We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of A la Grande Maison

A la Grande Maison
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A la Grande Maison
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Thank you for making us feel so at home in your lovely home. Great recommendations for sites to visit and restaurants to eat in. A perfect place to stay to explore the lovely region. We will see you again in the new future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyberhose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst travelling around the area. Nicest place we stayed while in France. Service was exceptional from the dashing couple owners. We were both smitten by them by the time we were leaving! The lady of the house even gave us a pot of her homemade fig jam to bring with us back to Ireland! Room we had was very spacious and finished to a very high standard. For 90 euro including breakfast this was by far the best value place we stayed during our 10 day trip. Wish we could have stayed longer. We're getting married in the area next year and party are planning to block book this house for a long weekend. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Nowhere to eat in Pujols at nighttime so you will need to drive c. 10 mins to the nearest restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were in France for a family wedding so 22 of us booked to stay at a la Grande Maison, including their two gites. It was fabulous. The owners, Jo and Jean-Claude were exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble. We had to make various changes to the booking but Jean-Claude just smiled and took care of it. The rooms were beautifully decorated and ours was a suite, all for Euro 90 for two including a great breakfast -- fresh juice, coffee or specialty teas, homemade yogurt, eggs, hams, meats, cheeses, croissants and sweet breads.The gites were brilliant and exceptional value for money. There is a large garden with plenty of comfortable chairs, a small swimming pool and access to a sauna. On top of all that on Saturday we asked if it would be possible to get a snack before we went to the wedding. Wow! Two bottles of wine, food for 10 people, with more than we could eat, and all for 50 Euro!
Our two grandchildren were flower girls for the wedding so Jo took them off to dress their hair with flowers, a really nice friendly touch.
This is a great place and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We stayed here for one night while attending a wedding in the area. The house is very attractive and in a peaceful and beautiful setting just outside the small village of Pujols. The gardens and pool area look lovely, although we didn't have much time to enjoy them. We received a very warm welcome from our hosts.

Our room was comfortable enough but we found the bed a bit small, and everything was a bit more creaky and rustic than we are used to. We appreciate that it is an old house and therefore it will have its character and it is appropriate for it to be traditionally decorated, however it did not make for a good night's sleep when we were disturbed by the people upstairs walking around and could hear other guests going up and down the stairs etc. Our own wardrobe door was also incredibly creaky, which probably irritated other guests! We also hadn't realised before booking that we would not have an ensuite WC, so this was slightly disappointing for the price. The breakfast was also quite basic - we would have expected better for such an attractive looking B&B and also for the price. Perhaps this was because it was a Sunday.

All in all, we had a pleasant enough stay and it was a nice place to spend a night but we wouldn't rush back .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrufflesSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanclaude R, Gérant at A la Grande Maison, responded to this review, 21 August 2011
Google Translation
En réponse à l'avis paru le 19 juillet 2011 je pense que ce client n'apprécie guère le charme des vieilles maisons.....

Nos petits déjeuners sont à consommer sans modération. C'est ainsi que nous servons à volontés outre le pain, des jus de fruits, des yaourts maison, des cakes maison, des tartes maisons, des fruits de saison, etc..... Pour nos amis étrangers nous prenons soins de leur demander la veille ce qu'ils désireraient pour le petit déjeuner et ce pour les satisfaire au mieux.

Il est vrai que nous essayons de banir les viennoiseries afin que nos hôtes découvrent ou redécouvrent les bienfaits de la nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

A la Grande Maison is a lovely old house on the outskirts of Pujols, with breathtaking views over vines, rolling countryside and the village itself.
The bedrooms are large well appointed, extremely comfortable and with lots of light. It is very peaceful, with only the sound of the birds, or the distant chiming of four church clocks to break the silence. Secure parking is on site.
Our hosts could not have been more pleasant and helpful. There is a big swimming pool surrounded by elegant loungers, with towels provided. The large, well tended garden has chairs and tables, deck chairs and the odd hammock. There is even a covered area with dining table and chairs and a fridge provided for guests to prepare their own outdoor lunch or supper.
Breakfast was comprehensive and served outside, weather permitting. On the last day of our stay, we arranged to leave at 6am to catch an early ferry; I was amazed to find that our hosts had prepared an (unsolicited) early breakfast for us!
There are 2 restaurants nearby; one within walking distance, the other about a mile away on the outskirts of the village.
A la Grande Maison is outstanding, and truly excellent value. It is highly recommended!

Room Tip: A first floor room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pchewshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauillac, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Do not tell it to anybody, we have here a good adress.
Your hosts welcome you as friends.
Rooms are well decorated and almost all of them have all the necessary comfort.
Landscape is gorgeous in the middle of the vineyard.
Breakfast in the average


Do not expect hotel services as this is not a hotel but you feel like home.

Only drawback is there is no real possibility to eat on site (however, owners will make all necessary efforts to help you)


Environment 17/20
Rooms 15/20
Restaurant None

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jBigoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pujols
1.9 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
10.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
Hotel Au Logis des Remparts
#3 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hostellerie de Plaisance
Hostellerie de Plaisance
#1 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
18.3 mi away
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir -...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A la Grande Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Grande Maison

Property: A la Grande Maison
Address: 8 Rue du Stade, 33350 Pujols, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Pujols
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Pujols
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your A la Grande Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing