We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it!”
Review of Barracuda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barracuda Inn
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 2 January 2009

As 2 independant travelling UK ladies, we chose the Barracuda Inn as our last stop off point during a recent tour of Kenya.
What a haven this turned out to be!
The bungalow rooms were fabulous, the comfy beds were massive with lovely clean linen. Everything in the bathroom worked a treat. House keeping was very vigilant and a safe in the room was marvellous!
The location was just idylic, blue seas and sand so white!
The front of house staff were just brilliant and helpful in all respects.
The food is mainly Italian, as it seems to be a big destination for the Italians and a well kept secret.
After a hectic and whirlwind tour of Kenya, Our stay here was just not long enough!!

  • Liked — The location and accomodation
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heater103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    331
    126
    65
    22
See reviews for
134
442
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 31 March 2006

The rooms were nice, given that there was air conditioning. Also, you could walk into the village which is close by and not really have to worry, once you got used to the street boys following you around.

The hotel was nice but speaking only english was definitely a hinderence, as all of the hotel bulletins, tours, and outings were aimed at 100% Italians. We had a great time talking to the local bar staff that entertained our take on Kenyan Politics. All the local staff were very nice. It was the Italian staff that made you feel like a real outsider. The only honorable mention had to be the Italian tour director that tried his best at english and to make us feel somewhat welcome.

It would be a great place to go with a group of people, but if you only speak english, you are much better off to stay at Hemingways or another British resort.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2006

My husband and I were in Malindi in 2004 and we had a full day in Watamu: it was love at first sight. We decided to come back and we did so. We stayed at Barracuda Inn from 11 till 25 december 2005 and we enjoyed every moment.The hotel is on the beach, the best one in Watamu, it has large rooms,the food is excellent (fish always in the menu twice a day)the staff and the management are very kind. Ennio, the owner is a terrific guy. We definitely recommend Barracuda and we will go back again

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2005

Stayed there with my partner, we were very good looked after from a very attentive staff. Restaurant service was perfect and food excellent. Cakes spectacular. The beach nearby is one of the cleanest and we really enjoyed our stay. Hope to be back in a near futere, thanks a lot for making our honeymoon so special. Thanks a lot to Ali, the beach boy who arranged our escursion ( + 25 4734583120 ).

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank italiangirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2005

we stayed at Barracuda last January and we really enjoyed it. The staff is frendly and helpfull, the food excellent and rooms well equiped. We really look forward for an other holiday there.
While visiting, do not forget to ask beachboys for excursions. We reccomend you to contact ALI for any evenience. he is very helpfull ( ------)
Thanks to management as well for all what they are doing.

Helpful?
4 Thank alfaalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2005

I'm just back from Kenia.
I stayed with my family in Watamu (20 kms from Malindi) and I choosed an Italian resort called Barracudda Inn. I did this because friends of mine stayed there and suggested for the excellent italian food and informal service. Indeed we had a lovely staying, and as I'm Italian and vegetarian I did appreciate to have fresh home made pasta and a lot of fresh vegetables......and what about the cakes!!!!! Agata can prepare deliciuos cakes......I tried all, and I'm sorry to say that I also gained some kilos. We had 2 lovely weeks at Barracuda nd no stomac problems at all (I had problems several times in other part of the world).
The Barracudda Hinn is not too big, only 50 bungalows, very clean and comfortable, with A/C. No TV in the room, but after the first night you will forget it. All the staff starting from the director to the gardeners to the pool assistants and the guests assistants (Sammy and Mohammed) are so friendly that you will miss their smiling faces as soon as you take your bus back to the airport.
The white sandy beach is really something and the people of the village near by is so warm.
What I suggest is not to book excursions directly from UK or Europe at all or in Hotel office. You will pay it at European price, while you can get the same things directly there, paying less and giving this people more chance to grown. We met an authorized guide on the beach and he really looked well after us. His name is ALI and for your convenience I'm writing you his mobile number +254734583120, but he can be reached also at the mail adress ali_bakari@hotmail.com , if you wish you can tell him that SUITA gave you this informations. I'm a travel agent in Italy planning to open an office in Watamu. Ali will be the manager of this office before the end of the year.
He can arrange quite everything for you and will show all the beauty of Kenya and the real life, if you wish. It could be an experince to see how happy children are to walk for kms to reach the school.

Helpful?
20 Thank eddie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
4.9 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda Inn

Property: Barracuda Inn
Address: Watamu Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Barracuda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Barracuda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Watamu
Barracuda Resort Watamu
Barracuda Inn Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing