We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Soissons”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Soissons
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Soissons”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Had no real expectation after a dire visit to another hotel in Soissons in October last year. Was genuinely and really pleasantly surprised, a modern hotel with character. Well appointed rooms albeit not big, but great bed and proper pillows, and really well looked after. The staff were spot on and could not have been more welcoming, really good customer service and attentive. Whilst this is most expensive hotel in town it is worth paying for not only close to town but after visiting the Bates motel last year this place delivers. If you do use try and get a room at front as great view of the abbey ruins.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    147
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
32
180
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day touring Reims, and the central champagne region we were happy to stop in this very good 3 Star hotel. Prompt service, impeccable cleanliness and modern bedrooms were gratefully received.
We took dinner in the restaurant and whilst the menu wasn't over burdened with choice the scallops were light and delicate, the steak full flavoured and filing.
The only minor criticism was that the bedroom was a little too warm and I could find no way to turn on air con etc. it did not spoil my stay.
All in all well worth a visit.
Thanks very much.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TurkishYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Doing a WW! research trip along the Aisne valley and stayed here for 3 nights. Initially offered a room with a shower but this was quickly and easily changed to one with a bath which we prefer. A couple a small problems resolved very quickly by friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast and good meals in the restaurant, the Brasserie menu was reasonably priced and a prompt service. Almost all the team spoke english and quickly remembered us. Basement secure garage is fine but might be problem for a large 4x4 such as a Discovery due to restricted height, certainly would not get in with a box on the car rood but there are spaces at the front of the hotel as well. If we need to re-visit the area then would definetly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of the hotel get the morning sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This is a large, very modern hotel just across the road from the ruins of the Abbaye. The room was of average size, but very well furnished and equipped with wet-room style shower and separate toilet. There was a kettle for tea/coffee in the room (quite well hidden in the wardrobe) but note that the tea is mint green tea, so devotees of English Breakfast will need their own tea bags. Our only complaint was that in a period of warm, humid weather, it was hard to cool down the room in the evening. The windows are small (good for reducing energy losses) and the ventilation system wasn't very effective. Lots of free underground parking with lifts to every floor. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was an optional extra at 13E50 per person, and is ok, but not outstanding. If you are staying in the town to visit the area, best to treat it as a brunch and stoke up for the day. If you are travelling on, then a coffee and croissant en route are better value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CnFEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedrichennion, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0360714000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Cedric Hennion
Directeur de l'Hébergement
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Francs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
260 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for one night on our route back to Calais from Southern Spain. We booked our stay in advance. Hotel is an approx. 10 minute walk from the main town.(Think we paid c 80E without breakfast) The hotel whilst modern has a very pleasant semi Art Deco look to it, and also has very good and secure under ground car parking. When we arrived the hotel was not busy. Reception was fine. Our room was a good size, well equipped (Mostly), and was also clean. We ate in the hotel's restaurant at night, and this was a very agreeable dining experience. Both in terms of menu choice, service (Slightly superior FRENCH waiters!! Which we like!), the actual food, the price was also reasonable considering that it is a hotel restaurant. All in all VERY agreeable and would be a 5 for us BUT...the day we arrived it was VERY hot and our room whilst having Air Con might as well not have done. No matter what setting we had it on it made no difference! As a result we had to sleep with our window open and the Mrs as a result of this had a poor nights sleep.This was the same in the restaurant at night, which meant that we had to eat outside instead. (Not what we wanted to do). I am guessing either that whilst there may be Air Con controls in peoples rooms, that it is the hotel that controls the actual temperatures that you can change it too. Prob. to save money they don't let you really use it! Most of the year fine BUT not when it's very hot. Other than that would we go back? Yes at a cooler time of the year!

Room Tip: Try to allow an hour or so to visit the AMAZING semi ruined Abbey across the road from the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night as we were in Soissons to visit the WW1 war memorial. The hotel is a modern, with comfortable stylish rooms filled with everything one needs.
I especially liked the wet room shower and separate toilet. The food in the restaurant was very good but a little pricey. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful with directions around the town and ordering taxis. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedrichennion, Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Trisha,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 0360714000.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Cedric Hennion
Directeur de l'Hébergement
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Francs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we stayed for three nights here, needing to find a room for the night after a long drive from loire, it was quite pricey, but it had a secure parking garage and we had a lovely room on the second floor, overlooking the small park next door to it. We had dinner in the restaraunt, and it was lovely.
The room was clean, and neat, the people on the desk and behind the bar very helpful, and made our stay....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bliscoe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soissons
0.7 mi away
Ibis Soissons
Ibis Soissons
#2 of 6 in Soissons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
22.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
Best Western Hotel Ile De France
#1 of 3 in Chateau-Thierry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
14.3 mi away
Chateau de Fere
Chateau de Fere
#1 of 1 in Fere-en-Tardenois
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
Hotel-Restaurant Belle Vue
#1 of 1 in Coucy-le-Chateau-Auffrique
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs
Address: 62 Boulevard Jeanne D'Arc | Parc Gouraud, 02200, Soissons, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Des Francs)
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Soissons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Soissons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Best Western FR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Des Francs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing