We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice cozy place”
Review of Marijani Hotel

Marijani Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marijani Hotel
Ranked #14 of 24 Watamu B&B and Inns
Gent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice cozy place”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed here for several days, due to a small staff they had to combine a lot of tasks and sometimes needed some patience, but they certainly tried their best. They are absolute thrustworthy, i lost a golden necklace which they found and returned to me - and even when there were problems they tried to do an effort.

The location is close to a beautifull bay and the village centre, the rooms are clean and big, the garden is fabulous. Price/quality is normal for East Africa, similar to other places along the coast of Kenya and Tanzania. In comparison to the over expensive big hotels in Watamu this is a very good alternative if you want to relax in a comfortable way.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beirenst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london uk
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2010

I have just read the review from the couple who called marijani "hell" hotel. well I was there for a week with my boyfriend in january and had a wonderful time. The place itself is nice and welcoming and the staff has always been helpful and efficient. they changed our towels everytime we asked them, they served us breakfast outside of the breakfast hours as we had to leave early for a safari trip to tsavo park. and they cleaned our room twice while we were there. The room was decorated with flowers on our arrival as I had mentioned to the staff that it would have been my birthday! The safety - as it has been mentioned as unsafe by the writer of that catastrophic review - was really not an issue. Actually it was almost too much, as I have a friend living in the village and he couldn't come in as he was a local. someone was always watching the gate day and night and we've been always let in even when we came back late.
There are indeed a few animals in the garden of the hotel: some lovely dogs and cats, and they represent no harm to the guest, they lay in the shade and even if you walk around at night they are cool with you. If you don't like animals that much, then maybe there's no point going to africa... or maybe you should spend a lot of money in a fancy resort (where usually you can't realize in which country you are, as they are all the same, gated and cut out of the local flavours..)
so I would like to confirm the other many positive reviews about hotel marijani, it is really good value for money and it will make your stay in watamu very pleasant.
fabiana&sander

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fabbifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We have stayed at the Marijani guest house in Watamu on numerous occasions over the past five years and have nothing but praise for the accommodation, the helpful and friendly staff, and the wonderful location which is a 5-minute walk from the idyllic, award-winning Watamu beach on the Indian Ocean. This whole experience is second to none and is excellent value for money. We shall continue to frequent the Marijaniu in years to come.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

I am writing this 5 hours after getting off the plane to prevent future victims of Marijani. This place has received nothing but good reviews all over the web and in all the guidebooks. Maybe it has recently changed for the worse because we had an utterly horrific stay at Marijani. Please note, this is THE review to base your decision on. We are NOT picky travelers. We have stayed in rustic places around the world. Marijani has the worst staff we have ever encountered. We arrived at 5pm and were not allowed into our room (we stayed in the family house). The "security" allowed people off the street to come in with us and hawk their goods on the grounds without any knowledge of the staff. The house had 4 light sockets without light bulbs so there was hardly any light in the place. We asked for light bulbs, no response. We bought some in town on our own. Our shower did not work. We told them, and they tried fixing it for 30 minutes and then left it alone for the duration of our stay (2 more days) despite repeated requests to fix it. The "fully functional" kitchen was disgusting. The fridge didn't work for the first day, the dishes were all dirty, and the sink didn't drain among other things. We asked for help, they gave us a bucket. The mosquito nets kept about 5% of the mosquitoes out since my body is still covered in bites. The staff never cleaned or changed our sheets, until we were packing our bags to get out of there. My infant daughter contracted scabies and some other tropical disease from sleeping there. We finally left there after 3 days even though we had reserved 5. Tony the "manager" actually tried to say we had to pay for the two days we were supposed to stay there. We told them we would not be giving them another cent! Tony told this over the phone, because he was never there. Well, except once when we saw him watching TV on the couch with his hand down his pants as he told us about all of the things he was going to do for us to make our stay better.
Philippe, the laundry guy was the only bright spot. He was nice.
Unless you like sweating, lack of security, all night cat fights, and a total disregard for very basic customer service, DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mollyandchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Watamu hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Londres
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2009

My partner and I stayed at the Marijani for a few days and really enjoyed our time there. Our room was spacious, clean, and had a balcony. Breakfast was very good and entertaining (with the parrots whistling in the background). The hotel is located in a quiet street, close to everything (beach, supermarket, village, matatus). The staff we met there was incredibly friendly. And... there is a fantastic roof terrace to watch the sun set and the stars at night... Complete bliss...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Watamu lies 4km off the main Coastal through road, and is spared the hectic crowds that mark Malindi 3/4 hour to the north.
A small town off the beaten track, but still with plenty of tourism infrastructure, from modest family operations to large luxury hotels.
Marijani is a small family owned hotel. My room was upstairs in the main building. The room was on the small side, given the size of the large comfy bed, but this was well compensated by a large balcony with a huge overstuffed couch piled high with cushions. The bathroom was clean and adequate.
Breakfast was served on a terrace, which was also graced with a large aviary for African Grey parrots, one of which greated guests with a cheery "good morning" in a ladies voice!
Breakfast was a feast, especially the fresh fruit plate.

The location of Marijani is halfway between the town and the beach, about 5 minutes walk to either, along Blah Blah Blah Road. Someone has a great sense of humor!
Marijani can arrange snorkelling trips, or taxis for other sightseeing in the area, such as the ruins of an ancient trading town, a snake farm or local village dances.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Seawhispers Inn
Seawhispers Inn
#11 of 31 in Watamu
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#11 of 26 in Watamu
912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kira House
Kira House
#4 of 31 in Watamu
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marijani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marijani Hotel

Property: Marijani Hotel
Address: Watamu, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marijani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marijani Hotel Kenya/Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing