We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No air con so noisy from street. Lovely staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Uk
Level Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No air con so noisy from street. Lovely staff.”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a large room at the front of the hotel. Very clean, comfortable bed, large room for France. But as no air con - with the windows open (there was a fan but it was a hot night) the road was really surprisingly noisy at night. FIne with ear plugs.

Excellent location for the Chateau, really friendly service. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptarmigan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    71
    15
    6
    6
See reviews for
36
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We enjoyed our stay here while on a cycling trip in the Loire Valley. It was a comfortable place, somewhat modest, very clean, nice staff, great breakfast, and a nice dining room if you want to eat in. Just across the street is the box office to the chateau Chaumont and you can walk up the steps to the chateau. Convenient, since there's really nothing else going on in this town. My only complaint, which held true for almost every place we stayed, is they don't put blinds on the windows to keep the sun out, so you wake up super early.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabulousTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

No mention that our room was on 2nd floor with no lift when reservation was accepted. We got the impression that the owner treated us as second class citizens, perhaps because we had opted for a demi-pension tariff. It was not made clear that taxes were chargeable over the price quoted. Had much better service at chambres d'hotes in the area. Would not recommend the hotel at all.

Room Tip: If you are elderly make sure you are not on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willum004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stopped there on the way back from Aveyron and after a long trip, it was very relaxing.
Very comfortable and large rooms.
Very friendly owners, staff - Also we recommend the food in the restaurant, very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValerieGuerinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel towards the end of a three week driving tour of France and it was one of the best places we stayed. It's old-fashioned charm was delightful and our room overlooking the swimming pool and the Loire was excellent. A very good bathroom with separate toilet and a comfortable bed ensured a relaxed stay. The hotel pool was good and the hotel restaurant was excellent. Our hosts were attentive and friendly. We'd definitely recommend it as a base in the Loire Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueB254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Hostellerie du Chateau in Chaumont sur Loire was excellent. We arrived to find a double rather than a twin room but before we could question this we were told that on our second night we would be changed to a larger room with two beds and upgraded to half board for the second night too. Not only this but having been half board the first night we were given a different and more expensive menu on the second so we did not have the same meal twice. The staff were very friendly and the food excellent. In fact we would recommend any one staying in Chaumont sur Loire should eat at the restaurant. For 18.50 euros you can get their seasonal three course meal which is superb. Likewise it is a good place for a drink sitting on their terrace. If not half board make sure you at least pay for breakfast which consists of croissant, bread, cold meat, fruit, cereals and yogurts etc. We could not fault it and would like to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HTDC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

We stayed at the Hostellerie on a cycling tour, where we spent our first and last night. We were so pleased to get back. Excellent service and a warm welcome. The bedrooms and bathrooms were spotless. The food was excellent - beautiful dining areas. Lovely setting with some river views. The Chateau in Chaumont is well worth a visit - wonderful bio-diverse, organic gardens. I agree with all Louis from London has said in a previous review.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnBDenHaag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaumont-sur-Loire
1.8 mi away
Hotel Chateau des Tertres
3.9 mi away
Auberge de la Caillere
Auberge de la Caillere
#1 of 1 in Cande-sur-Beuvron
223 reviews
2.9 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
535 reviews
4.6 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
7.0 mi away
Auberge de Launay
Auberge de Launay
#1 of 2 in Limeray
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Hostellerie du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Hostellerie du Chateau

Property: L'Hostellerie du Chateau
Address: 2 rue du Mal de Lattre de Tassigny, 41150 Chaumont-sur-Loire, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loir-et-Cher > Chaumont-sur-Loire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chaumont-sur-Loire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Hostellerie du Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Hostellerie du château is located in the charming village of Chaumont sur Loire, listed in the World Heritage list of UNESCO and famous for his International Garden Festival. The hotel rated 3 stars, includes 15 rooms (3 family rooms), a restaurant with traditional meals using seasonal products. In the summer, the meals are served on the terrace, and in the winter you can enjoy the heat of the chimney in a room filled with character ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your L'Hostellerie du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hostellerie Du Chateau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing