We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kanani Hse Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanani House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kanani House
Ranked #10 of 22 Watamu B&B and Inns
Arusha, Tanzania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kanani Hse Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Robinson Crusoe, shabby chic environment. Three very comfortable separate bandas, and one communual banda, all linked by paths to the wonderfully positioned pool that sits on top of the 20ft cliff looking out to sea. Great views, access to beach via tunnel, very private. Good position 2km from centre of Watamu. Staff wonderful, especially main guy Elvis who is a great chef.
We took 2 children, 4yo and 2yo, and they loved it. Paths between rooms have the odd stone for stubbing toes, and pool needs a gate to stop them getting access alone, but other than these small point good for kids too.
Not ideal for those wanting air conditioned sealed rooms, but perfect for those wanting a relaxing beach-style restful place cooled by the sea breeze. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

The place is a hidden gem, with lovely views of the ocean. The staff are friendly, and particularly the food was outstanding. There is a feeling of safety, and seclusion. Ideal as a getaway for couples, or a group of friends. Be careful what season you visit, the trade winds can make the nights very windy and uncomfortable. Access to the sea is restricted, but the pool more than makes up for that... There are local attractions (the gede ruins, the snake farm) but its best if you just want peace, quiet and seclusion.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wwmaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Great location and relaxing environment, but a lot of this was undone by staff who were lacking in professionalism as well as the poor accommodation (living quarters).

The owners have definitely invested a lot in the place but need to keep a closer eye on maintaining the quality and reputation of Kanani House.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We really enjoyed our time at Kanani House! The location above the ocean, with great views was so beautiful.

Elvis was great! He was a great host, tour-guide and chef!

Kanani house was so peaceful and we hope to be back again soon! 

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank macmartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We arrived at Kanai House after 6 days horseback safari so being able to do very little was just what we needed and kanai House is perfect for that. A beautiful food, great food, chill out areas and accommodating hosts all led to a perfect stay. We walked along the beach and to the islands as well as went to see the turtles and it was very chilled. Wewent for all inclusive and would have been good to have more information on what this actually all included but can not fault the food or the beautiful rooms so would definately reccommend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you so much for staying at Kanani House and for your review and compliments. We're delighted that you had such a wonderful time! Thanks again for letting us know your thoughts about the full board menu - we've only just started offering it, so it's really useful to have your feedback, and I've put some of your ideas into action already! Elvis is now working on a recipe for chocolate coconut cookies for teatime- I hope that you get a chance to come and try them sometime soon. I loved the photos of your stay at Kanani that you kindly sent me - could you possibly post them on TripAdvisor so that other guests could see them? It's great that you went to the Watamu Turtle Watch - we're ardent supporters of their work, and releasing a rescued turtle back into the sea is one of life's great experiences!
All the best,
Sasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Kanani House is definitely a Robinson Crusoe experience. Tucked away at the end of a long track, it feels like it's set in a nature reserve. Sasha and Ollie have created a natural haven where frazzled city dwellers can relax utterly. At the far end of the plot, looking out over the Indian Ocean is an infinity pool where you can lounge on water hammocks, watching the pied kingfishers flutter and squeak overhead. In the evenings you can sit on a stone bench and watch the dhows sail by on the warm breeze. At low tide you can walk down through a passage carved in the rock cliff onto the beach where egrets fish in the pools, and crabs scurry into their holes. Turn left and there's a deserted beach to lie on; head straight out and you hit islands of rock where thousands of birds shelter. The house itself is made of natural materials and sympathetically decorated with driftwood and shells. The large beds all have mosquito nets. The communal area is great for lounging in a hammock and reading. We were royally looked after by Elvis who cooks fresh, delicately spiced dishes to order using local ingredients. Just a ten minute ride away by tuk tuk is Watamu town where you can go diving at the dive centre attached to Ocean Sports hotel. Kanani is perfect for couples, lone travellers, and for creative types seeking peace and nature. It's also possible to book the whole place so it would be great for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpinAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

Just to report that we have just returned from a most marvellous stay at Kanani. Elvis & the team were magnificent. So friendly and helpful.
Elvis excelled himself with his cooking.
It really is a heavenly place! We were extremely lazy partly due to heat and constant sun, and spent a lot of time at the glorious infinity pool or paddling about in the lagoon!
Everything went so smoothly with Moses picking us up from Malindi Airport, Elvis guiding us around Watamu in tuk tuks etc.
Thank you for providing such a super place. Total rest and relaxation. We would love to come back sometime with friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robincolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 mi away
Mimi na Wewe...in Africa!
0.0 mi away
hotel Eco Lodge Jua Bahari
0.0 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.0 mi away
Tishi's Farm
Tishi's Farm
#8 of 31 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanani House

Property: Kanani House
Address: plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kanani House is set on six acres on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. We have 3 double bedrooms, which can be rented individually, or the whole house can be rented on an exclusive basis. Kanani is fully staffed, with a great chef and two house stewards so our guests can relax completely.Kanani House was designed and built by an English couple with a passion for Kenya - we wanted to give guests a real taste of Africa at the coast. We have a strong environmental commitment, local and sustainable materials are used wherever possible and almost everything is handmade by local workers. We were inspired by the upcountry private safari lodges as well as the local architecture to build a house more like an African Village than a conventional western house. Each bedroom is a private cottage with en-suite bathroom set in the landscaped indigenous garden. The rooms are screened for privacy but open to the sea breezes. Kanani is a Robinson Crusoe experience - we have no landline, TV or computers, so you can get away from the stresses of modern life and unwind. Access to a small private beach is at low tide through our tunnel - hand carved through the fossilized coral rock, and securely gated, or you can walk or take a tuk tuk to the public beaches. If you're feeling less adventurous, you can just laze by our infinity pool overlooking the ocean. There are lots of great things to do in and near Watamu: snorkeling, diving, dolphin watching or sailing in the Watamu Marine Park; walks in the Arabuko Sokoke forest and the Gede Ruins, canoe trips, fishing, horse riding and windsurfing can all be arranged. We hope you can come and stay at Kanani House soon! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kanani House Hotel Watamu
Kanani House Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing