We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep after a very good meal”
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'd looked at the Chateau d'Etoges a few times as a possibility for an overnight stop in France, but never been sure, maybe because of some of the negative reviews, but on the basis of one night here in early June we've been missing out as a consequence of my caution. Our room in the Orangerie was good; bright, pleasant and above all quiet (we worried about noise from below but needn't have). Like others, I noticed the aroma from the smokers on the terrace below, but that was a small negative. We both had a very good night's sleep. The meal was excellent. Michelin star quality on the basis of my experiences; imaginatively presented and with good flavours. I enjoyed, in turn, my langoustines, turbot and beef (great oxtail). Not cheap, compared say to eating well in London, but reasonable for these (rather more than once was the case) expensive days in France. A good wine list, with some excellent champagne. Staff were friendly, good humoured, and even funny. The maitre d' left a great impression. Parking is easy. The grounds of the chateau are attractive, with an interesting garden tucked away. We'll be back quite quickly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Montrachet J ,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Le Chateau d'Etoges.

We are pleased to know that you were pleased by your orangery bedroom as well as your dinner in our restaurant; and that you are planning to stay again in your new stopover in France.

I shall pass your lovely comments to our staff and especially to Jérome, our "good humoured and funny" maitre d'hotel.

We hope to welcome you again soon in Champagne.

Kind regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

467 - 473 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been to this hotel before and its a lovely experience, good service and English spoken. Ideal for a stopover as not too far from the main motorways or a weekend retreat just to chill out. This time we had a room in the Orangery which was large with a decent bathroom and comfortable king bed which I actually preferred to the very large and older Chateau rooms fine as they are .Plenty of free car parking space close to rooms.The restaurant is exceptional for dinner and a real experience with high quality food, wines and service with a lovely terrace for pre dinner drinks in summer.Breakfast taken in the Chateau is average quality and charged 18 euros extra with champagne included.Breakfast is the only thing I do not like at the hotel as I think a cheaper option should be offered for those not wanting to drink champagne. Overall though Highly Recommended shall definitely visit again

Room Tip: orangery rooms are more modern and close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fernwater1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This Chateau is simply stunning! Staff were welcoming and attentive, and speak English.Our room was beautifully decorated, with a very authentic and decadent French feel, and the bathroom very spacious. The best thing was a having a long hot bath after a day of travel in the summer heat. The large picture windows opened to reveal the maot and gardens, and we could listen to the play of the fountains on water. Very soothing and restful. Well priced, and gives an insite into how the gentry must have lived.Wonderful

Room Tip: We booked an attic room, but were given a slighly larger one on the ground floor - La Chambre Mirabe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A truly wonderful Chateau, restored at great expense. Well trained and friendly staff, multi-lingual, and happy to help. Bedrooms with high ceilings and "old world" furnishings, quaint but comfortable. Pleasant grounds to explore or relax or laze on a lawn with a glass of Champagne. Within an adjoining stone building the restaurant is situated, again traditional furnishing, attentive table service. The kitchen is serving an interesting menu and the quality and presentation of the food was excellent. Breakfast is served in the main Chateau and ,by French standards, represents good value. Private and secure parking is plentiful and free. Well worth a visit, we will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room in the main Chateau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank orangeMonteCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a great time at chateau D'etoges. The staff were very friendly and helpful and even helped us make appointments at some of the Champagne houses. The grounds were spectacular and we enjoyed our picnic on the grass area. The restaurant was excellent. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_YT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for these enthusiastic comments we had the pleasure to read this morning on Tripadvisor!

We are very glad that you have been able to enjoy our gourmet restaurant, our friendly staff and the chateau grounds.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel Chateau d'Etoges

Sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great hotel, slightly off the beaten track but worth the detour. I tend to use it as an overnight stop off when driving between Switzerland and the UK. I usually travel with a dog and its refreshing to find a hotel with generous grounds and such a dog friendly attitude. The rooms are full of character and the whole of the original building has an air of history about it but doesn't feel stuffy just very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Black Dog C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and yet again it exceeded expectations. Everything about the place is faultless and the restaurant should be given two Michelin stars!

There is also a spa and treatments were around 45 euros per half hour session.

We could not recommend this hotel more and will be going back again this year with friends for a week of pampering.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoffandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Joff & Sarah,

THANK YOU for your wonderful and kind words following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed a memorable moment and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon for your 3rd stay, with your friends.

Warm regards,

Eric Himmesoete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
502 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
210 reviews
12 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
182 reviews
23.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Thierry
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range: £100 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing