We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only to be used by people who understand Formule 1 hotels!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
hotelF1 Thionville Yutz
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yutz
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

I am giving this a poor score, not because I didn't like spending the night there, but because this is what this chain of hotels is supposed to be: poor. Basic service. If I rate it as excellent it may confuse the traveller who hasn't heard of these hotels.
Basically, you use F1 hotels if you don't want to sleep in the street. If your other options are camping or sleeping in your car. That's when these hotels come in handy.
Know what to expect though, a roof on your head and a bed. THAT'S IT. That's what you pay for and that's what you get. It prevents you from sleeping in the street.
I wouldn't use them for a holiday, but we were picking up our car that we left with my relatives in Italy some months ago and were driving back to the UK, so we stopped here and there to sleep during our road trip. These hotels are lifesavers, when we drove for too long and were tired, we could sleep in a bed for a little money. A room for two, 35 euros, that's like £15 per person and it kept us safe during our road trip.
We arrived quite late so there was no one at the reception, but we ringed the intercom and two receptionists came downstairs to greet us. It was packed so there was only a room available, in the smokers area, we took it anyway but I couldn't sleep because of the strong smell of smoke, but I can't complain because it was my choice to accept the room anyway. My other options would have been spend a lot of money or sleep in the car!
The rooms are basic, a double bec and a small bed and a sink, no toilet or wardrobes. But think this, if you weren't here you would be paying 70 euros somewhere else or sleeping in your car.
The room was reasonably clean.
Even though I am grateful these cheap places exist, I wouldn't use more than is absolutely necessary. You can use their shower (that you share with everybody else) but I wouldn't shower there, I washed at the sink in my room and used wet wipes for myself and dry shampoo for my hair.
Also there's no toilet in the room, you share that one with everybody else too, so just use common sense and do what you do in public toilets, don't touch the seat but have your bum "floating" over the seat, just like when you pee at the services on the motorway. Also wash under running water when using the sink in your room, I wonder if people pee in the sink if they can't be bothered to leave the room for a pee at night (£15 a night per person, we can't be delicate like princesses).
Don't bother with breakfast, you pay extra and it's not worth the quality.
The hotel has free car park and free wifi, that's fantastic.
So, basically, don't think of this place as a hotel. It's not. You would be hugely disappointed. Think of this place as an aid to your road trip, that prevents you from sleeping in the car or having to keep driving when you are tired. That's what it is and thank goodness it exists because I wouldn't have wanted to spend money in good hotels just to bring my car from Italy to the UK.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prinsessem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for hotelF1 Thionville Yutz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Usual F1 hotel, cheap and cheerful , good value and just right for an overnight stop.
By the way its only 400m (5min walk) to the local Lidl Supermarket and 6mins drive to Thionville Centre which is a pleasant town to stroll in, with a modern Shopping Mall including a Carrefour branch as well a numerous local shops. The main drawback is the rooms are quite hot.......... it was a hot summers day when we stayed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m4hmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We booked a night here as a stopover between 2 days motoring back from Italy. We were expecting a cheap, basic room and realised there would be shared toilet and shower facilities. We found the whole hotel to be shabby, in the corridor the carpets were threadbare and there was a musty smell lingering everywhere.

The toilet and shower block comprised of about 6 loos and 6 showers that seemed to be shared by about 60 rooms, our room was at the end of a hallway and about 50 metres away. When we first passed them, all the toilets and showers were either occupied or in use, so we couldn't check the condition of them but that area did smell disgusting.

The bedroom was dirty, every surface apart from the bed was covered in dust, the carpets were heavily stained and there was a strong smell of stale cigarette smoke. The one saving grace was that the bed did look clean and freshly made.

Then my wife visited the toilet, she found one out of the block to be unoccupied but it was completely unusable, the floor was swimming with pee and the bowl was unspeakably filthy. That was the last straw, we left and checked into the etap hotel next door.

We told the guy on reception why we left and reported the stay via the hotels websites report form but have yet to hear back from them, It seems they find the condition of this hotel should be acceptable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThisEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Brussels
1
Reviewed 20 April 2011

It was our first time experience with this type of hotels and we found it very good. It was cheap, clean and comfortable. The guy from the eveing shift on 16/04 was great - very helpful and polite!!! Thank you, M!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Well, it is a formule 1 hotel, does what it says in the tin. The room was good, clean and recently refurbished but the showers and toilets on the ground floor were appalling. Broken floor, dirty, and they didn't seem to "autoclean" as the ones I have been to before. However, I think that they were refurbishing the whole place so I suppose that those problems should be solved soon.
It is a good location for a one night stay across a long journey and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2009

No frills hotel like all F1, however it reminds a bit of being inside a prison cell. Toilets and showers are shared and outside the rooms, and they don't look as clean as it would be nice to have as the plastic of the cabins starts to show its age and having a yellowish color in some areas.

The room I had did smell a bit a mix of cold tobacco/musk/mold which is not of the best impression when getting in and the bed sheet has been abused a bit.

Easy to find from the highway, within reasonable walking distance of Thionville center and thus the train station (provided you don't have a huge amount of luggage).

It's cheap (36€), paying wifi (from Orange) is available, and free parking. A Buffalo grill restaurant is 100m from it, there is also a mcdonald 30mm away with free wifi.

However, unless you're desperate to save a few euros, I would recommend the Etap Hotel which is next to it as a first choice. It's 43€ and you get a cleaner room and hotel with toilet and shower in your room.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Benonante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yutz
1.1 mi away
Premiere Classe Hotel Thionville
0.2 mi away
Campanile Thionville - Yutz
0.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Thionville Yutz les Trois Frontieres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Thionville Porte du Luxembourg
1.0 mi away
Hotel des Oliviers
Hotel des Oliviers
#2 of 12 in Thionville
187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#5 of 12 in Thionville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotelF1 Thionville Yutz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotelF1 Thionville Yutz

Address: 1 rue des Carolingiens, 57970 Yutz, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Yutz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yutz
Price Range: £24 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — hotelF1 Thionville Yutz 1*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your hotelF1 Thionville Yutz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing