We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Paradise Lodge
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
“Amazing hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This is an amazing building, set in extensive and creative gardens, full of surprises. The buildings and grounds are handbuilt, and absolutely unique. Convenient to both Glenorchy and Queenstown, but a private slice of paradise. Cannot recommend highly enough, and also comes with lovely hosts!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sentul, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

Little Paradise is aptly named. We were not sure what to expect and it was about 20m away from Queenstown, but when we arrived our collective breaths were taken away. Every part of this cottage was painstakingly put together by its owners Thomas and Christie, from the handcrafted furniture, to the animal skins, lawn ornaments, fish pond and tea garden. Right next to Lake Wakatipu, it offers a stunning view of the lake and mountains, and the stars at night. We were here at the end of August and can only imagine how beautiful this place must be in the summer. Staying here was the highlight of our trip. Thomas and Christie were very accommodating and friendly, and it was a nice change from staying in hotels and backpacker lodgings.

We would highly recommend this place to couples especially.

Room Tip: Ask for the Singing Frog room - every room has its own character but this is the largest, and it com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We loved staying at this charming little place and highly recommend it.
Lovely hosts, unbelievable scenery and very cosy. It strikes the rare balance of letting you feel close to the countryside and alive in doing so but protected and warm. 
The garden is quite stunning, teeming with life, and the sculptures made by the hosts demonstrate their respect for nature and environment. 
We look back at our stay here with fond memories. Having spent two very fortunate months staying in some exclusive hotels across the world, this place makes it to the top of our list and is somewhere we won't forget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you want to experience mother nature and truly handcrafted, simply eye-catching furniture and interior (made by the owner Thomas) you need to go there!
I have never seen anything like this before! This is for sure "Little Paradise" of NZ!
Forget about staying in Q-Town or Glenorchy! Go to this lovely spot, the colourful amazing garden.
Christa and Thomas are the kindest hosts you can have. Within one hour you feel like you belong to this house, this little place of heaven!
Everything is well maintained, clean and I haven't seen a single sandfly in the house!
We came for one night but stayed another as we didn't want to leave at all. So glad we found this fantastic lodge!
Christa and Thomas, you've created paradise in NZ! Thanks for that experience beyond any comparison!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ-Didi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downtown Columbus
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

First of all, we didn't have the luck to lodge here although we wanted to. How my husband and I found it is a totally surprise. We lodged in downtown Queenstown. On the way to Glenorchy for the Lord of the Rings film trilogy sites, we were not sure weather we had missed the sites already. By the way, the entire driving experience alone the Wakatipu Lake is extremely pleasant! Anyway, we stopped at this Tea House (I guess this place has another name besides the Guesthouse). I waited in the car while my husband went inside for directions. After he came back, he told me the garden is so beautiful. So, I was like "in that case, why don't we get inside for a tea and have a break?". We went inside again to meet Christie (I believe that's her name). Then she served us New Zealand tea and some cookies. There was a Ireland young men, Steven, walked in at that time for tea also. We talked and exchanged ideas of touring activities in the area. After the tea, Christie offered to give us a house tour. She is very nice and very friendly. The entire house and garden is breathtakingly beautiful. We were told it's all done by her husband. There are so much beautiful details and Eco-friendly details. We had so many "ahh"s and "woo"s. The inside bathroom was decorated nicely, then the half bathroom's toilet tank was actually a fish tank! You have to see it to believe how created Thomas is. He must have artist' talent for everything he's done. Then there is an outside half bathroom which is smartly designed -- after you flash the toilet, the clean water come in the the faucet for wash hands, then the used water goes to the toilet tank for next use. Thomas planted some small plants on the way water flows, that is the nature decoration for the bathroom. Another thing is, I noticed the previous reviewer said the entire house was full of biting fliers, which I don't see any during our short period of stay. We were there 5/21/2012. What I'm saying is the house and the garden definitely worth a try!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColumbusUrbanLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

- turned out to be a 30-minute ride from queenstown
- we were a party of 9 - 4 couples +1,requiring 5 separate rooms. on arrival it turned out that there are indeed 12 sleeping places but only 4 separate rooms as we wanted
- the sheets were dirty and seemed they were not washed after previous guests
- we were slightly late to check out considering the large group and were charged extra 15% for being late. outrageous!
- the house was full of small biting flies
- on a positive note, the house was surrounded by a very nice garden
- we tried picking some berries from the bushes and were charged 5 dollars

Room Tip: i would avoid the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akonopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas S, Owner at Little Paradise Lodge, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
We remember very well, when this Russian group arrived at our place. It was raining heavily.
Normally when our guests arrive we introduce our self, show them their rooms and facilities and then share a cup of tea while getting to know each other and make them feel welcome.
Then we offer them to carry their luggage to the room.
With this Russian group, it all turned out different. As when they arrived, Alex came first to the door, looking very unhappy, while the others were still at the car park. He told us, that they have booked 5 rooms with us. Then we have replied to him, that they only booked 4 rooms not 5 , as we only got 4 rooms advertised in our website. Then his voice and the expression on his face was showing that he was not happy at all. It became very uncomfortable for us, because we do not want our guests to feel that way.
Our priority was to prove to the whole group, that they only booked 4 rooms with us.
Instead of having a warm welcome, and a few laughs, we have been put into a stress situation. We had to open up our computer and look for the e.mail communication we had with one of the group members, so we could get our self out of this embarrassing situation.
When we came forward with the proof, Alex did not change his angriness. Instead of saying sorry to his action, he came shortly after, to us, to complain, that they have flying insects in their Unit. Insects are common next to the lake, that's why we have insect netting on the windows, but they are useless when the door is open too long . Anyway, we gave him a Insect spray.
We also created a additional sleeping option, so the single person did not had to share a room with any of his friends they were couples.
Our beddings are always washed and clean, and we always have fresh scented roses picked from our own garden in our guests rooms.
Behind every bedroom door we have written messages to inform our guests such as check-out time and a $5 penalty for every 30 minutes overstay.
For the berries they have picked, they offered to pay for it, so we accepted it.

We are so glad that we hardly ever have people unsatisfied with our service, in fact, most of our guests are very impressed with this Little paradise of ours, and when they leave, they have carried a lot of good memories and warm feeling from us. Creative people often feel charged up with inspiration.
Often Visitors described, what they've seen at this place is a labor of love.

The comments of Alex hurts us, especially after 19 years of effort to make this place special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We did search for a nice place near Queenstown and weren't too sure first if Little Paradise wasn't too far out. As it turned out it was the best we could do - stay away from the commerce driven QT city and choose a relaxing and beautiful place right near the lake instead. Welcome to little paradise!
Christie and Thomas took great care of us, we were free to use their kitchen facilities but also took the opportunity to get one of Christies delicious Philippine Dinners - a must when staying there.
Of course there is nothing more to say about the beautiful gardens and spectacular indoor architecture. All self-made by Thomas - you need to see yourself.
In case you book online or via phone - be patient, sometimes communication can be difficult out there. But it should not hinder you to have a great time in Little Paradise!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zufussreiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Creighton
8.2 mi away
Matakauri Lodge
Matakauri Lodge
#4 of 57 in Queenstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Rees Hotel & Luxury Apartments
14.1 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Queenstown Park Boutique Hotel
10.6 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
10.9 mi away
Bold Peak Lodge
Bold Peak Lodge
#5 of 5 in Glenorchy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Paradise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Paradise Lodge

Property: Little Paradise Lodge
Address: 2600 Glenorchy Rd | Meiklejohnes Bay, Mount Creighton 9371, New Zealand (Formerly Little Paradise Guesthouse)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Mount Creighton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Creighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almost every day we hear from our visitors that this place really deserves its name "little paradise". The house and its surrounding were created by its Swiss owner with great passion for the beauty of nature and life. He used natural materials from the nearby environment to express his inspiration and ideas. If you want to escape the square world, absorb new dimensions in the fairytale garden of little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Paradise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing