We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it...”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Pretty nice hotel with great interiors. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
We've been absolutely satisfied with the food and got some extra weight during the weekend.
It was great to have a bonus massage and a glass of wine as a returning guest.
We'll come back next year for sure.

Room Tip: In the modern room next to the car parking place I heard some pulsating machine noise during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear serlock,

You made our day! Thank you for the nice review. We'll make sure you'll enjoy your next stay as much as you enjoyed this one.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Peter Torok
(torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    44
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
81
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

- not the location supposed to see after the website
- there was a hungarian style festival just right near the hotel. they didnt even inform us before about it! it was pretty disturbing during our stay especially with a 5 yr child.
- no hoovering during our 5 day stay! even if we asked for cleaning
- check out carefully the drinks invoice you receive
- higly overpriced

+ lovely interior
+ good food
+ nice wellness, but @wintertime it might be not enough
+ even in 40 degrees good air condition

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAquary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Dear MrAquary,

We are glad to receive your review. We will make sure that all the things you enjoyed will remain at least of the same quality, while at the same time we also want to correct our mistakes.
The local fair (which is organised independently of us) is now over and we will transmit to the local authorities the complaint about it - so that for next year they can find a better suited place for that attraction. If you could write me the details of your stay, I could check what happened regarding your billing and the housekeeping. It might not be helpful to you now, but usually it is this latter department which receives the best comments from our guest. If something went wrong we would like to correct it.

Best Regards,
Peter Torok (torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Based on the description of the hotel I expected more. There was nothing wrong with it, I was just expecting more in the way of room and facilities. There is not much of a spa that I could see and the rooms are nice but basic and the pool is indoors.

One concierge in particular went very out of her way to be helpful and the staff in the wine bar were also very helpful. Other than these folk most staff did not speak english and we did not speak Hungarian so that made it a bit difficult.

We did enjoy the local wines and tasting rooms and had several excellent dinners in restaurants in town.

We ended up doing day trips during our stay because we didn't find enough to do in Badasconytomaj. This is not a reflection on the hotel; just a general comment.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear booptraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about our Hotel. We were sorry to read your mixed review. I would be glad if you could share with me what was that you considered as not fully meeting your expectations? We are keen to enhance our services to provide a perfect holiday next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed for a short holiday, for three nights.
The hotel is situated in middle of Badacsony, good and for some people not, because of the noise.
The appartman we had was a two room app. With a separate living room and a bedroom. Really pleanty of place for two, but also for two plus children.
The halfboard was superb, really good choice of cold sausages, vegetables for breakfast, the buffet dinner worth the for star.
The wine card consisting at least 100 wine sorts, mostly from Badacsony region.
We tried the wellness with sauna, jacuzzi and indoor pool, I had also a wonderful massage.
The Balaton lake is 100m away, okay the water is not clear like the sea, but if you are a good swimmer, you find clear parts.
We went for a halfday tour with wine tasting, we went up the Badacsony hill. There is a superb viewpoint at the top of the hill, sensational photopoint.
All in all, I really recommend this brand new hotel, kindly staff, superb food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowman6705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Dear "snowman6705"

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I found Bonvino very overpriced for what they are offering: they call themselves a wellness hotel, but it only has a small wellness area, nothing really special. The swimming pool is very nice and has a decent size.
The rooms are nice, they have a very feminine design though. There are parts of the building that seem to be unfinished, like the cealing of the rooms.

What was very disappointing to me that the shower creams and the room amenities were low quality, I expected more for the price we have paid for the room.
The breakfast was TERRIBLE! Starting from the fact that instead of orange juice only sirups and apple juice were available. Although it looked like a nice breakfast, with a closer look one can see that they use very cheap stuff, cheap salamis, cheap coldcuts.... the fruit basket, I mean, com'on, was a small plate with 2 oranges and an old apple!!!
4 stars???

But the best comes now: we asked for a cappuccino and an american coffee. The lady told me she would prepare it, after 5 min I went back to her and she said she was about to prepare them. Then she told me that it was for extra payment!!!!
So for a 100 EUR you cant get a cappuccino duing breakfast included in the price? How is that so? I was sooo angry.
Then I wanted to talk to the manager about it, but I was informed that the manager on duty was just on his way to work.
We had eggs for breakfast: it was so oily that I felt sick the whole morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Dear Szirat,

We are grateful for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did leave mixed feelings.We took immediate actions regarding the speed at which coffee is prepared as it is our aim that you could enjoy our premium coffee as quickly as possible. Actually, we do offer free (and unlimited) coffee and tea to every guest for breakfast only espressos and cappucinos are charged. We are very proud to be able to offer our signature, home-made elderflower sirop in addition to the 100% fruit juices which we change daily.
We'll double our effort to ensure that only high quality food reach our guest. Our Chef and her team are continuosly looking for local produces for our breakfast and dinner buffet which already enable us to offer amongst other goat cheese, Mangalitza products and organic milk from nearby farms.

Many people notice the unpainted ceilings -it is an integral part of the hotel's design making artistic references to the various icons of wine making. This one in particular refers to the modern wine cellars that are a pleasure to discover in Hungary or abroad.

We hope that you'll give us a second chance to give you a holiday experience that will be just amazing.

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have spent two nights in this wine-spa themed hotel in February and have enjoyed our time there. It is in the center of Badacsony which I am afraid is a minus in the summe as it is among the less appealing places on the northern shore of the lake Balaton. In winter and snow, it was OK.

Pluses.
- very funky, trendy design, one of the best in the country. Rooms are well equipped and designed and they are also functional (which is not always the case in design hotels). The common areas, such as the lobby, the restaurant areas are bright and laid back.
- We had two connecting rooms travelling with our kids which fe found to be very convenient.
- staff are helpful and friendly
- being a wine hotel, they do have a fairly extensive wine list, and a nice wine bar.

Minuses:
- the HVAC system is not the best in winter as it only heats with air which may make your head melt and your feet cold at the same time- while being excessively noisy. The bathrooms have no separate heating which made them a bit cold.
- Food was adequate, good on one night, OK on the other.
-spa was a bit disappointing, the steam bath was not hot enough and not steamy enough, jacuzzi was a also a fairly basic one. The spa is OK, but if you want to specifically come for it, you will be disappointed.

Altogether, we had a nice and relaxing time for a competitive rate. I would return here- but only in the off-season.

Room Tip: the rooms on the 1st floor look great but you have to walk through the restaurant to get into your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear broomie,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your winter stay. Badacsony is a great all year location having the best beaches for summer and great wines for the rest of the year.

We are sorry for the malfunction of the AC. It was the first winter of the hotel, we'll make all the adjustments needed (including the spa as well) to make your next stay faultless.

Best Regards,
Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gyor, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is a great 4 star hotel with wine being the main theme. the hotel, services, design, food was outstanding. the only reason I gave only 4 stars is the unfortunate location. I used to come to Badacsony when I was a kid and the center looks exactly the same (really awful). this is not the fault of the hotel, but in summer the noise can be quite disturbing (june-August) and the whole area is not very nice (old crumbling buildings, kiosks etc). This is not the hotels fault, and I hope that something will be done about this because deserves better.
Now to all the positives:
design is excellent, interesting.
Food: we had half board and everything was great (maybe at peak time one more waiter would be needed)
Wine: great selection, reasonable prices
programmes: I really liked that there was something every day. quite famous Hungarian singers, winetour etc. I think this was a really big plus
Kids: we went with our 3 year old son and everything was available for him and all the staff really nice (playroom next to the restaurant is great for parents:)
Spa: different saunas, big enough swimming pool.
Room: we rented a family room with huge balcony and it was just lovely
Service:friendly, helpful

Overall: outside of the main summer season I would definately return as this was a great hotel. If you like wine and great food and lovely atmosphere you will love this place.

Room Tip: I would definately pick a room not facing the main road (its not that busy, but rather noisy in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamaso123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badacsonytomaj
21.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
729 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ket Korona Hotel
Ket Korona Hotel
#1 of 6 in Balatonszarszo
106 reviews
9.5 mi away
Zenit Hotel Balaton
Zenit Hotel Balaton
#1 of 1 in Vonyarcvashegy
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#3 of 19 in Balatonfured
201 reviews
15.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
14.7 mi away
Lotus Therme Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony

Property: Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Address: Park utca 22., Badacsonytomaj 8261, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony is a new hotel with a unique design concept. It offers luxurious relaxation facilities,a wide range of high quality local wines and Hungarian cuisine in the centre of Badacsonytomaj only 300 metres from the shores of Lake Balaton. Each of the stylish rooms is air-conditioned and features a balcony, a flat-screen TV, a minibar and an elegant bathroom with bathrobes. Hotel Bonvino Badacsony has an indoor pool with a jacuzzi, Finnish and infra saunas, steam cabin, child pool section and specially developed Spa treatments. Children and parents enjoy our indoor playroom and outdoor playground. Countless wine-related activities as well as beautiful natural trails await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bonvino Wine And Spa Badacsony Hungary/Badacsonytomaj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing