We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sifawy Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sifawy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As Sifah
Certificate of Excellence
Oman
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“comfortable weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We usually go to Sifawi to spend a weekend with the family.
The ambiance is relaxing, with good food, and good service.
The AC in the room is noisy, and the swimming pool is not temperature controlled.
We always ask for the pool rooms, that are very practical

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FidoOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    137
    34
    11
    11
See reviews for
81
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here for the New Year for several nights and cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel. It is truly 5-star (at a great value) and we are already planning our next trip to Oman namely due to our wonderful stay at the Sifawy Boutique Hotel. The hotel setting itself is stunning – the ground are well kept, our junior suite was large, clean and new, and the beautiful pool is also conveniently centrally located in the hotel. The Sifawy provides a truly relaxing and secluded setting where you can come and “get away from it all” – while enjoying gorgeous landscapes and water views (including a private beach). Now is the time to go. The service was impeccable – the staff including the manager were extremely welcoming and friendly, always ensuring our needs were met. The food was excellent with a breakfast buffet to die for – many options to meet any diet restrictions. Last but not least, the manager himself helped us arrange amazing day trips to the desert and to watch schools of dolphins – unforgettable experiences. Don’t wait to book, it is truly the 5-star stay you are seeking!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Stayed at the Sifawy Boutique Hotel for a few days around the New Year. It was an all-around wonderful experience and extremely relaxing (a much needed break from the bustling lifestyle in NYC). The property is gorgeous (private beach, breathtaking views, luxurious rooms, and top-notch pool and lounging area) and little details such as a pillow menu (anti-aging, non-allergy, and wool, just to name a few) and fresh carrot juice shots before dinner really set this hotel apart. Every level of the staff (from the cleaning crew, receptionists, and waiters, all the way up to the manager) was warm, friendly, efficient and always willing to tend to our every need. It was nice to see the hotel manager interacting with the guests and ensuring that the hotel was running at an above-par level. The combination of truly 5 star accommodations and superior service at the Sifawy Boutique Hotel made our first visit to Oman unforgettable and we are already planning a return trip. Stay here if you have the opportunity, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MVINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

Roons are nice, but the puplic areas are a little bit poor (hallway,gym). They tidy up well but no welcpme drink, no water or small things included. Breakfast buffet was great, the rest of the food is average and far too expensive for what they offer. Beach is far away and there are no toilets there. For sure the will is there but they strongly have to improve to become a high-class hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank specht-auf-safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at Sifawy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I also appreciate and acknowledge the comments you have made. There is still a lot of work to be done, particularly within the Marina Town, and I am sure in time we will see significant change and development.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to host you again.


Sincerely yours,

Daniel Fanselow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

If you want to do not very much on a remote piece of Omani coast, but do it in luxury, then this is your place.

This is quite a high end hotel so has well appointed rooms built around a lovely pool with various facilities like a nice gym. During my stay the onsite restaurant served consistently excellent breakfasts, lunches and dinners. The hotel also runs a very good seafood restaurant built on a delightful sandy beach about 1km away (transfers provided).

Service from all the restaurant staff, housekeeping etc. was top rate. I also felt the hotel was good value for the discount price I paid via a special offer on their website - around GBP 100 per night for a high quality hotel compares favourably with other options in this part of the world.

The downside is that this is not a good base for doing any activities away from the hotel - it's a 45 minute transfer to the Muscat area (either by road, or by boat service which I'd recommend trying) and a further 45 minutes from there to the airport. I had already done my sightseeing in Muscat so that wasn't a problem, but the one thing I did do was a half day diving trip. This turned out to be quite a lot of hassle and something the reception staff didn't seem at all used to arranging. Unfortunately I got stranded for 2 hours at a remote marina waiting for my ride back to the hotel after my diving and had to phone 3 times to get them to pick me up... pretty poor customer service for this type of place.

The other downside is that the hotel beach is not great for swimming - too many stones and sea urchins. However, there is about a 2km stretch of lovely sand a 10 minute walk from the hotel, adjoining the sleepy village of Sifa.

As other reviewers have commented, the Sifawy is phase 1 of an ambitious plan to develop the whole area, complete with 4 hotels, golf course etc. There was a small amount of construction work going on whilst I was there but nothing to disturb the experience. From what I saw there were already a lot of empty apartments and hotel rooms that need filling - my guess is it will be a while before the development is complete. So for now, this is a great place to get away from the crowds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie_FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at the Sifaway for three days over New Year. This is a lovely resort style hotel set around a pool and marina. The hotel has been open around a year and there plans for three further hotels in the development, but as yet these are not complete. The hotel is surrounded by marina apartments but most of these are yet to be sold, which makes the site a bit soulless, although I would expect this to change with time. It is a good hours drive from town so you would need your own transport if you want to do any sightseeing and it best to arrange this before you go, the only place to walk to from the hotel is the local village As Seifa which is a friendly place. On a positive note as we did not realize how far this hotel was from town we arrived with virtually no petrol left in the tank and the nearest petrol station is back at town, the hotel staff kindly arranged to pick up petrol from town and filled my tank with enough to get me back to a pool station for free!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinacollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

• I Checked in around 3pm. Reserved table #8 – 2 seats with Front Desk Receptionist, Jam.
• We arrived at 9:30pm to find table #8 full. I asked wait staff why my reserved seats were taken? No answer.
• My room’s patio terrace was blocked by serving table. I asked to have it moved as it blocked access and my view. Staff refused to move it. The hotel decided to use the electric outlet on the patio. There was extension cord laying on the floor that tripped me when I first went outside. I fell against the table blocking my patio breaking several wine glasses on it. This was a safety concern.
• With no where to sit I asked that my food be served on the table on the terrace. The staff refused to do so.
• The Operations Manager explains that my seats are taken. How can that be I ask? They are reserved. He says that he has no control over that. He also refused to serve my dinner on the only open table in the area, my patio This is truly brilliant! I tell him we are finished with the discussion and go to the front desk to complain.
• Did I get a assistance from the front desk? No. NOTHING happened. I left and got food elsewhere.
• Upon checkout I asked to see the GM. Mr. Daniel Fanselow met with me to discuss the issues documented above. He explained how the hotel has no control over where the guests sit at dinner. I asked then why have reserved seats? No answer. I explained that the table and electric cord were blocking my exit, view and were safety isses. No answer.
• The buffet breakfast was included in the room rate. I was able to get my food, wait for the omelet to be cooked and finished my meal all before the server could bring 1 cup of coffee. Unbelievable! At least the service was consistent.
• The front desk attempted invoice me 50 OMR ($130 USD) for the dinner that I did not eat being fully aware of the circumstances.
• When I sent a follow up email to the GM he indicated that somone more important than me had taken the seats and I was properly compensated by having the $130 removed from the room bill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Captain_Dave_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel F, General Manager at Sifawy Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
I do regret the inconveniences you faced during your recent stay with us. I assure you, it is our sole objective to ensure our guests leave the Hotel happy and satisfied.

Regrettably we faced some difficulties with the seating arrangements during the New Year’s Gala Dinner and I apologize that the seats which you had reserved had been taken by other guests. We had tried to rectify this on the night itself, but unfortunately the other guests were not receptive at all. I also understand that alternative seating was offered, which you unfortunately declined. I had been informed of your request to have dinner on your patio, after the seats which you had booked were taken, and I gave an exception to the team to honor your request. By the time our Operations Manager went to your patio, you had unfortunately already left.

I trust you would understand that in order for the event to be a success (6 course set menu for 120 people), we require maximum resources and space, and in no way was this meant to be an inconvenience. Quite the contrary in fact, that we did our best to ensure a pleasant evening for everyone.

Again, on behalf of the Hotel, I apologize for any inconvenience you faced during your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again; in which case I assure you will notice a marked improvement.

Sincerely yours,

Daniel Fanselow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near As Sifah
24.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
15.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
24.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#2 of 49 in Muscat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
16.8 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#17 of 49 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifawy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifawy Boutique Hotel

Property: Sifawy Boutique Hotel
Address: PO Box 1719 | Jebel Sifah Marina, As Sifah PC 130, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > As Sifah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As Sifah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sifawy Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Jebel Sifah, a new resort development 45 minutes from Muscat downtown. This boutique hotel designed by renowned Italian architect features large swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, fitness centre, treatment room, in addition to a wide range of activities and excursions. Suite guests are provided with a personalized butler who can handle every detail of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sifawy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing