We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was promising until the motorcycle gang showed up at 1am”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We moved over from Maxims and were happy that this hotel had been renovated and was cleaner except for the worn carpet and the chairs and side table which had seen better days. The bathroom was much better than Maxims too so we were quite contented. At approximately midnight we decided to turn in. Shortly after, gangs and I mean gangs of motorcycles arrived and there were shouts, hoots, yells, loud laughter etc etc that went on along with loud revving of engines while they went around in circles. It was impossible to sleep. I called up reception to complain and the lady said she could hear them and they come every Saturday night. And that the noise affects mainly those on the lower floors. I was on level 3. Needless to say, I couldn't sleep not even after they left because there was a constant flow of cars revving their engines up the mountain right last the hotel. It was a real nightmare. I've never been in a hotel where there is just so much noise and the windows weren't double glazed or anything down to keep the noise out. The curtains too were too thin to be of any use. First and last time in this hotel, very sad to say. The other down side is that there is wifi only in the lobby. None in the room. But at least it had LCD TVs, unlike Maxims which still has the CRT ones!

Room Tip: Find another hotel that is away from the road and has wifi in the rooms. But skip Maxims.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Resort Hotel Genting Highlands
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

The old saying- "you get what you pay for"- and this applies here. We stayed in April for only one night - The room was a long way from amusements and other etc. Genting is going through some major renovations so there was a lot of building going on. Overall for the money it was fine - breakfast was YUK though. Mainly asian food and I really cant stomach spicy food first thing in the morning :).
The casinos are busy.Take your passport with you if you want to gamble as they will give you a temporary cash card and need ID. There is no alcohol served in the casino's anymore either. You have to buy them from the overpriced bars and restaurants outside the casino's.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on 6th June 2014. Basically for the price we paid for during peak season, this hotel offers a very little beside a sleeping place. Bed are not really good, but the room is considered reasonably clean. Nothing fancy about this hotel anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewchengyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

My husband, two children and I stayed for two nights. We requested for the double bedded room. The two super-single sized beds were just nice for the four of us. Bathroom was clean and furnishing quite new. Overall, the room was comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Rawsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel options are poor in genting. In my opinion, this is already the best hotel option here. Inreached genting early, and they the service staff was nice to try to get us a room early even though the check in time is in afternoon. This was reallt appreciated.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank JC_5382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here many times in a year and mostly for 1-2nights with our family. This hotel is good with nice, modern rooms (those that has underwent refurbishment). The only negative thing is that during their on-going big renovation, we had a bad experience in March but luckily just a night stay and we had 2 rooms on the 2nd floor. There were plenty of bugs and insects surfacing on the beds, tables and practically everywhere after 1.00am in the morning. We requested a change of rooms with the front desk and initially we were told that the hotel were fullybooked and no rooms available for the change. They even sent 2 representatives to check on our rooms to ensure whatever we claimed were true. We were then relocated to 4th floor within 30mins. And the 2 rooms were fine.
Our last few stay in this hotel were fine and very good. And we requested for higher floors now after that experience. Will definitely stay again if not given a room below 4th floor (specially not a room on the 2nd floor).

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed a night last Friday. Been a while since last visit. So it came as a little surprise that the hotel is better than expected. Refurbished, even if the carpeting still really looks like it was a leftover from a bygone era. Not as spartan as I expected. The TV was a decent size and not CRT, which was what was in First World Hotel couple of years back. The room actually had amenities - ironing board, complimentary coffee and decent beds. The bathroom actually looked like it was a hotel bathroom! The bath towel quality is still not there, but overall it went well.

Room Tip: Choose the mountain view!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urns388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Genting Highlands
0.3 mi away
First World Hotel
First World Hotel
#4 of 10 in Genting Highlands
2,863 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
Best Western Premier Ion Delemen
#3 of 10 in Genting Highlands
237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Genting Grand
Genting Grand
#1 of 10 in Genting Highlands
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maxims
Maxims
#5 of 10 in Genting Highlands
112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Colmar Tropicale, Berjaya Hills
1.8 mi away
Awana Hotel
Awana Hotel
#6 of 10 in Genting Highlands
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Hotel Genting Highlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Hotel Genting Highlands

Address: Genting Highlands Resort, Genting Highlands 69000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Pahang > Genting Highlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Genting Highlands
Price Range: £14 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Hotel Genting Highlands 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Hotel projects a sense of freshness with its bright and stylish modern decor. Set amidst the cool comfort and majestic landscape, this hotel also offers a wide range of amenities and facilities, both for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Resort Hotel Genting Highlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Genting Highlands
Genting Highlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing