We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of A la Grande Maison

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pujols
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A la Grande Maison
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were in France for a family wedding so 22 of us booked to stay at a la Grande Maison, including their two gites. It was fabulous. The owners, Jo and Jean-Claude were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. We had to make various changes to the booking but Jean-Claude just smiled and took care of it. The rooms were beautifully decorated and ours was a suite, all for Euro 90 for two including a great breakfast -- fresh juice, coffee or specialty teas, homemade yogurt, eggs, hams, meats, cheeses, croissants and sweet breads.The gites were brilliant and exceptional value for money. There is a large garden with plenty of comfortable chairs, a small swimming pool and access to a sauna. On top of all that on Saturday we asked if it would be possible to get a snack before we went to the wedding. Wow! Two bottles of wine, food for 10 people, with more than we could eat, and all for 50 Euro!
Our two grandchildren were flower girls for the wedding so Jo took them off to dress their hair with flowers, a really nice friendly touch.
This is a great place and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for A la Grande Maison
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in the area. The house is very attractive and in a peaceful and beautiful setting just outside the small village of Pujols. The gardens and pool area look lovely, although we didn't have much time to enjoy them. We received a very warm welcome from our hosts.

Our room was comfortable enough but we found the bed a bit small, and everything was a bit more creaky and rustic than we are used to. We appreciate that it is an old house and therefore it will have its character and it is appropriate for it to be traditionally decorated, however it did not make for a good night's sleep when we were disturbed by the people upstairs walking around and could hear other guests going up and down the stairs etc. Our own wardrobe door was also incredibly creaky, which probably irritated other guests! We also hadn't realised before booking that we would not have an ensuite WC, so this was slightly disappointing for the price. The breakfast was also quite basic - we would have expected better for such an attractive looking B&B and also for the price. Perhaps this was because it was a Sunday.

All in all, we had a pleasant enough stay and it was a nice place to spend a night but we wouldn't rush back .

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanclaude R, Gérant at A la Grande Maison, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011
Google Translation

En réponse à l'avis paru le 19 juillet 2011 je pense que ce client n'apprécie guère le charme des vieilles maisons.....

Nos petits déjeuners sont à consommer sans modération. C'est ainsi que nous servons à volontés outre le pain, des jus de fruits, des yaourts maison, des cakes maison, des tartes maisons, des fruits de saison, etc..... Pour nos amis étrangers nous prenons soins de leur demander la veille ce qu'ils désireraient pour le petit déjeuner et ce pour les satisfaire au mieux.

Il est vrai que nous essayons de banir les viennoiseries afin que nos hôtes découvrent ou redécouvrent les bienfaits de la nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

A la Grande Maison is a lovely old house on the outskirts of Pujols, with breathtaking views over vines, rolling countryside and the village itself.
The bedrooms are large well appointed, extremely comfortable and with lots of light. It is very peaceful, with only the sound of the birds, or the distant chiming of four church clocks to break the silence. Secure parking is on site.
Our hosts could not have been more pleasant and helpful. There is a big swimming pool surrounded by elegant loungers, with towels provided. The large, well tended garden has chairs and tables, deck chairs and the odd hammock. There is even a covered area with dining table and chairs and a fridge provided for guests to prepare their own outdoor lunch or supper.
Breakfast was comprehensive and served outside, weather permitting. On the last day of our stay, we arranged to leave at 6am to catch an early ferry; I was amazed to find that our hosts had prepared an (unsolicited) early breakfast for us!
There are 2 restaurants nearby; one within walking distance, the other about a mile away on the outskirts of the village.
A la Grande Maison is outstanding, and truly excellent value. It is highly recommended!

Room Tip: A first floor room with a front view.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pchewshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Do not tell it to anybody, we have here a good adress.
Your hosts welcome you as friends.
Rooms are well decorated and almost all of them have all the necessary comfort.
Landscape is gorgeous in the middle of the vineyard.
Breakfast in the average


Do not expect hotel services as this is not a hotel but you feel like home.

Only drawback is there is no real possibility to eat on site (however, owners will make all necessary efforts to help you)


Environment 17/20
Rooms 15/20
Restaurant None

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amelie-Melo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambres sur facade entrée très spacieuses avec une vue magique sur les vignes
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Francoise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pujols
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
64 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
136 reviews
13.8 mi away
Logis Hostellerie des Ducs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
876 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
396 reviews
10.0 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Grande Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Grande Maison

Address: 8 Rue du Stade, 33350 Pujols, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pujols
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing