We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience ,even after 20 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau D'Etoges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau D'Etoges
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique experience ,even after 20 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We believe that us English are finally achieving some credence for "Fine Dining" We are !,but only when I return to Chateau d,Etoge do I realise how far we need to travel.We have only managed to stay here 3 times in the last 20 years but each time has been a true reminder how great French food can be,combine this with great service (were can you find a Jerome)Superb attention to detail in a beautiful setting.and it is so impressive to see the Grand Duchess (owner) working so hard with her team to ensure our visit was just as memorable as it was ten years ago.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    326
    78
    41
    11
See reviews for
124
737
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Went here with a handful of friends for an overnight trip the champagne region. A really pleasant experience, set in a rural location. Good quality rooms, and the food in the Orangery in the evening was exceptional. The breakfast was a touch disappointing compared to the dinner, but still of satisfactory quality. The chateau does have a moat, but it's empty, which doesn't make it overly aesthetically pleasing, but that's being quite picky. Not the cheapest, but worth it as a treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Max W,

Thank you very much for staying with us at the Chateau d'Etoges and for sharing your satisfaction and your kind impressions of your stay on Tripadvisor!

Indeed, a recent shifting of the moat has caused a small sinkhole into which the moat water has drained, despite the important restoration work made this spring.

The moat of the chateau is an unique listed monument of the 13th century: before to restore it, we have to wait the advice of the French national architect and others experts...

So, we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon, with lot of water in the moat!

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Chateau d' Etoges provides the most perfect stay-wonderful old chateau, gorgeous park, exquisite food, and delightful staff. Please do not change -we love coming to you. The prices in the delightful dining room are very good and the service is excellent

Room Tip: I am slightly disabled and the Saladin room on the ground floor is perfect for ambiance and ease of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeble87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had high expectations because of the cost of the room but were disappointed to find a carpark full of english number plates and then the room, although large and high ceilinged, was past its best.
The main problem turned out to be the curtains which, however hard one pulled, would not meet and let large amounts of light in in early morning. When combined with the fountain which gushed all night and very creaky floorboards it meant not a lot of sleep. The bathroom was spoilt by the lack of toiletries. What was there was in cheap plastic bottles attached to the wall.
Dinner in the Orangerie was the best part of our stay. Drinks on the terrace were followed by superb food from the great value 45 euro menu and back outside for dessert and coffee.
We can't comment on the breakfast since at check in we were told this would cost 18 euros each and knowing what french breakfasts consist of we drove in to market day Epernay and had an adequate alternative at a much cheaper price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

A beautiful C17th building in a well-maintained park with moat and restored historic fountains; helpful, obliging staff; and an elegant dining room in the 'Orangerie' with surprisingly good food.

The style here is charmingly traditional and French, with real character. It was all rather better than we expected, and we would certainly return. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LukeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

It has been nearly a year and we were excited to be back at the Chateau d'Etoges. A wonderful Chateau, lovely and friendly staff and a terrific atmosphere in a traditional French Chateau. This time we stayed in a room at the Orangerie with a lovely view and this was perfect. We did not had to go that far to the dining area and were happy to be there as it rained in the evenings. Though of course they took care of that as well and had umbrellas ready for the guest in every area. Lovely and the food was fabulous, delicious and just wonderful. We knew about the quality to expect from our first visit and were not at all disappointed. They even managed to serve a differently prepared dish in minutes, so my partner did not have to wait so long before starting the courses. It was purely my mistake as I overread that the fish is covered with bacon, but they did not blame me, took the dish to the kitchen and prepared a new one without meat in a glimpse. Thanks for that again. We stayed 2 nights and had 2 different menus which we loved, and the choice of cheeses was lovely, following by a pre-desert and than desert, wow. This is not too top ... including our favourite Champagne from Schlesser. Thank you for a wonderful stay and delicious meals. We will surely return to the Chateau again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A beautiful Chateau, what an amazing building. It has loads of history and original features. Stayed here for only 1 night and cannot believe the poor value for money. Ok the service at the hotel is nice, everyone speaks English very well and there was always a minimum of 3 team members ready for help which is great, but then again it is a big place. The young man who showed us around was really nice and genuinely pleasant. We were unexpectedly upgraded to one of the best rooms, which was beautiful to be honest, but would benefit from some upkeep. For example, the appliances were outdated and and damaged in places (i.e. the chair I sat in was very unstable and the bath had stains inside and low water pressure on the shower.) It was noted at the front desk that the grounds were undergoing some renovation thus the moat was drying up, but I doubt that has anything to do with the lack of indoor maintenance.

It is a shame this chateau is not looked after properly. Outside our room was a lovely little birds' nest, and I love animals, but the window was totally covered in bird poo! In some places it had accumulated over what looked like a year at least. The rugs in the room were loose and we had to watch our steps really carefully. The bed was comfy and we had a lovely view of the fountain in the back garden, but the paintwork could use a real touch up and the furniture is very worn.

The spa is new-ish but is a little cold-feeling. Again, we encountered little patches of poor maintenance such as the jacuzzi had one or two spouts not working and one of the buttons, which I assume activates all the little bubble holes I saw, has been pressed so far inside that it was stuck and didn't work. The changing area felt like a public gym with a 'polite' reminder that we will be charged if we don't leave our towel, robe and slippers in the laundry bin when we go. There were no staff at all in the spa, but plenty of advertisements for treatments and products, but who do you ask when you are wet and in your swimwear! Not going to walk all the way back to reception thanks. I probably would have bought one had there been a staff member present. From a more pedantic perspective, what if you were alone and slipped over? There is no one there!

There was, however, a more 'mature' couple in the spa as well, bare nude both of them, which is no real bother to us but hilariously, while we were upstairs enjoying a lie down in the rafters, we heard heavy breathing from the main area, and after a couple of minutes, we realised this couple were shagging! Haha! We were not offended and actually had to bite our lips from laughter (when the mood takes you I guess..!) but again made us feel like no one cared about the reputation and impression of the hotel, and why should one guest's 'activities' impose on another's? I wouldn't go back to the jacuzzi now... Anyway an anonymous stranger banged on the door/glass and seemingly killed the mood. Thank god they did though. We all know how it ends, I don't need that as a memory.

Dinner…. well we started on the terrace and enjoyed a half bottle of a wonderful Champagne. A waiter came to take our order and when we said we'd like to move inside after the Champagne so we will wait he said 'no…' and began to walk off. Obviously it was a joke and I didn't take notice. But he did it again and again, when we really did want to order our wine he said 'no, when you order your food'. Ok. We both work in hospitality, enough is enough. Why create that friction? Just write it down and put it through later if you have to. For the rest of the evening we were served by other waiters who were all great, and we were so impressed to see an official Master Sommelier who was faultless in his service and was friendly and smiley. We found the meal ok, the snails were nice but we both had lamb which was very sub-standard for the price. My dessert was sorbet with granola on top. Cheap. The cheese selection was fantastic. We ordered 2 glasses of Sauternes at around €11 a glass and it was corked. They had obviously been serving it this way as the bottle was half empty. Just so careless, especially in a wine destination, and so easy to avoid serving. What a shame, I regret not mentioning it.

At breakfast, the buffet was pretty basic. Pastries, bread, fruit and yoghurts etc. And the hot hold had 2 soggy rashers of bacon and no eggs. No one topped it up until my boyfriend asked and even then they brought only enough for 4 of the 20 people in the room. We had to get attention to get some butter and the waiter was flustered as if that was another job on her already long list, which it probably was given there were only 2 visible staff. However she brought it over quickly.

All these things (i.e. the unattended spa, the stingy breakfast, the corked wine) made us feel like the man hours are possibly in the wrong places. So many staff at reception but no management anywhere else. It all (especially the food) felt constructed for people who base their opinions on the amount of money they spend rather than what they actually receive. I'm not afraid (but I am annoyed) to admit this was the biggest waste of over £500 I have ever spent (room+dinner+spa+breakfast), discounting the wine which, by choice, was excellent and actually good value. I have paid the same for 5 stars elsewhere.

I would not stay here again unless they do a total refurbishment.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MZWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Chateau D'Etoges, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Is it you Mr Bxxxxx Hxxxxxx ?? Are you MZWhite ??

I am quite sure you are the author of this incredible and funny review… (if you are not MZWhite, oups, it is not funny at all…)

I should give details for all other readers who don’t know Mr Bxxxxx Hxxxxxx

In fact, few weeks ago, this kind Mr B-H came once again in Chateau d'Etoges to enjoy a glass of champagne. He let us know that he was fan of my answers on Tripadvisor and he would like to meet me. But sadly I was off and I missed him. He informed my colleague Marie in reception that he was always hasty to read a new answer from me on Tripadvisor. A real fan...

He even confessed that he was sometimes tempted to write a fake review in order to revel in the answer... I am afraid that it passed the act…

So, I regret that I can not be so imaginative than you for my answer.
Incredible your description of your spa experience... with the mature couple... Sometimes I had the impression to read E. L. James & Fifty Shades of Grey…

But, please Mr B-H, the next time you would like to read a new Tripadvisor answer from me, please send me your fake review challenge on my personal email address... to avoid that our “crazy game” was published here for eternity.

Because in fact, about 6 000 people read the Chateau d’Etoges Tripadvisor page: that do 720 000 readers per decade, quite as much as “Fifty Shades of Grey” for the whole France…

Finally, I really hope that Dear Mr B-H you are MZWhite with the funny sense of humour, if not, oups!!! my answer is not funny at all… and I am sorry for this misunderstanding.

Best regards.

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etoges
12.3 mi away
La Villa Eugene
La Villa Eugene
#1 of 14 in Epernay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hostellerie La Briqueterie
12.2 mi away
Hotel Jean Moet
Hotel Jean Moet
#2 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Le Clos Raymi
Le Clos Raymi
#5 of 14 in Epernay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
9.6 mi away
Auberge Champenoise
Auberge Champenoise
#8 of 14 in Epernay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
Hostellerie du Mont-Aime
#1 of 1 in Bergeres-les-Vertus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau D'Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau D'Etoges

Property: Chateau D'Etoges
Address: 4 rue Richebourg, 51270 Etoges, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Marne > Etoges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etoges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau D'Etoges 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 17th century at the heart of the Champagne countryside, this listed historic château sits imposingly in the middle of a 50-acre park with a large terrace, a kitchen garden and magnificent fountains. With its vast reception rooms decorated with painted panelling and 17th and 18th century furniture, this splendid hotel possesses a rare charm. Some lovely bedrooms have delightfully romantic views over the moat that surrounds the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau D'Etoges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau d`Etoges Hotel Etoges
Chateau d Hotel Etoges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing