We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly French experience”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A truly French experience”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have stayed at this lovely chateau several times and just love the peaceful setting and the way in which modern comfort has been introduced discreetly without ruining the historic ambience of the main building and the beautiful surrounding park.

Set in a pretty village just to the south of Epernay, in Champagne, it is a great place from which to visit vineyards, and there are even a couple of champagne producers' 'caves' within walking distance of the hotel.

The restaurant, which serves excellent food, is adjacent to the main building, but the breakfast room is in the chateau itself, as are two comfortable lounges. On sunny evenings aperitifs are served on an elegant terrace just outside the restaurant. The staff are all very efficient, friendly and helpful.

If your purse permits, ask for a room in the chateau because the rooms there are furnished with an eye to period detail in such a way that you can imagine yourself back in time. The rooms we have had all looked out on the fountains in the park to the rear of the building. It is true that there is no lift, as another reviewer has pointed out, but you will be able to have help in carrying your luggage up the magnificent marble staircase.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandicoot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for this wonderful and detailed comment on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to share your experience with us!

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. Your enthusiasm for our team is very much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation. I will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon to the Chateau d'Etoges!

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    355
    83
    43
    11
See reviews for
137
799
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a superb find. You drive off the beaten road arrive at a very small village and somehow buried in the middle is the chateau. The building is a picture and although the restaurant is separate and at first glance a bore as you have to walk down or across to it since there was no rain it was rather fun.Sort of going out to dinner rather than eating in the Hotel.
Our room was a very good shape and the receptionist was truly welcoming and helpful.
However it was the dinner and the eating that starred. Our Man in charge was a delight to watch in action. Top skill that showed years of attentive training and interest. I do not think I have ever being served from the cheese board by a man holding three equally spaced knives in his left hand before., The meal was proper old French in style and presentation and serious and very good.; The wine list assumed you knew a great deal. So in a few words if you are close to Epernay or Rheims this should be on your list especially if you want a break from a modern designer 5 star Hotel.. We will go back again ... Honest!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeremyC506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you very much for your warm comment about your last visit in the Château d'Etoges. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your moment among us.

Our Head-Waiter, Jérome and his team are delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner with us and especialy his dexterity in the cheese board service. I will not miss to share your supportive interest to the entire Chateau d'Etoges team.

Next time you will be in Champagne, do not hesitate to test our Spa and Fleurs de Bach treatments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chard
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for a romantic 3 days in October. The region is beautiful and we would definitely come back.

The chateau is very nice too look, shame that the moat was empty. The free bicycle hire is great. We stayed in the Orangery. The room was very basic for the money. No fridge, awful lumpy pillows that left us both with crooked necks and just a bit tired in terms of decor.

The restaurant was nice. Severe lack of vegetables, with any of the main courses. The cheese was amazing though.

Check in lady was delightful. Younger waiters/waitresses good and knowledgeable, older ones a bit stuffy margining on cheeky.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent romantic stay with us at the Chateau d’Etoges.

It was indeed a pleasure to read that you were overall satisfied with our beautiful region, the chateau, our reception staff and our young team in restaurant.

I was however concerned about your comment about the pillow and I have asked to the housekeeper to check all the pillows in the Orangerie bedrooms.

Concerning the “lack of vegetables”, if you mean a lack of variety of vegetable, I am a little bit surprised because with main course, we serve at your convenience green vegetable, carrot, artichoke, fennel, Swiss chard... so you can have a large choice of vegetables. But, if you mean a lack of quantity of vegetable, I regret that you do not have informed a waiter because we would have been pleased to serve you some more vegetables.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Etoges. Maybe on that occasion you would like to try one of our Privilege room in the Chateau.

Best regards.

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

This is a very beautiful Chateau located in a small town. Right in the middle of the champagne region,it is a wonderful place to start a tour of the vineyards. We had a beautiful room overlooking a pasture. The staff was very helpful. Their is a fabulous gourmet restaurant on the premises. One note no elevator in the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BJ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The accommodations are stunning. Walking around the beautiful castle and grounds is like travelling in time. The furnishings seem authentically old and are both elegant and comfortable: it was like staying at an aristocrat’s home, unlike many of the renovated chateaux around France that have become too sleek and inauthentic. The staff is very good--kind and discrete. Our problem--which will NOT prevent us from returning--is the price of beverages: 9 Euros for a glass of champagne that sells, in this region, for 15 Euros a bottle. 6 Euros for a coffee, very, very few wines on the wine list in the restaurant for under 75 Euros. Of course, you do pay more to be in such a beautiful setting but still. Even the restaurant didn't seem excessive (45 and 55 euro menus for lovely food) but feeling rather ripped off by price of drinks slightly spoiled the experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PacoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of the Chateau d'Etoges!

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the grounds, our accomodation, the authentic furnishing, our staff and our food... thank you.

However, I am concerned by your remark about the price of drinks, we will of course take your remarks in consideration.

Nevertheless, I have double checked our wine rates because I can not believe that "very, very few wines on the wine list in (are) under 75 Euros" and I would like to rectify this because we have more than 235 different wines under 75 euros (for me it is not very, very few, but a lot...) and even more than 145 different wines under 49 euros ;-)

We all look forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future.

Sincerely yours,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I wanted to stay in a Chateau while in France and Etoge didn't disappoint. yes its very old and some of the rooms are a bit small but thats the charm of this Chateau.I was excited it had a moat (could use a bit more water) and theres plenty of garden area to walk in.the breakfast is plentiful,the staff very helpful but the best thing i did was book the Gastronomie for 2..wow i cannot speak more highly of the restaurant, the Lobster tail,the presentation,service, palate clenzers,cheese trolley and of course the 4 wines to match,its not cheap but i can tick off one of my bucket list items! its only 10-15 minutes drive to Epernay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thommoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were very disappointed when we had booked to go to Chateau d'Etoges but had to cancel because of illness and the hotel instead of being understanding and giving us a chance to re-book, charged us for the night we couldn't be there. However after writing about this on Tripadvisor, a manager contacted us to explain that there had been a misunderstanding by a member of staff. We have now re-arranged our stay and are looking forward to enjoying our visit there as we had hoped to before. We're happy that Chateau d'Etoges cared enough to put the problem right.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 956Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
485 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#10 of 14 in Epernay
197 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
192 reviews
12.0 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Property: Chateau D'Etoges
Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing