We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service, great food”

The Woodmancote Pub
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Woodmancote Pub is set in beautiful surroundings in the Village of Woodmancote. We serve food from 09:30-21:00 Monday - Saturday and 09:30-19:30 on Sunday. We use only the finest ingredients and buy local produce when we can. We pride ourselves on good home cooked food and fantastic customer service. We cater for birthdays, wakes, weddings and any other celebration. Christmas is especially magical at The Woodmancote is transformed into a winter wonderland. Other events include, Quiz, Bingo and Live Music.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Service, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was our first visit following a friends recommendation and it was a very pleasant experience. The meal was superb and all of our party of 6 had no complaints. The decor is enchanting and we shall certainly return again to sample more of the excellent menu options.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevbo18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    151
    38
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is one of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The food is excellent. The seafood out of this world. The prices are very reasonable and the portions generous. On top of this the staff are really the best. Friendly helpful and above all give very good service. The interior of the restaurants and the ambience is lovely, very quirky. Many pubs and restaurants could learn a great deal from this wonderful pub. I wish them well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank knightsgofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Quirky Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Popped out early Saturday evening for a bite to eat and we ended up here. Loved the random quirkyness of the place from outside and inside completed the look. Loved the "room" settings and decor. What appeared to be a traditional food menu had been given a up market twist without the price tag. Nicely presented, good sized portions. Staff very attentive and knowledgeable. Am definitely looking to return with friends on tow to show them a hidden gem.

Helpful?
Thank Tanmar35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A nice find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just home after a drive out for dinner, the Woodmancote was visited by a friend last summer who enjoyed it, so we thought we'd give it a bash..
Even tho it was busy we were given a table without questioning.
The staff were attentive and very knowledgable, the young man really knew his ales, our food was served quickly and was of good quality.
Our mezze was great with nice oil and balsamic vinegar complimented by a nice bowl of humus.
Mains were fish pie with handcut chips and seasonal veg, again this was good quality and hot.
Desserts. .
My favourite. .
Bread and butter pudding with rum and banana with custard...not a huge portion, but enough without being greedy..
Again this was hot, served quickly, my partner had the lemon mousse, this was nice and refreshing with a fresh taste..
That said, The Woodman is a great pub in tge the countryside, the staff are friendly and knowledgable, the food is great and you can see the kitchen which I think is a plus...
We will be going back, the menu has other meals we wish to try.

Helpful?
Thank Chunkybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wedding reception”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

thank you for everything you did to make our wedding reception so amazing, the food was outstanding couldn't of wished for anything better, layout was absolutely stunning. very accomadating to our needs, very lovely couple and staff. such a relaxed atmosphere thank you again.

mr & mrs king

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodmancote Pub also viewed

Walberton, Arun District
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Emsworth, Hampshire
West Ashling, Chichester
 

Been to The Woodmancote Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing