We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kanani House
Nearby Hotels
Sun Palm Beach Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mawe Resort(Watamu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Medina Palms(Watamu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
20
8
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
8
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just to report that we have just returned from a most marvellous stay at Kanani. Elvis & the team were magnificent. So friendly and helpful.
Elvis excelled himself with his cooking.
It really is a heavenly place! We were extremely lazy partly due to heat and constant sun, and spent a lot of time at the glorious infinity pool or paddling about in the lagoon!
Everything went so smoothly with Moses picking us up from Malindi Airport, Elvis guiding us around Watamu in tuk tuks etc.
Thank you for providing such a super place. Total rest and relaxation. We would love to come back sometime with friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robincolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Kanani House is an absolute gem! We travelled as two girls and were immediately impressed with the stunning backdrop and luxurious simplicity of Kenani House. We felt like we'd stumbled across a local secret and we were so pleased that we chose to stay here rather than in one of the more commercial hotels down the beach.
Each room enjoys a total tranquility and privacy and the views from the pool are second to none. The absolute highlight was getting to know the on-site chef Elvis. He made our stay comfortable, relaxed and nothing was too much trouble. His list of menu options are practically Michelin starred and we were just sad we didn't have time to try everything! A big tip - try his famous Chai Tea at breakfast and make sure you ask him to make you some chapati's! He answered all our local questions and was brilliant at arranging local tuk-tuks and taxis back to the airport. His team of helpers were organised, friendly and we felt safe and well looked after throughout our stay. We visited a new hotel just up the lane called MAWE for drinks on a few nights which comes highly recommended, however, I wouldn't recommend having dinner there as it was a bit over-priced and Elvis's food is a lot more enjoyable!
Overall, Kanani House is barefoot luxury at it's best. What you see is what you get. It's the most brilliant destination for couples, young professionals and eco-concious travellers. We will certainly be heading back later in the year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrietta046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We have just returned from spending 5 magical days at Kanani house and would recommend it to anyone. Beautiful, tasteful, sympathetically built house with stunning views from every space whether eating, resting, swimming or strolling. It is impossible to fault as a destination away from the crowds, hotels and bustle of some other areas of the Kenyan coast; more like being a guest in a very special home. The food cooked every day by Elvis was faultless and all staff are only too happy to help and advise but never intrude. Any request was met with a polite smile and quick service - even the shopping list of wine from the local store! If you want to avoid hotels and need a beautiful place to relax then this is perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

We spent a week in Kanani house a month ago. We had so good time in this place! By my understanding the idea/style and place of the house is close to perfection! The staff was very helpful and pleasant, the cook - very profesional and creative, the dogs – lovely:)
After first short stay in Kanani house we planned to spend 5 more days in Lamu, but I’ve changed my mind and after two days in Lamu we bought new air tickets and came back to Kanani house.
We've visited 44 countries around the world and have lived in many different places ( I don't like hotels and prefere houses or apartment). Kanani house is in my TOP 5 favorite houses.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Li27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thanks so much for coming to stay at Kanani House! We're so happy you had a wonderful time - we've passed your lovely comments on to Elvis and all the staff and they are proud and delighted.
We hope you can visit us again soon! All the best, Sasha (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

make sure you're up early to catch the fishermen or kingfishers, depending on the tide, as the sun climbs over the Indian Ocean - just magical... Walk back up to the dining area for some fresh fruit for breakfast.

Time for a relaxing wallow in the infinity pool - I can feel the weight of "normal life" lifting off my shoulders. Elvis is on hand for lunch - fabulous fish with fresh salad - just what I needed. Some reading and a wander down the beach to the local bar for a beer.

Back for sundowners with the hosts - lots of laughs and plenty of great food - with all that fresh air I'm ready for bed. Wonder how much I'll fit in tomorrow...

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shortwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews