We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sixteenth Century beauty”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Sixteenth Century beauty”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights just after Easter this year to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary - we opted to take the gastronomic meal (8/9 courses) for the 2nd night. When booking the anniversary was mentioned, but arrival there was no inkling that this was the case and in fact throughout our stay I was expecting the unexpected which was not forthcoming.
That having been said, the Hotel is located in a lovely spot and is well maintained - the only criticism is that the bedroom floors upstairs were so highly polished that walking on the floors without shoes was quite lethal.
Our room overlooked the back of the Chateau and that was fine, short of the fact that the fountains run all night and this can be quite intrusive.
The Gastronomic meal was excellent especially the Turbot, but I felt that the cost of half bottles was a bit steep and need to be revised a little.
Would I stay there again, if given the chance I certainly would, but I would take a package with breakfast included.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs then book in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reikiman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    337
    79
    42
    11
See reviews for
131
770
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Fabulous place! You must stay there for at least one night. It is one of the nicest places I have never seen. The rooms are nice but very rustique style so don't expect something very impresive there. What is really impressive is the garden, the Chateau itself and of course the service like in a five star hotel.
Prices are quite high but definitly worthy. The only downside for us was the breakfast, not really a lot of choices for food, no capucchino for me and the worst of all a terrible Champagne, it is hard to understand how being in the land of Champagne and having so many wonderful option they choose such an insipide drink, but oh well that s not that bad I guess ; )

Room Tip: Dont take the smallest rooms, go for the second category and you will get most value for the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CintiaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in the attic room of this chateau, so I was expecting it to be a bit pokey, but it was really lovely, enough space, beautiful views, and really great service. I'd highly recommend the chateau to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriet c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place! It's as impressive as the pictures show! We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights here, although there were a few little creature comforts missing. The bed sloped inwards so we kept rolling into each other in the night and the lighting in the rooms is very dim. But we loved our view of the moat and the charm of staying in such a fabulous building. The breakfasts were excellent, and good value if you indulge in the champagne. The restaurant meals were superb, particularly the cheese trolley - although expensive - our food bill was as big as our accommodation bill! A good place to visit the region from, but there's not much in Etoges itself, which means you need to drive everywhere.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Alison,

I would like to thank you for your kind comments following your recent visit of 3 nights at the Chateau d'Etoges.

Our team is delighted to read your impressions and we have take note of your others remarks.

Hope to welcome you again in Champagne region

Best Regards,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I went with another couple and we were determined to enjoy ourselves on our short break. We picked this Chateau as it looked so impressive on the website. We had a suite and our friends had a good size room in the main part of the building, both were satisfactory but not exceptional, our bathroom could have been more inviting, however it was adequate.
We dined at the restaurant which was in a separate building just across the forecourt from the Chateau. The experience was of mixed emotions, the food itself was fantastic, so very well done to the team in the kitchen, the portions looked quite modest in size, but in truth they were so beautifully cooked and presented that we were all very, very well fed. However an integral and very important part of a great dining experience is provided by the serving staff, it was here that we could have become disappointed, had we let it affect us. Only two of us opted for a dessert, which we were asked to order with our main meal, as apparently we may choose something that would take a long time to prepare! When mine arrived, although quite small it was delicious, when my wife decided to try one small corner of the biscuit from my plate, the waiter informed her that it was 'forbidden' for her to try any of it as she had not ordered a dessert. We passed it off, but he was serious. When the cheeseboard came, there was a modest selection to choose from, I asked for Epoisse and was given a piece about the size of a teaspoon, that was €15 I believe, another in our party asked to try a variety and was told she could have 5 small pieces. On seeing the selection our friend was given we asked, while the waiter was still at the table, if my small piece of cheese could be added to, we were told 'I have finished with him he has had what he wanted.' Two very small pieces were begrudgingly added to my plate after the ladies decided they wanted to make a statement about it. The young waitress who attended us looked after us very well, but the male waiters came across poorly. Even the wine waiter was less than helpful, we chose a bottle of red and a white to start with and asked if he would recommend them, he just dismissively said 'it's your choice'
So would any of us go back? Well ......No! But in fairness that was our experience and you might have a better one. There are so many similar places to go and being in a friendly environment counts for a lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GunterMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Sir GunterMorrow,

We received your very detailled comments concerning your visit in Chateau d'Etoges and let us thank you.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed a lot our French Cuisine and the service of our waitress.

I am sorry to hear your feeling about the cheese trolley service and I regret the misunderstanding about the order: if you take menu, the cheese trolley is included, but if you order à la carte, cheese trolley is in extra.

Waiting to see you soon.

Best regards

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Beautiful grounds (moat, ducks, swans and fountain, private parking), very quiet, great breakfast and amazing dinner experience. Staff was very friendly and food was excellent. Highly recommend large double room.

Room Tip: Get the large double - tall ceilings and spacious rooms. Very private and quiet. Mattresses need t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac-n-Chez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evreux, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We recently spent a weekend at the Chateau. It was a lovely place with a wonderful staff, excellent restaurant and very good breakfast. We stayed at one of the rooms in L'Orangerie, which was very clean and comfortable. We also took advantage of the spa, which was small, but enough to let you relax for a little bit. The next day we went to the Champagne Cave where the owner showed us around and gave us a tour and tasting of the wonderfule champagnes. All in all, a wonderful place that I highly recommend. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmbargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Dear Madame,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to the Chateau d' Etoges. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for sharing your remarks on Tripadisor.

We look forward to welcome you for your next romantic escape in Champagne,

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#9 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Property: Chateau D'Etoges
Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing