We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect beach house”
other travellers have booked this property
View from inside house over the pool to the sea beyond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from inside house over the pool to the sea beyond.
The view of the sea from the Gazebo.  There is a shade that goes on the wooden beams shown. The Baobab tree next to pool with sea behind.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
View from inside house over the pool to the sea beyond.
The view of the sea from the Gazebo.  There is a shade that goes on the wooden beams shown.
The Baobab tree next to pool with sea behind.
Hall way showing stairs going up
House across the pool.  Sea behind the photographer.
The natural cacti around our Sundowners spot which is just outside the wall of the garden.
Veranda sliding windows - these slide open.  Sea view behind.
Inside the Arabic style hall way which the bedrooms and stairs lead off from
Door from veranda into house.  3 bedrooms are downstairs off the hall you can see, and the master up
Mayungu fishing beach
Upstairs sitting area and table
The sitting room / veranda area
Pool beds - we have a new pool shade house which does not show here
Bedroom
Bedroom
The cook brings early morning tea or coffee
One of the 4 en suite bathrooms
The cottage roof from the beach.  The beach has a restaurant on it.  The path down is just visible.
Breakfast table from upstairs.
Kitchen with Julius and Dickson
Little tree in garden
Veranda with sea view.
Decoration on coffee table.
Veranda / sitting room
Gazebo
Path to gate with sea beyond.
Boabab next to pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Watamu, Coast Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
brettshad...
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect beach house”
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (two adults, two kids) stayed here for five days, and we can't say enough good things about it. The bedrooms were so comfortable, the kids loved the pool, the beach is a three minute walk away, sunrise over the ocean is gorgeous... Highlights for us were the large eating/sitting area (catches the ocean breeze, plenty of spots to sit or recline to read, have a drink, play some games, all with a glorious view) and the cooking by D. (each meal was more impressive than the last). The only negative is that it is too far away from home for us to drop in for a weekend visit! It's one of our favorite places, and we have some wonderful memories to carry with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Dear Brett and Co,. Thanks so much for your lovely review. Really wish you could come over again!. Best wishes, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Stunning!”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Bottlebird beach house is the most beautiful house I have ever stayed in. Lovely Swahili style furniture, a panoramic view of the Indian Ocean and a fantastic pool set in a garden festooned with bourgainvillea. An incredibly spacious living/dining area with multiple seating areas in and out, including a gazebo in the garden perfect for sundowners! I must also mention the cook who made amazing fish stew and an Italian feast. And chocolate pancakes! There's even a cool breeze. The only negative was that we lost the power for a few hours but fortunately there were plenty of candles and the power came back pretty promptly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Hi Julie, Really glad you enjoyed it - thanks for taking the time to write. Very happy that you liked the pancakes and chocolate sauce among other things. Will pass that on to Dickson and Julius! Best wishes, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew T
1 review
“Even better than it looks in the photos”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A little bit of paradise by the Indian Ocean. Panoramic views, dazzling bougainvillea, miles of sand and (if you are lucky...we were) the never-heard-anything-quite-like-it sound of the bottle bird. This place really is somewhere quite special: comfortable, luxurious, yet seriously chilled. It is exactly what is says on the tin – and exactly as you see in the photos – only somehow even better.

Oh, and where can you get the best Italian cuisine south of Bologna? You better believe it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2017
Hi Andrew, Love your review, you really captured it. Makes me feel like we should be in our lovely beach house now instead of the office in Nairobi!. Thanks for coming to stay. All best, Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabejja
Juba
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Serene and luscious retreat!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I spent 6 days at the Bottlebird Beach House and have to say it is one of the truly restful, rejuvenating and stress free vacations I have had in a long while.

Bottlebird is luscious and spacious beach house with panoramic views of the indian ocean. We spent much our time gazing out at the ebb and flow of the tides, spectacular sunrises, or watching fishing communities going out to work. The expansive verandah meant little time was spent indoors with all meals served in one of 3 outside spaces throughout the day in between swimming in a cool salt water pool at your doorstep. Access to the beach is easy by two alternate routes by road; and for the more adventurous using a rocky pathway through a gate at the foot of the garden.

The 4 ensuite bedrooms and living spaces are immaculate, with attentive housekeeping staff making up the rooms, ensuring there are clean towels and beddings and spraying for mosquitoes at night. There was no TV, music or wifi on offer, although I understand this may change. We instead enjoyed each others' company and listened to ipods with portable wifi speakers which was fine.

All meals are cooked to order and at the preferred time; and range from authentic italian to swahili dishes. You will need to do shopping before you arrive as the house is about 30 minutes from town. I would recommend large amounts of water but not too much food as the heat may diminish appetite. The staff -Dickson, Julius and McDade- are courteous, efficient and discreet allowing for a holiday as if you are in your own home.

From the booking process, attentive and hands-on owner (Many thanks Melissa B!!) and staff, to the clean, spacious environment to homely atmosphere and fantastic views-Bottlebird Beach House is well worth the simple 1 hour flight from Nairobi, and the 30 minute drive from the airport. Note that the house is actually in Mayungu, and off an unpaved road. Not to worry, the payoff at the end of the journey is very much worth it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2017
Dear Amanda, Thanks so much for taking the time to write your very detailed review. It was lovely having you and family to stay and a great feeling that you were able to enjoy what to us is a very special home from home.. We would love to welcome you all again any time! Best wishes. Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAfrica...
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
“Living in a picture”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I was sceptical booking fron trip advisor my sibling had faith so we went for it and it paid off. Mum 3 siblings. Perfect! Amazing views. Just over 180 degree views undisturbed and quiet. All you hear are the waves and fishermen's boats. Forget watches and clocks. The tide and fishermen are enough. Well appointed rooms. Very clean and well managed. All outdoors living space. Dining and livingroom Pool is amazing. Self catering with a cook and other house services. So all you do is buy groceries. This might be tricky if you do not pay attention to what you buy and what you get on your table. You may overshop. So make sure you discuss your menu well on a daily basis. Chefs/cooks are creative in the kitchen. Just mind your waistline. Did 5 days loved it. 3 min walk to the beach. ..beach boys big bother so we stopped going which was a shame. Rude and a aggessive But..if you can send them packing you will enjoy walking when the tide goes out. So from about 11 30 to 2 or 3. No beach walks when the tide is in the house is on a cliff. Highly recommended if you need to shutout the noise. No TV or WiFi. Best ever. Bring yourown music I recommend calm music otherwise the ambience is spoit. Finished a book I was failing to for a month that is how calm it is. Close enough to the town to drive to and tour a bit. Would i go again...yes if i am looking for a quiet switch-off holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review Bottlebird Beach House and we are really glad you enjoyed it, and that you managed to get some R&R! Melissa & Joel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japhethwe...
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely sunrises and perfect views of the sea from veranda”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing 360 degree views of the sea from the veranda, beautiful pool just a perfect setting for relaxation with fa mile or friends. The beach feels private not too many people on it.
Amazing cook chuning out some delicious mouth watering Italian quizin

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Thanks Japheth; glad you enjoyed it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole S
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Dear Nicole, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Bottlebird Beach House. It really makes me so happy that others enjoy it too. Josephine and Dickson mentioned they enjoyed hosting you. Best wishes. Melissa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing