We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Part of an Algonquin Adventure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Arlington Hotel
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
237 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Perfect Part of an Algonquin Adventure!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

I wanted to do a couple of the hikes in Algonquin, but since I was solo I did not relish the thought of setting up camp. So, I did the next logical thing - I booked a couple of nights here. I was pleasantly surprised by the hostel! It is in an old building, seemingly basic on the outside, but quite lovely on the inside. The rooms are nice, as are the bathrooms and kitchen, and everything is very clean. There is also a sunny lounge area and a second-floor veranda you can sit out on and chill. The owner, Tom, was quite nice...very well-informed about the area and very enthusiastic about the abundance of activities. He has travelled extensively himself, so he is well-versed with the average budget traveller. I highly recommend this hostel to those wanting to visit the park on a budget without camping. The park itself is just gorgeous...my favourite hike was the Centennial Ridges Trail, which is about 10.5 kilometres. Just lovely! P.S. If you can, at least bring your basic stuff...the little store across the street from the hostel is quite expensive (but cute!).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TanyaM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
7
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

This is a hostel and hotel (it's also known as the Arlington Hotel), in Maynooth, a tiny town that has more than its share of art galleries and antique shops, and is in an exceptionally beautiful part of Ontario. Don't be fooled by the exterior appearance of the building - it's clean and tidy inside and your hosts, Tom Newman and his mom, Nancy, are welcoming and brimming with ideas for things to do in the area, including hiking, swimming, canoeing, kayaking and biking. Inexpensive dorm style rooms are available or you can reserve a private room for considerably less than you would pay for a room in a motel or a B & B. There is a kitchen that is available to all guests, and though it sometimes gets a bit crowded in there it's a good place to meet the international hosteling crowd that passes through. There is also a comfortable TV room, an outdoor deck, and free Wi-Fi. Whether you are are a lone traveler or bringing your family along, he Algonquin Hostel is a great place stay to explore this remarkably beautiful part of Canada.

Room Tip: Contact Tom in advance of arriving to discuss the type of room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfallariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

Myself and a friend were travelling North America and decided to get the Greyhound from Toronto to Maynooth. We stepped off the coach and Algonquin backpackers was directly across the road.
Tom (the owner) was extremely helpful and looked after us the full 4 nights that we were there.
I miss Maynooth and Algonquin backpackers immensely. Our room was cute and comfortable. Very clean and welcoming.
Tom even took us canoeing, which was beautiful!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayleyandmarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Maynooth hostel originally only planning to stay for two or three nights. We ended up staying a week and wishing we didn't have to ever leave!! We had a wonderful experience and met some lovely people who we are still good friends with now. Our host Tom was lovely, very welcoming and unassuming. He made us aware of all that was available to do and took us on a day hike, canoeing and bike rides. He was very informative and we really enjoyed talking to him and taking in what he had to say about the area. The park itself is beautiful and we really felt as though we could spend all our time there. There is just so much to see and do!!!
The hostel has a calm homey feel to it and is well maintained and clean. The rooms are spacious and very affordable, only $18 a night. The kitchen is small but well equipped and has everything you need. The hostel is lovely - perfect for a romantic getaway or an exciting outdoor adventure!

I would definitely recommend staying here and I know that we will be back.

Thank you Tom for such a great time!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here for a night before our spring camping trip in Algonquin Park. We wanted something close, cheap and decent, and we were not disappointed. If anything, it exceeded our expectations. Quality was quite good for hostel accommodation: it was clean and comfortable, the service was friendly and personal, and the building had lots of character compared with the "motor lodge"-style accommodations you normally get on the outskirts of Algonquin. It was surprisingly quiet when we were there (spring is the ideal time for visiting the park) and we felt like we had the place to ourselves.There's a pub on the ground floor, which is a nice touch. It has potential but, sadly, it was completely dead on the Friday night we were there. However, it was nice to get a cold beer after the drive up from Toronto.

Overall, we were quite happy with our night there. It was clean, reliable and very good value. Potentially an interesting place during the busier periods.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicosanfear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

After about a week in big cities like Nw York and Toronto we wanted to get out in to nature. Traveling by Greyhound Bus we were bond to their schedule, hence, we found this HI-hostel. The bus stops right in front of the place which is in the town centre. As we wrote in an other article, the town is not very big!

The place is run by Tom and his mother. He is a friendly guy caring well for his guests. The building is pretty run down, but that seems to quite common in Canada. However, Tom cares very much about cleanness.

The prices are great and worth the stay!

Algonquin Park is close by and there is much to do around town. Tom offers really good rental bikes for a 5 $, half a day (July 2010) or a 20 $ week flat. He has canoe, kayaks and advices people on hikes. He even does guided tours.

By the way - internet is available.

It's worth a visit and a stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sea2sky_org
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2007

I stayed at this hostel for a pretty long time because I was doing a work exchange there. Algonquine backpackers is really confortable. Even though the building is fairly old, the rooms and the bathrooms are well cleaned. The hosts there are so helpful that they provide us with necessay information, and take us to great trips to beautiful Algonquine Park. They sometimes have concerts at the hostel's bar, which are fantastic. Also, people living in the town Maynooth, where the hostel is, are friendly and very nice.
This hostel is really international, so people from many various countries stay there. We can enjoy not only the beautiful nature but also communicating with travelers from various countries.
I really enjoyed my stay there. the summer I stayed there was one of my best times in my life.

  • Liked — the friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — bugs
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CGfromJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maynooth
10.7 mi away
Bancroft Inn & Suites
Bancroft Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Bancroft
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sword Motor Inn
Sword Motor Inn
#2 of 4 in Bancroft
3.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
10.5 mi away
Madawaska Lodge
Madawaska Lodge
#1 of 4 in Madawaska
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Trails Edge Bed & Breakfast
9.0 mi away
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
Algonquin Eco-Lodge
#3 of 15 in Algonquin Provincial Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
21.5 mi away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arlington Hotel

Property: The Arlington Hotel
Address: 32990 Highway 62, Maynooth, Ontario K0L 2S0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Maynooth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Maynooth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arlington Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Algonquin Backpackers Hostel is now The Arlington Hotel! New owners, but still the same great place, and in the same great south Algonquin location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your The Arlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arlington Hotel Maynooth, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing