We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building and setting”

Spa du Chateau d Etoges
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Etoges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Château d'Etoges Spa & Wellness Come to discover our Spa and take advantage of this space dedicated to the relaxation, the charm and the authenticity. Ideal starter for a treatment, this moment of intense relaxation invites you to a relaxing break in an area with a steam room, a Finnish sauna, a Jacuzzi, lounge areas with relaxation beds and a tea corner.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and setting”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Chateau D'Etoges for the day, to make use of the spa and enjoy a couples massage.

Its a wonderful historic building and the grounds are very well kept. Our massages were excellent and thoroughly relaxing, big thanks to Bruno and Gladys. These were taken in the newly-built spa facility, which we had to ourselves as the hotel was surprisingly quiet. Unfortunately the hammam and jacuzzi were not working and we weren't made aware before our arrival, so they drop a star. Advanced notice would have saved us from leaving our hotel an hour early and bringing bathing suits etc.

We had planned to stay for lunch but since it was so quiet decided to return to Epernay but overall, we really enjoyed our visit.

Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Manager at Spa du Chateau d Etoges, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for these enthusiastic comments about our spa with organic treatments and massages "Fleurs de Bach". We are very glad that you have been able to enjoy some treatments and especially the massage of Bruno & Gladys.

Sadly, the morning of your visit, we have a trouble with the tap of water of the jacuzzi and hammam, that is the reason why we can not inform you sooner.

I would like to inform you that our restaurant is closed for lunch during the week, that is why the restaurant was so quiet when you came, it was closed ;-).
If you would like to enjoy our restaurant and our spa, you have to come for example on sunday lunch or dinner every day.

Yours sincerely,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good massage, limited spa facilities”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a very small spa facility, with just one treatment room, a medium-sized jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and some loungers. My 75-minute body scrub and massage was excellent, and priced at the low end of average European costs for this service.

I would not advise paying to get into the facility unless you were having a treatment, however, as you get the feeling it's more something they squeezed in to the building to tick the spa box than a proper spa facility. Any more than four people in here at once would make it unpleasantly crowded, and the whirlpool needed to be hotter.

All fine as a waiting room for your massage, but doesn't compare to other facilities I've been to at similar small country house hotels.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BencardsBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chateaudetoges, Assistant Manager at Spa du Chateau d Etoges, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Spa du Chateau d’Etoges.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent massage and you have enjoyed totally the “Fleurs de Bach” organic body scrub and massage.

When reading carefully your comment, I think that you do not have visited all the spa: you mentioned “just one treatment room” but in fact we have 2 treatment rooms (including one for 2 guests) and 2 lounges, perhaps you did not dare climb to the first floor and you have missed the second lounge and another treatment room?

When we built the spa in the orangery, we did not want to make a huge spa like in resorts ; we have devised an authentic and cosy spa, respecting the local architecture (wooden beams, brick wall). The spa is not immense, about 150 m², but you can be more than 4 people without being “unpleasantly crowded” (4 places in Jacuzzi, 4 places in sauna, 4 places in steam room, 8 loungers, 2 armchairs, tisanery, …).

We hope to see you again soon in Champagne for another relaxing massage and visit the second floor of the spa.

Best regards,

Eric Himmesoete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spa du Chateau d Etoges also viewed

 

Been to Spa du Chateau d Etoges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing