We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blood on pillows”

Western Budget Motel Ponoka
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ponoka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Western Budget Motel Ponoka
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ponoka
Stettler, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blood on pillows”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We booked a room in this hotel and the initial appearance seamed tolerable. When i went to the room there was urine all over the toilet and a 12" blood stain on one of the pillows. I will never stay at a Western Budget ever again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Barrett N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
1
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have family in Ponoka and try to make it at least once per year. We stayed here last year when they first opened and were very impressed with the size of the rooms and the comfort of the beds and having a fireplace was an added bonus. The rooms do have tacky lamps tho :)
The thing I'm finding with this trip though is that whatever cleaning product they use - it's very strong and has a imitation vanilla scent that is hard on my head. I've tried opening the windows and turning down the heat but it's in everything.
All in all it's not a bad place and will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed there last night, not only did they over charge us and would not give us the our money back... it was 20$ they over charged and the customer service was horrible...the beds were harder than a floor! Also very unprofessional personal who were sleeping at 2 in the afternoon and we had to wait for them to wake before we could finish our check in! Breakfast consisted of stale cereal, muffins, bagels... nothing was fresh and no fruit or anything!

I'm not one to bash hotels but this one was the worst I've ever stayed at! And I would avoid it at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alykkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WesternBudgetMotel, Manager at Western Budget Motel Ponoka, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
For the record,
The rate charged was the same rate everyone pays for a room with 2 queen beds, which as this guest was informed upon check in (without a reservation) was the most basic room we had available as we were sold out of single rooms for the night. The rate was charged as it was listed on the registration card that the guest signed upon check in. The guest was aware of this and only attempted to get a discount after checking out. The discount was never promised, the guest knew the rate and therefore the guest was not overcharged as stated. The beds are memory foam mattresses and while firm they are high end and very comfortable. The breakfast is a cold service and admittedly does not include fruit, but stock is refreshed and rotated on a regular basis to ensure freshness. The 30 second wait for an off duty manager to ensure a correction had been made properly was to ensure quality of service and should not be considered an inconvenience as it was done for the benefit of the guest. We pride ourselves on the level of service we provide and the cleanliness of our rooms and property and strive to make each and every guest as comfortable as possible, but as this review shows not every person can be pleased every time. We ask that you judge us on your personal experience and not on the one negative review of a guest who feels they are entitled to pay a discounted rate for a room that is fairly priced and offers excellent value for your hard earned dollars.
Best regards,

Motel Management
Western Budget Ponoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponoka
0.5 mi away
Canalta Ponoka
Canalta Ponoka
#2 of 3 in Ponoka
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stampeder Inn
Stampeder Inn
#1 of 3 in Ponoka
50 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lacombe Motor Inn
Lacombe Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Lacombe
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Budget Motel Ponoka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Budget Motel Ponoka

Property: Western Budget Motel Ponoka
Address: 4205 - 64 Street, Hwy 2A, Ponoka, Alberta T4J 1J8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Ponoka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ponoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
24 Hour laundry, change machines and ATM in the lobby, indoor salt water pool, ice machine on the main floor, pop and snack vending machines on the main floor, small selection of arcade games, complimentary Wi-Fi, daily continental breakfast, electrical outlets provided for your vehicle. All rooms have A/C units, gas fireplaces, kitchenettes with full sized fridges/stoves, 42" flat screen TVs and memory foam mattresses. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing