We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Scared to reccommend this as it is too good...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome
Second bedroom Second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Welcome
Second bedroom
Second bedroom
Welcome package
Bathroom
Kitchen
Shower in bathroom
Main bedroom
Main bedroom
gîte from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Mayenne, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
j0hncr00k...
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scared to reccommend this as it is too good!. Already trying to organise a return before it becomes too popular.”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Out of all the Airbnb properties that we have stayed in this has the most helpful hosts, most complete amenities, most beautiful peaceful location, thoughtful availability of day to day things (that you normally forget about). Central to everywhere - middle of nowhere. If you wish to explore Brittany, Loire & Normandy, this is the place

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you kindly for your lovely comments. We like to do our best for everyone's different needs to make sure they have a great holiday and very glad you enjoyed it! Look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madhatter...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect setting outside with home comforts inside!”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My wife and i stayed here for 1 week whilst viewing properties in the area. Shortly after booking we were contacted by Rebecca to ensure we were set for our journey and provided useful information on the area so that we knew what to expect.

On our arrival were very pleasantly surprised with the size, cleanliness and location of the gite with stunning views of the landscape. Pete and Rebecca were fantastic hosts answering any questions we had and even going out of their way to gift my wife a bottle of wine and a card on her birthday.

I would recommend this beautiful country retreat to anyone seeking peace, tranquility and a hassle free break. We will be back for certain!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2017
Thank you both for your lovely words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay here and pleased you got to see how great an area it is. You made hosting very easy and lots of fun when we meet great people.
Hopefully we will see you again in the near future to view more properties in the area. We will keep a look out for you with anything suitable .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle_13
chichester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Such a Find a perfect gem!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We came across this little gem recently looking for a weekend break, don't be put of thinking its too cheap to be that good, wrong! It is just perfect the owners/hosts Rebecca and Peter were so accommodating nothing too much trouble and the Gite has been done to such a standard it is like home from home. Once you step into the lounge it feels comfortable, cosy and homely. It is immaculate and clean, fresh white Egyptian linen on the beds, towels also provided. The bathroom has the biggest bath I have seen in a long time, you can lie there and look through the window sipping your wine viewing the surrounding countryside. There is a lovely raised decking area with table and loungers again just sit and view the river at the bottom of the grounds and take in the sunshine. The local walks along the river are worth the effort, if you can drag yourself away from the Gite and relaxing on the decking. Rebecca and Peter are very helpful with recommendations for local places to visit and restaurants. They are English which really helps us lazy travellers who worry about trying to converse in French! You will not be disappointed, we have already booked again. Look forward to seeing you Rebecca Peter, not forgetting their two very happy dogs, Nellie and Sophie!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and and standard of the property
Liked least: nothing to complain about at all.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We're very glad you enjoyed your time here and can't wait to welcome you again. Thank you for leaving the cottage clean and tidy. It makes the work we put in to it worth every second when we know you have had a relaxing stay and look forward to seeing you soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to have your family here and we would love to see you all again. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay, even though having to work as well, so hopefully you will get a chance to see more of the area on your next visit as well as relax here with some wine of course!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris H
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, idyllic gite with lovely hosts”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My partner and I stayed here back in May of this year, and found it absolutely spot on for what we wanted. A fantastic place to stay if you're looking for a cosy, quiet retreat away from it all, but still near enough to some major towns to get out and about.

Pros:
- Beautiful setting: part of several converted (or soon to be converted) rural buildings, the gite is surrounded by streams, ponds, forest, grassland (with added horses) and a cute garden area. Decking out the front is great for socialising or eating outside in warm evenings, and drinking in the quiet country atmosphere - or some French wine. There's also access to public footpaths and fishing areas directly from the grounds, too.

- General location: Over the long weekend we managed to visit a couple nearby towns, including Laval (a large town with both historical and modern attractions - we had a good laugh watching a near-empty screening of a film with it's original English dub) and the historical Fougeres, which is home to a pretty breathtaking 850-year-old chateau (and some great crepes...). We'd definitely recommend hiring or bringing your own car so you can do as much as possible - we missed out on visitng the apparently amazing Saint Suzanne ("one of the most beautiful villages in France") simply because we ran out of time.

- Hosts: Rebecca and Pete were fantastic hosts - Rebecca is who you'll see the most, and she was equally happy to sit and share a drink and a chat with us, or completely leave us to our own devices. Attentive, friendly, and always available with some great advice on the local area - whether that's directions to a British bar for watching the football or a set of local Roman ruins. There was also a lovely welcome pack of wine, chocolate, biscuits and water, as well as towels, linen etc. all being provided. It's a fantastic touch from the owners which isn't a necessity, as you'll know from visiting other self-catered places to stay. They've really gone the extra mile.

- Building & amenities: We wanted something simple and rustic where we could unplug, but still have access to all your typical modern-day appliances, and we got exactly that. A real log burner was a lovely touch in the large lounge area, a very cute farmhouse kitchen that had everything you'd need, a very fancy modern shower and separate bath, and a very spacious main bedroom. Loads of great little touches - Rebecca and Pete have gone to great effort sourcing most of the gite's contents from the local area, and smartly recycling or purposing items from the old farmhouse. We were one of the first visitors to the gite after it opened, so internet was only available in part of the building at the time, but we've heard wifi is now set up (and free) for anyone who needs it, which is fantastic and another great touch.

Cons:

- Nothing! We loved our stay in Mayenne - it was exactly what we were looking for and can't wait to go back. Thanks!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly hosts, idyllic atmosphere and nearby towns of interest.
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you for your super review. Glad everything went smoothly for you both as this was our first season open it was a little nerve racking making sure everything was perfect. We know how special a holiday is to everyone and want to make sure you get the absolute best from staying here. Hope to see you again as lovely guests
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your compliments . We enjoyed hosting you both very much and would welcome you any time in the future. Lovely to make new friends
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing