i will book world club if i ever go genting again though......

BTW, no WI-FI in room.....



*There's a hair salon between Tower 1 & Tower 2, called Beauty First...... Seriously, not recommended at all as their charges were exorbitant.... Why do i say that ? Because i paid RM105 (USD33) for a wash & blow service. I don't know bout you guys but a wash & blow in malaysia usually costs about RM35-RM50 (maximum price but rarely come across) and RM105 is ridiculous..... Perhaps you may say that i should check the price before i go in but then, that doesn't mean it is right to make people pay that much.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivonneloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We booked Superior room , it was fairly nice .
Check-in took 30min even though it has many people queing up, check-out more easier using the kiosk machine,just put your room card, very easy.
Nice hill view from our room.
We left our bags with the trolley man outside and took a card, after check-in he brought them to the room. Check-out the same.

The negatives:
1- Overcrowded breakfast area, fried eggs smell...
2- Room cleanliness should be better.
We should have booked World Club,since it has private check-in and breakfast area.

Room tip: corner rooms smaller but has windows on 2 walls giving cool relaxing air flow. Book World Club,since it has private check-in and breakfast area, more spacious.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Went over to Genting over the weekend in July 2012.

It has the most number of rooms for a hotel, and it shows, especially in the lobby. If you're a World Club member, it's a lot faster and easier to check in -- i suspect you might get better rooms too, after reading some of the other reviews.

We stayed at Tower 1, 15 floor. No problems with the cleanliness of the room. Super basic facilities, two single beds, flatscreen tv (with no remote! we checked with housekeeping -- the hotel doesn't provide any remote, so you'd have to get up and change channels), no wardrobe, just a rail with hangers, separate shower and toilet area.

They also give you an empty jug and 2 glasses, and you have to go out to the common area (usually near the lifts or at the intersection) where there are hot/cold water dispensers. No wifi or broadband available either.

I suspect the hotel wants everyone to move to either to casinos or themeparks, hence, there was no attempt at making the room more inviting... That said, the themeparks were kinda fun. There is a large indoor themepark on the second floor, and the outdoor themepark with more rides are just outside.

First world hotel is also linked to the other hotels and resorts by a covered walkway, so if you want to check out the other casinos/fairs/shops, it's super easy.

Checkout is super simple because there are no chargeable items in the room. Just pack and go down to the lobby where there is a self-checkout machine for you to return your keycard.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Omithe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Well, this was our 3rd stay at the First World in as many years, and it continues to be a great 3-star hotel, if I may refer to it so..

The reason for giving it 5 stars is not because it's a 5-star hotel, but because its a 5 star rated 3-star hotel! 6000 rooms on top of a cliff amidst the clouds and natural dense rain forests is amazing enough to get to Genting Highlands!

When - we stayed for 2 nights in April 2012.

Booking - we booked directly on the official website of www.rwgenting.com and got the best deal of MYR 140 per night without breakfast for the deluxe room. If you are looking for something better, then you can try the Club rooms, otherwise the Deluxe was fine, and frankly there isn't too much difference even between the deluxe and superior deluxe rooms, so save the MYR!

Arrival - we took the www.aerobus.my from LCCT airport to First world, and then back from First world to lcct. A return trip cost us MYR 63 and we booked online about 3 weeks in advance. The aerobus was pretty much on time. I would however recommend a 1-way cable car ride, which is excellent!

Rooms - fine, does the job, in room safe and tea/ coffee faclities are given. There's no need of an air-con in Genting, such is the cool wonderful climate. Bathroom was small but fine, carry your own extra soap if needed, beds are okay and clean. TV yes with limited channels.

Food and water - there are many hot and cold water dispenser outside in the hallways. We used hot water from this, boiled it further in the in-room heating flasks, and made coffee and tea from this.

TIP - bottled water is very very expensive in Genting, so pick up two or three 2-litre mineral water bottles from the store at the airports or KL city.

Check-in - this can vary really depending upon time of arrival. Once we checked-in in under 10 minutes, this time due to the rush it did take us about 30-40 minutes.

Check-out - is the quickest anywhere in the world in any hotel!!! You just give your key card to the ladies standing at the check-out kiosks. As simple as that!

If you have big sized luggage you cant carry it onto the cable cars. you can book this 2-way either at the skyway station at the base, or upon your check out just outside the lobby of the First world hotel, but do this before 11 am.

The first world hotel is located where all the action is. The Theme park hotel which is the other choice is too far out, smaller and there's nothing next to it. Don't expect the Marriott at the First world because it does not potray itself to be one, and you will be fine.

It's a fine and comfortable family stay. Just ask for rooms at the mid-level, between floors 9-20. Above 20 and the lifts take ages!!

Highly recommended for the budget traveller, and even families and couples.

Enjoy!

Room tip: between floors 9-20, try for the newer wing if available
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2012

You have to give it to the creators of the First World Hotel for having 6118 rooms and making it to Ripley's and Guinness World Records for having the most rooms in a Hotel. If you go there, expect no room service and the atmosphere is like a bus station/train station. Go there not for the stay but to roam around in Genting and the theme park right at the foot of the Hotel. The rooms were booked for us by some agent and we had two single cots put together. The rooms were too tiny that there was hardly any space left to move around and the bathroom did not have separate dispensers/tubes for shampoos, conditioner, hand soap. Instead at both the wash basin and also within the shower area, there was just one wall attached dispenser that read "Shampoo+Conditioner+Soap". I dreaded using that on my hair. Expect not much in terms of room service. For refilling water there are bays outside in the corridor that dispense Hot and Cold Water. Use the bottles provided in the room to fill them. There was no bath tub in our room. We had breakfast at the First World Cafe, there is an awesome plethora of choices like in our breakfast buffet, there were special counters for Jain food (vegetarian food) that was segregated by side from the non-vegetarian food. Eggs are made on the fly. It is like a 1000 seater room. The lobby is like a train station with token numbers and a waiting area for everything. Check-out is fast and you just place your card into a Swipe Machine, no waiting in queues for the same.

Besides all the limitations, the Hotel is one you must definitely see as it is beautiful like made of Lego blocks with a melange of colors from blue, red, yellow and green in all shades.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DJZ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews