We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort 45 minutes outside of Muscat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sifawy Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As Sifah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My dad, stepmom and I stayed at the resort for the three nights of 4 April to 6 April 2014. We drove from Abu Dhabi. What you should know is that the resort is around 45 minutes outside of Muscat along quite a tedious road. Although it is tarred it is quite long and windy so it’s a mission if you will be touring around Muscat. The resort itself is lovely. We had two rooms – 203 and 204, overlooking the pool.

We arrived on Friday, the busiest day for the resort, and the noisiest at the pool. We were informed that we had to order the buffet dinner on Friday night, a cost that we could not justify. After much disagreement with the restaurant they said that we could order al-la-carte if we wanted. Instead we ordered room service. I believe the resort should be more flexible on their dining options.

All in all the resort is nice. The rooms are clean and well appointed. It is enjoyable to walk around the marina and see the boats. I recommend this resort if you are staying around Muscat for a few days.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxuryTravelCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Had no complaints. Easy to find the hotel contrary to what some travellers state. Just take the Qantab road follow signs towards Yiti and after that you will see signs for Jebel Sifah all the way until the end which comes to a T junction and you need to take a right to find the hotel.

Check in : Could have been better. The receptionist didnt even acknowledge my presence until she was done with whatever she was doing which took a while. We were alotted a room on the ground floor near the swimming pool, was told the hotel was fully booked so had no choice.

Rooms: They were excellent. Very clean and no complaints. Had all the required amenities. Only downside was it was facing the swimming pool.

Swimming pool: A good swimming pool with kids pool. They provide life jackets, plastic toys for the children and beach towels. Complained about the water temperature and they immediately resolved it.

Beach: The beach is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. It is very rocky and not the usual kind of beach where you can go in the water. Nothing great on this side.

Breakfast: One of the best breakfast spreads I have seen. A lot of choices even for vegetarians. Was great.

Overall we thouroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel and visit again. It is perfect for a 1 night stay for relaxation , beyond that you may get bored as outside of the hotel there is nothing much to do.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harishbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Firstly, it is a long way out from Muscat - however, don't let that deter you!

We had read the reviews and as a result planned to use the hotel as a base to get out and about on our own. It is cheap and relatively simple to hire a car to collect on arrival at Muscat. The first point I would make is - the country has moved faster than the GPS. The hotel had provided directions however they weren't great and we took a few wrong turns before eventually finding the complex.

You can arrange a transfer, however, the cost to hire and then have the flexibility seemed a better option - and you need wheels if you want to get out and about.

The hotel itself is on a brand new development which will come into its own I'm sure in a few years time. For now - it really is just the hotel. There is a fish restaurant a short walk along the beach however we didn't try it.

The welcome was courteous and efficient and as it was early in the morning and we were clearly tired, it was seconds before we were up and settled in our room. The room was comfortable and clean with air con, good bathroom (just shower) and a view of the pool and the marina.

The hotel is very quiet and not much goes on however the staff are really friendly and will do anything to help. Breakfast is served in the only restaurant and for the amount of people staying - seemed ridiculously vast. Fresh every morning with ample selection from both continental and hot. For all other times of the day, it is possible to get food and drinks - then the restaurant is by menu for the evening. If you are staying more than 3 nights you may exhaust the options. The Indian dishes were superb and the Biryani possibly one of the best I've ever had.

If you do have a vehicle, then meal options in Muscat are good, and just 45 minutes away.

The pool is really nice, and a touch on the bracing side however refreshing after the first plunge! Alternatively, there is a nice beach spot the other side of the marina with sun beds and hammocks which we thought were a nice touch. It was also nice to get a plate of fresh fruit whilst sat around the pool!

The hotel does offer excursions however, driving in Oman is easy and you can get to the main attractions simply.

Overall we had a really relaxing few days there, and were able to get out during the day and explore bit of Oman. My tips - hire a car, bring a book and don't stay any longer than a few days!

Room Tip: Nice rooms are higher up if you want to escape the noise of the pool - however, ground floor rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting! It is about a 50 min drive from Muscat airport. The trip out to the hotel is along steep and winding roads that overlook the ocean. It is stunning. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff are incredibly friendly. The pool is lovely and it is nice to look over the marina. However, the locate is quite isolated. The hotel is part of a larger complex (in theory) which is not yet complete. There are two restaurants which are both nice, but there is not a lot to walk to or see. My room was lovely, very clean and comfortable. It is great that they are eco-conscious. The beach area is about a 7 min walk from the hotel. They also have a shuttle if you prefer to drive. The beach is a little rocky but very pleasant and the water is beautiful. I did not go out on any of the boats but will be sure to do that on my next visit. Overall it was really a great stay. Also, if you are expecting a quiet holiday away, you should know that during my visit the hotel was overrun with children. I think it is also possible to rent a little apartment in the same area so this might be a better option if you want to avoid the kids.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed at this 5 star hotel for 3 nights as part of a ten day break in Oman in March.
.Located on a marina alongside a beach about 45 minutes from Muscat at a cost of £40 by taxi which others have noted is "exciting" on a very second hand road
Water taxi service was considered at £6 each but it did not run on any of the days due to "heavy seas" and the fact that the boat was quite small so do not rely on its service
. The watersports centre is yet to be finalised.
The main hotel rooms are in a semi circle around the main pool and pool bar area so if there are noisy guests this could be annoying. I paid about £100 per night with all taxes service charge etc and a marina view which was quieter was an extra £30. Rooms were excellent with luxury bathrooms and comfy beds The staff were very friendly and well trained and breakfast was included and was comprehensive enough to get you through to dinner.The menu was varied and extensive and presentation and service was excellent.The hotel also ran a seafood beach bar about a kilometer away and the meals were fresh fish and very tasty No need for money as the food and drinks could be put on your tab.Beach shoes advisable
I spent about £100 on food and drinks over the three days. There was a beach area within a ten minute walk from the main hotel block and guests with children or those wishing not to walk were able to get a golf cart lift to the beach area.Eamon the driver and pool attendant was very good Food and drinks and towels were all available there .Beach shoes were essential as the shore area was littered with rocks and stones and the occasional sea urchin This should be tided up in my opinion as there are hammocks sunshades and loungers and this would finish it off. I used the fitness centre on the second floor and the business centre for email work so this part of the infrastructure worked.The poolside bar is small and there is a happy hour when some beers are two for one
Overall a pleasant introduction to Oman and when all the facilities are open even better. There are 20% discounts available which I took into account
The best rate i received to £100 was 62.8 rials in an Oman Bank with a U.K. rate at around 60 Some hotels were as low as 50 so watch for this when settling accounts .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brianjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is a 45-minute scenic drive away from old Muscat. Watch out for goats and donkeys on the way! The style of the hotel and the adjacent marina is very nice, contemporary architecture with many arabic-oriental elements. We were lucky to get an upgrade to the marina suite which was lovely decorated so we immediately felt at home. The beach is small but nice, a 10-minute walk away or a short drive by cart offered by the hotel. The pool is also nice and clean. Breakfast, lunch and dinner were nice, the latter two near European prices though. If you stay in this hotel do not expect too much party going on which we were very happy about though. If we ever get the chance to visit Oman again, we'll definitely also return to Sifawy Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anja L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

it is one of those places reminding you what paradise on earth could be,,,
if you are looking to have a total calm holidays or at least couple of days cut off from all the hustle bustle of your daily routine, this hotel will be the right choice, situated between the fjords, 1 hour away from Muscat downtown with its private beach ....
hotel has a delicious cuisine and the staff are very nice..prices also are great for such a place..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katiahayek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near As Sifah
24.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 61 in Muscat
1,613 reviews
24.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
15.3 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
12.3 mi away
Shangri-La Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa - Al Waha Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifawy Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifawy Boutique Hotel

Address: PO Box 1719 | Jebel Sifah Marina, As Sifah PC 130, Oman
Region: Oman > Muscat Governorate > As Sifah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in As Sifah
Price Range: £137 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sifawy Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Jebel Sifah, a new resort development 45 minutes from Muscat downtown. This boutique hotel designed by renowned Italian architect features large swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, fitness centre, treatment room, in addition to a wide range of activities and excursions. Suite guests are provided with a personalized butler who can handle every detail of your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sifawy Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing